$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
316 out of 316
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sowitty
Business
oceanside ca
Sep 22, 2014

Local Birthday Weekend

What a Great Place! the staff was so friendly and helpful. I recently moved to Cali. I wanted to get a room that we would be able to walk to places downtown or in little Italy and Porta Vista was perfect! had a great bar and restaurant right in the hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

to every where you would want to go!

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nate A.
Business
AZ
Sep 22, 2014

Dirty room and SHEETS!

Dirty room and dirty sheets; enough said. Never have I inspected a bed at a hotel room but upon immediately entering the room I knew I should. Found either BLOOD or some other red stain on the sheets, asked them to be changed and they were within a few hours. Again checked the new sheets and found the same color stain on the new sheets. Never will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Denstoppable
Business
Tacoma, Wa
Sep 21, 2014

Vacay

Hotel is in a great location and pretty much near everything. The room ain't the biggest but good enough for the two of us. Staff was very friendly. Vallet is $22 a night but it's unlimited in/out privileges. Overall stay was nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
deziko
Business
San Diego
Sep 18, 2014

Awesome Deal!

It was really nice to have AC and it is in an amazing area! Little Italy is awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It is really close to the trolley!!

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Isabella Marie
Business
San Diego
Sep 15, 2014

Too expensive

We booked the room with a king sized bed and balcony for $160 and it just wasn't worth this much. We were happy with the size of the room but that was pretty much it. The bed and pillows made sleeping miserable. So uncomfortable and the balcony was a joke. It's pretty obvious the "hotel" is just a remodeled motel. Wish we would've known... would've way rather pay the extra $30 to stay at the Sheraton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JCCHICAGO
Business
Chicago
Sep 8, 2014

good location

room 233 toilet does not function right needs to be fixed can hear kids above running around making noise . I'd stay there again I like the location .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vexas
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Sep 6, 2014

Below Average Motel

This place is kinda overrated. I didn't find this place that great. The posted pictures are not even near the actual place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JCCHICAGO
Business
Chicago
Sep 5, 2014

a 3 star hotel

First time stayed here not bad a bad hotel plenty of parking around rooms are clean and great location. I'd stay there again .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cleansed fo rlife
Business
Hampden, ME
Aug 30, 2014

It works!

There was nothing fancy but it worked. It was clean, people were friendly. It was a great value for my budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lady T0328
Business
Los angeles,ca
Aug 26, 2014

Great location, great price!

I stayed here for the weekend and loved it! For the rate, it was more than i expected. Thr location was perfect (1 block from little italy, 5 min drive to gaslamp quarter and 10 min drive to sea world). Their parking was cheaper than most of the hotels i looked up before booking here ($22 a night), all their staff are friendly, courteous & helpful, hotel has a bar & restaurant (good food & drinks) and the rooms are modern amd clean. I'm happy i stayed at porto vista and i highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top