$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 15, 2014 Check-out: Dec 18, 2014

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
270 reviews
Great location, funky specialness

Staff went out of their way, location excellent, restaurant and bar and views terrific. This one is... See full review

  • Practical Theovaler
  • Nov 22, 2014
Okay stay

The Internet sucked but overall the experience was good. See full review

  • OneLoveSD
  • Nov 22, 2014
Taste of Europe in San Diego’s Little Italy with rooftop yoga
Located in the heart of San Diego's modest Little Italy neighborhood, the Porto Vista Hotel offers a taste of Europe. The Mediterranean style hotel features an interior open-air courtyard and spacious rooms. All guests receive, complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary rooftop yoga classes and shuttle service to the convention center, airport and cruise ship terminals for a minimal fee. The on-site restaurant, Glass Door, serves dishes inspired by some of Europe's culinary capitals.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and rooftop yoga classes
  • Enjoy free transportation to some of San Diego's most popular attractions
  • On-site restaurant serves European dishes
  • Offers valet parking for an added fee
Rooms

The Porto Vista Hotel offers 189 rooms, including 4 suites that mix retro design with modern art--most with floor-to-ceiling artwork on one wall. Each room comes standard with a TV, an MP3 docking station, in-room safe and a make-up mirror. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Porto Vista Hotel dates back to the 1960s, though rooms and common spaces were renovated in 2008 to keep the property current.

All guests have access to the on-site 24-hour fitness center. There's also complimentary rooftop yoga and 24-hour laundry service (fees apply). Elsewhere on property, the Porto Vista Hotel boasts a salon, a Vespa store and a series of cooking classes throughout the year (fees apply). The hotel also offers transportation to and from the airport, valet parking (fees apply), as well as shuttle service to the San Diego Convention Centerand many other local attractions for a minimal fee.

For meals guests can visit Glass Door, the on-site restaurant. Chefs have modeled the eclectic menu after highlights from Barcelona, Naples and other culinary hotspots in Europe. Happy hour and weekend brunch both are particularly popular.

Transportation
  • Porto Vista Hotel shuttle to and from San Diego International Airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal (fees apply)
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (1 mi/1.5 km)
Attractions
  • Little Italy (1 block)
  • San Diego Convention Center (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (2 mi/4 km)
  • Sea World (3 mi/5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (4 mi/7 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (4 mi/7 km)
Business
  • Fax and copy services available
  • Ripassi Roofdeck large enough for parties of up to 50 people
  • Glass-walled banquet room overlooks San Diego Bay
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply)
  • Pets are accepted - one per room up to 40 pounds (fees apply).  A non-refundable pet fee will apply.
  • Rollaway beds available for a fee
  • A valid credit card is required at check in for incidental charges to establish credit.  We do not accept cash or pre-paid cards.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7244 -117.1672
Area served
Downtown San Diego Boutique Hotel In The Heart Of Little Italy
Nearby airports
Only one mile from San Diego International Airport (SAN)
Area description
Located in the heart of San Diego's historic Little Italy neighborhood, with fabulous views of the San Diego Harbor Walking distance to dozens of eclectic local restaurants, authentic shops, and art galleries Minutes from famous local attractions such as SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo, as well as the Convention Center and cruise terminal Only one mile from San Diego International Airport (SAN) Transportation (fee) to the airport and many area local attractions

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Porto Vista Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Porto Vista Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
1 queen bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
STANDARD - ROOM
2 queen beds. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
1 king bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
2 queen beds. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
PREMIUM - ROOM
1 king bed with a balcony. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 1.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 5.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.4 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.6 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 27.5 mi
  • Legoland: 29.3 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A Dash Of Mediterranean Style At Our San Diego Banquet Facilities. For San Diego banquets, meetings, and special occasions, the Porto Vista Hotel features the perfect mix of accommodations and amenities to pull it off in style. Host your event at our San Diego banquet facility and allow our planners and caterers to see to the details. Plan a sunset cocktail reception on our rooftop deck, where unopposed views of the San Diego harbor and skyline lend a stunning backdrop. Host an intimate dinner in the stylish Glass Door restaurant or reserve the modern, glass-walled banquet room for larger affairs. Featuring contemporary guest rooms and a unique Mediterranean ambiance, the Porto Vista is an impressive choice for special events.

Dining

The Glass Door, Among The Best Little Italy San Diego Restaurants
Our San Diego Little Italy Restaurant, A True Neighborhood Delight. Tucked away from downtown's crowds and noise, overlooking the harbor and the bay beyond, the Porto Vista Hotel proudly showcases the Glass Door, our award-winning Little Italy San Diego restaurant. Opening in the summer of 2008, it has quickly become one of the best San Diego Little Italy restaurants, drawing a smart, stylish crowd from throughout the city.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (270)

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
270 out of 270
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pickygirl22
Business
Chino hills, CA
Feb 17, 2014

It's cute but needs improvement!!

It wasn't the best obviously its a 3 star for a reason it seemed like the only thing that's been remodeled was the lobby and lounge.. Staff was great!! Room sheets grossed me out they need real comforters and when we walked into our room the first time it looked ok but had a weird smell my husband opened the door to the restroom disgusting!! the bathtub was filled with green water like the pipes or something had broke idk but it was disgusting luckyly we were moved to another room 2nd was ok needs remodeling... The lounge does have a great view its nice well kept and food is good :) I just don't see how they have this cute lounge and rooms are not cute! The lounge sold me should have read more reviews but I guess its worth for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Italy, gaslamp, downtown all is very close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mama weez
Business
Muskegon, MI
Feb 12, 2014

Valet only parking

The front of the hotel appeared nice and 'whole' and the front lobby was nice. There was, however, NO place to park except for valet parking which was an additional $22. Once inside and heading to the room the appearance took on a whole different look. It turned out to be more of a 'stacked' motel. The center of the building was "open" with the parking area visible below. You had to enter your room now from this 'open' area which was cold, loud and exhaust smelling. There was a "patio" area on one of the floors in this open area and the noise from the people partying was disruptive.. I had to catch a 6 a.m. flight so I received NO rest and there was NO shuttle service that ran at that time in the morning. I would have been better off at a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mashup
Business
Los Angeles
Feb 9, 2014

Great Location, Friendly Staff

The good: Free shuttle service, restaurant on site, excellent location in a completely walkable neighborhood, staff was top notch, extremely friendly and helpful. Free WiFi. The bad: It's basically a motel which isn't evident from the photos. It's noisy. Our room was over a parking lot and we heard people, doors opening, etc for the bulk of the evening. Small TV. Couldn't get room to cool. What could be better: Free breakfast, a better TV reception (HD!), better WiFi, soundproofing. We typically don't travel to stay in hotels, we travel to experience the city. So if you're looking for a comfortable place to crash, this will fit the bill. If you're looking to be pampered, maybe not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Influx for a great breakfast and coffee. One black walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
V. Galea
Business
Playa del Carmen
Jan 31, 2014

LITTLE ITALY VISIT

Visiting Family in San Diego. Nice location easy walk to the bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ballast Point Brewery

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tinytiff1983
Business
edlands
Jan 31, 2014

great location

The staff was friendly and helpful, the location was perfect and the slight view of the ocean was pretty nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chell0
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Jan 29, 2014

Great hotel in Little Italy

The staff was great and helpful. A few times all my towels weren't replaced but I easily got them replaced by asking at the front desk. The shuttle drivers were courteous and gave me restaurant suggestions. The free shuttle to the airport was a great addition. I would say the major drawback of this hotels is that it is not quiet. If you are a light sleeper you will get woken up by the random drunk guy who can't ready the signs to find the lobby, or people coming in late with their roller suitcase past your room. The walls are thin and you can hear all the traffic in the courtyard. I really liked the location of this hotel. It was walking distance to the bay, Balboa Park, and downtown. There are plenty of good places to eat nearby. The room was nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deje79
Business
Sioux Falls
Jan 29, 2014

Night in Little Italy

From the minute we arrived the staff was the best I have ever experienced, and we travel at least once a year! We had a balcony room with a peak a boo view of the water. Would of been nice if it had a chair out on the balcony. Easy to walk around little Italy, with wonderful places to eat. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable. Also was nice to have frig and microwave in the room. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Queenstown Public House- Unique beers and wonderful sangria.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
49erPhil
Business
LA CA
Jan 27, 2014

Family getaway

No on demand movies or pool. And the parking price per day was high compared to other hotels. Other guest coming back from the bar at the hotel kept waking us up all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Italy was a shot walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nattlebug
Business
Westminster, CA
Jan 25, 2014

Great for the price

Clean, quiet and great location right next to little Italy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Teacher from Watts
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jan 24, 2014

Great place for family!!

We had a great stay. Family friendly. We were sent to a room that was not ready and when I returned to the check in desk I was upgraded to a suite. My husband and I also got complimentary drinks at the Glass Door. Great atmosphere. Good food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Around the corner from Little Italy where there are many choices for a great dining experience!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top