$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2015 Check-out: Jul 18, 2015

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
321 out of 321
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
teddyf
new york
Apr 2, 2012

i am so happy to stay in your hotel

i will recommended hotel to everyone/location was perfect/i am really happy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary Ann C.
Business
N/A
Feb 19, 2015

Within Walking Distance fo Fun Part of the City

This was great price for the downtown location. I looked at my room just as a comfortable place to return to at the end of the day. Could walk one block and be in the vibrant Little Italy area with those sidewalk cafes three blocks to the Trolley Line to go anywhere in the city. I am an older single lady and did not go out after dark alone but always felt comfortable (safe) when dropped off by my son at 8:30 or 9 P.M. walking into the hotel alone and up the stairs ( my preference to the elevator) and to my room. Room was very adequate for my needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Patiodeoak
Business
Oakland
Feb 9, 2015

Motel in Little Italy

Porto Vista provides a good location if you want to be near the bars, restaurants and cafes in the Little Italy District. Be prepared for a motel atmosphere. All the corridors are outdoors with gray concrete walkways and views of not much. My upgraded king deluxe room had few accessible outlets for plug ins, and the bathroom sink was small with no shelving. The front desk staff members were pleasant. I'm giving this hotel a lower review because I had to call three times, and waited for 40 minutes for the airport shuttle. When I finally got into the van, there were no working seat belts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Italia, a block and a half away through the Elm St. parking lot offers a wonderful espresso.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BizTravel1000
Business
N/A
Feb 9, 2015

Not my first choice

Wonderful location. My criticism is the place was kind of worn. Bad/broken equipment in the gym. Broken light fixtures, wheezy AC, bad wifi. Had stains on the rug and linens too (ick). Still, they were doing some work on the place when I was there and it's clear they're investing in it for the future. Best part was hanging out at the bar in the restaurant, Glass Door. Big Mike there was pretty cool, he was like a host making sure everyone was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scott M.
Business
sugar land
Feb 4, 2015

Weekend in Little Italy

Nice place with a great location. View from Bar was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
s.diego
Business
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

Subpar hotel stay

The hotel was significantly older than expected. The staff was very helpful and friendly, but the rooms were much older and smaller than they appeared online. Great location, but not a "luxury" experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ironside Oysters was a great bar/restaurant right down the road! Fun and lively.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dyana M.
Business
Riverside
Jan 25, 2015

Spontaneous San Diego trip

I decided to go to San Diego spontaneous at 7pm and checked in to the Porta Vista at 9pm. This wasn't the first time I had stayed there and both times I was impressed with the room for the price. The rooms are comfortable, clean and I feel safe staying there. The staff is great and even was upgraded to a suite for no additional charge just because. Its close to the gaslamp district fun and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ANGELA A.
Business
N/A
Jan 23, 2015

Nice Hotel

I enjoyed my stay. Nice staff :) My family enjoyed our stay. The staff was very nice. Our room was very clean. The hotel location was very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ESTHELA P.
Business
Yuma
Jan 22, 2015

Great location near restaurants

This is a great hotel if you want something close to the restaurants in little Italy and you don't want take a taxi. The valet parking was like $27 but they do a really good job, and you don't have to worry about leaving the car in a parking lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ASharpe
Business
New York
Jan 9, 2015

Greta hotel

The staff was very friendly, the location and price was great! Definitely staying there if I need a hotel on my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jan 7, 2015

Legit visit

Only stayed one night everything was good couldn't rate staff only saw front desk clerk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top