$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
287 out of 287
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
velizkaren
Business
Fontana CA
Nov 17, 2014

Good location!

It is clean and the location is good if you want to enjoy down town San Diego... Breakfast is not included :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kikki's mom
Business
Amherstburg, Ontario
Oct 29, 2014

san diego near airport

I was a little surprised that it was more like a motel. Thefront of the building was new and modern looking. When we got off the elevator it was motel style and much older than it looked from the front. I would not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marie124
Business
Irvine
Oct 26, 2014

Great location average hotel

We recently stayed in a basic room over the weekend. It wasn't the biggest in size or best in quality. The walls are thin so don't expect too much privacy or serenity. However, the location is great so you can walk anywhere in the area. Just a cab ride away from Gas Lamp. Staff is friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of places to eat in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Salvie251
Business
Anaheim, CA
Oct 20, 2014

3 C's Clean, Close (to everything) and Comfortable

Located in Little Italy, this super clean hotel had everything to offer. I was in town for a wedding and it met and exceeded all of my needs. The restaurant on the 4th floor had a full bar and kitchen that served great food. I ended up checking out the surrounding areas on foot with my fellow wedding goers and enjoyed the offerings of little Italy. This place is about $6-8 cab ride to the Gaslamp district as well. Stay here, you'll love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you walk to The Waterfront bar, try the Chipotle Fries - AWESOME

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shandasb1
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 20, 2014

Perfect for a Staycation

Nothing bad to report. Valet was quick. Check in was smooth. The room was clean and provided all the basic amenities. The exterior and interior of the hotel is nice and swanky. I didn't get to enjoy the bar or restaurant, or the roof top venue but at a glance it looked pretty cool. It's in a perfect location, within walking distance of restaurants, shops, and the farmers market if you're there on Saturday. The only downside but no fault of the hotel...is the parking situation. If you opt not to valet, good luck finding street parking, and if you do be aware that most are metered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the best farmers market in all San Diego - but it's only on Saturday.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joe Weekend Traveler
Business
Jacksonville, Fl
Oct 13, 2014

Leaves something to be desired

The location was perfect for the activities I wanted to do. The rooms were small, but clean. The hotel is an old property! If you want something fresh and newer go somewhere else. Nowhere is the description did they mention the $22/day parking!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The bar on the 4th floor was a great place to do happy hour!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
1st time to San Diego
Business
Miami, Fl.
Sep 28, 2014

not as nice as it sounded

Hotel was more like a 2 or 2.5. Bed was old, room and bathroom was old also. Cheap for an expensive city but not worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Hard Rock Cafe

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lexan J.
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 22, 2014

A Gem In Little Italy

Quaint hotel literally a minute walk from the hustle and bustle of Little Italy. Our queen room was decent - clean, spacious enough for 2, cable on a flat screen TV, and an AC unit that worked well. My only complaint is that there was no conditioner in the bathroom? All in all, worth every penny since the location is excellent! I would stay here again. Next time, I'd like to try their rooftop restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Filippi's pizzeria!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sowitty
Business
oceanside ca
Sep 22, 2014

Local Birthday Weekend

What a Great Place! the staff was so friendly and helpful. I recently moved to Cali. I wanted to get a room that we would be able to walk to places downtown or in little Italy and Porta Vista was perfect! had a great bar and restaurant right in the hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

to every where you would want to go!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nate A.
Business
AZ
Sep 22, 2014

Dirty room and SHEETS!

Dirty room and dirty sheets; enough said. Never have I inspected a bed at a hotel room but upon immediately entering the room I knew I should. Found either BLOOD or some other red stain on the sheets, asked them to be changed and they were within a few hours. Again checked the new sheets and found the same color stain on the new sheets. Never will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top