$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
290 out of 290
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lexan J.
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 22, 2014

A Gem In Little Italy

Quaint hotel literally a minute walk from the hustle and bustle of Little Italy. Our queen room was decent - clean, spacious enough for 2, cable on a flat screen TV, and an AC unit that worked well. My only complaint is that there was no conditioner in the bathroom? All in all, worth every penny since the location is excellent! I would stay here again. Next time, I'd like to try their rooftop restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Filippi's pizzeria!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sowitty
Business
oceanside ca
Sep 22, 2014

Local Birthday Weekend

What a Great Place! the staff was so friendly and helpful. I recently moved to Cali. I wanted to get a room that we would be able to walk to places downtown or in little Italy and Porta Vista was perfect! had a great bar and restaurant right in the hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

to every where you would want to go!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nate A.
Business
AZ
Sep 22, 2014

Dirty room and SHEETS!

Dirty room and dirty sheets; enough said. Never have I inspected a bed at a hotel room but upon immediately entering the room I knew I should. Found either BLOOD or some other red stain on the sheets, asked them to be changed and they were within a few hours. Again checked the new sheets and found the same color stain on the new sheets. Never will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
deziko
Business
San Diego
Sep 18, 2014

Awesome Deal!

It was really nice to have AC and it is in an amazing area! Little Italy is awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It is really close to the trolley!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JCCHICAGO
Business
Chicago
Sep 8, 2014

good location

room 233 toilet does not function right needs to be fixed can hear kids above running around making noise . I'd stay there again I like the location .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vexas
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Sep 6, 2014

Below Average Motel

This place is kinda overrated. I didn't find this place that great. The posted pictures are not even near the actual place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JCCHICAGO
Business
Chicago
Sep 5, 2014

a 3 star hotel

First time stayed here not bad a bad hotel plenty of parking around rooms are clean and great location. I'd stay there again .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lady T0328
Business
Los angeles,ca
Aug 26, 2014

Great location, great price!

I stayed here for the weekend and loved it! For the rate, it was more than i expected. Thr location was perfect (1 block from little italy, 5 min drive to gaslamp quarter and 10 min drive to sea world). Their parking was cheaper than most of the hotels i looked up before booking here ($22 a night), all their staff are friendly, courteous & helpful, hotel has a bar & restaurant (good food & drinks) and the rooms are modern amd clean. I'm happy i stayed at porto vista and i highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mialoves
Business
Long Beach, CA
Aug 18, 2014

it was okay

the stay was okay, not worth the price. the bathroom was small, the phone didn't have a speaker option(old phone) you could see the bathtub had been worked on the soap dish tray was loose by the sink. friendly staff, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

take lyft and go to the house of blues! cost only $5.00

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kool Trish
Business
Palm Springs CA
Aug 16, 2014

Perfect Location

I have stayed here on several occasions Perfect for all my needs The staff at the Glass Door could use some manners female bartender very rude when we came in at 9:30 pm. Never came over to ask us if we needed anything. She also was complaining about her hours worked, I don't go somewhere to hear other peoples problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top