$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
321 out of 321
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lizanator
Business
Nashville, TN, USA
Sep 26, 2011

not very luxurious

we were first given a room that did was not cleaned after we paid for an upgrade. then we got "upgraded" again to a room that had a can lighting that was popping out of the celing in the bathroom and blood on the celing in the bedroom. the beds were not very confortable and the hotel was not kept up. Would not reccomend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 3, 2011

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in

This was a horrible expirience. The hotel looked great on the website and even while checking in looked great from the street and in the hotel lobby. As far as the room, it was your basic room with two full sized beds. I only got five channels on the TV, there was a used bar of soap in the shower and hair, the in room coffee maker was dirty and I had to clean it. My room was right off of the lobby next to the room where the hotel staff work out of. I could hear them being loud in there all night. They have valet parking which is convienient (at $14 a day) however my room door opened up into a parking lot where all I heard was the sounds of car being moved around all night with headlights constantly shining into my window, and the sounds of housekeeping carts being wheeled across it all night. Needless to say I did not get any sleep at this hotel. Oh and there is know breakfast. You can go the the hotel restaraunt and pay an arm and a leg instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

The website made it seem that it was alot closer to the downtown districts where the nightlife was at. I had to walk about a mile and a half, not to bad.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
vista ca
Sep 19, 2011

noy happy

horrible. at the time of arrivel there was a some kind of fire. in order to get to our room we had to use srairs. when we opend the room smell was so bad that we walked out and looked for another hotle for our stay which it took us a couple of houres, then called the hotel to let them know that we will not going to stay there.we ascked for the refound ,but they said no. hedayati

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 27, 2010

Don't stay at Porto Vista Hotel in SD

The hotel's customer service was awful. Upon entering the hotel, you get the vibe that it will be a nice place to stay but then your interactions with their staff let's you know the real deal. First of all, you can charge $14/day for valet service but you can't bring my bags to my room? Lugging a luggage cart with luggage plus baby = no good. Secondly, I requested an infant crib and they didn't have one. Secondly, the pictures of the rooms on the website are nice. The hotel rooms themselves are not, and that is false advertising. Forget about the stench in our room for one second, it smelled of "after-party" in the hall. Ugh, don't waste your time, for the amount of money, book yourself a room at the Marriott...because this hotel is nothing but a Motel 6. Bad, bad, bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Porto Vista hotel
Business
San diego ca
Nov 2, 2010

Worst Hotel

My experience at this hotel was awful, I celebrated my 2 year anniversary and payed alot for the room. There was no remote for the T.v., no refrigerator, no coffe pot or amenities were given. The staff did not help in regards to missing items. To expensive not worth the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Italy

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
corporate citizen
Business
phoenix, az
Jul 2, 2011

FLOORS WERE DISGUSTING!

This place was disgusting. Had a business meeting and ithe marketing materials made it look like a nice place to stay. After I flew in, took off my shoes, unpacked and put my clothes away. After unpacking I noticed that the floor looked a little dirty. I looked at the bottom of my feet and my white socks where BLACK! The floor was filthy! I would definately look at other options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mr out and about
Business
sacramento, ca
Jul 3, 2011

Bed Bug infestation!!

So I have pretty much traveled around the world and have never encountered bed bugs. Until I went to this hotel! I stayed in this hotel, which seemed clean and nice, but little did I know. One night I got home from dinner and saw this little bug on my bed. Thinking it was nothing, I just squished it. After a couple of days staying in that bed, realization hit that I was being bitten everywhere. One night, I was watching something on my laptop with the lights off and found a flattish brown bug gravitating towards me. I took my thin white cover to the bathroom and found two monsters trying to locate my blood. It was disgusting. Since then, when ever I have a bite, be it mosquito, fleas, whatever. I always think its bed bugs. I can't sleep. It was horrible. Piece of advice, GO TO A DIFFERENT HOTEL. Do not bring your suitcase in your room! Leave it outside or bag it up in bin bag. Helps ease your sanity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montréal, Canada
Aug 9, 2010

Porto Vista Hotel San Diego

I have choosed this hotel because of the free shuttle to the airport, the breakfast included, but in fact, our fligth was at 7h30 am so the shuttle was not in service until 8h am and it was not precised anywhere on the web site of the hotel. Same for the breakfast : not before 6h30 am, so we could not have it because we had to leave for the flight. The team should have pay the cab for us to go to the aiport. And this hotel is really ORDINARY, it does not like at all at what it seems to like on the web site, I was very disappointed. It tries to be as a grand hotel but it's not at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travelerchick
Business
Long Beahc,CA
Jul 5, 2010

A Holiday Getaway turn sour!!!

The only thing that was good about this hotel was the location. The bathroom roof was leaking, the fridge wasnt working, the resturant took 45 mins to serve us our breakfast, and the staff was not caring at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nate A.
Business
AZ
Sep 22, 2014

Dirty room and SHEETS!

Dirty room and dirty sheets; enough said. Never have I inspected a bed at a hotel room but upon immediately entering the room I knew I should. Found either BLOOD or some other red stain on the sheets, asked them to be changed and they were within a few hours. Again checked the new sheets and found the same color stain on the new sheets. Never will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top