$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
270 reviews
Great location, funky specialness

Staff went out of their way, location excellent, restaurant and bar and views terrific. This one is... See full review

  • Practical Theovaler
  • Nov 22, 2014
Okay stay

The Internet sucked but overall the experience was good. See full review

  • OneLoveSD
  • Nov 22, 2014
Taste of Europe in San Diego’s Little Italy with rooftop yoga
Located in the heart of San Diego's modest Little Italy neighborhood, the Porto Vista Hotel offers a taste of Europe. The Mediterranean style hotel features an interior open-air courtyard and spacious rooms. All guests receive, complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary rooftop yoga classes and shuttle service to the convention center, airport and cruise ship terminals for a minimal fee. The on-site restaurant, Glass Door, serves dishes inspired by some of Europe's culinary capitals.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and rooftop yoga classes
  • Enjoy free transportation to some of San Diego's most popular attractions
  • On-site restaurant serves European dishes
  • Offers valet parking for an added fee
Rooms

The Porto Vista Hotel offers 189 rooms, including 4 suites that mix retro design with modern art--most with floor-to-ceiling artwork on one wall. Each room comes standard with a TV, an MP3 docking station, in-room safe and a make-up mirror. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Porto Vista Hotel dates back to the 1960s, though rooms and common spaces were renovated in 2008 to keep the property current.

All guests have access to the on-site 24-hour fitness center. There's also complimentary rooftop yoga and 24-hour laundry service (fees apply). Elsewhere on property, the Porto Vista Hotel boasts a salon, a Vespa store and a series of cooking classes throughout the year (fees apply). The hotel also offers transportation to and from the airport, valet parking (fees apply), as well as shuttle service to the San Diego Convention Centerand many other local attractions for a minimal fee.

For meals guests can visit Glass Door, the on-site restaurant. Chefs have modeled the eclectic menu after highlights from Barcelona, Naples and other culinary hotspots in Europe. Happy hour and weekend brunch both are particularly popular.

Transportation
  • Porto Vista Hotel shuttle to and from San Diego International Airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal (fees apply)
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (1 mi/1.5 km)
Attractions
  • Little Italy (1 block)
  • San Diego Convention Center (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (2 mi/4 km)
  • Sea World (3 mi/5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (4 mi/7 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (4 mi/7 km)
Business
  • Fax and copy services available
  • Ripassi Roofdeck large enough for parties of up to 50 people
  • Glass-walled banquet room overlooks San Diego Bay
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply)
  • Pets are accepted - one per room up to 40 pounds (fees apply).  A non-refundable pet fee will apply.
  • Rollaway beds available for a fee
  • A valid credit card is required at check in for incidental charges to establish credit.  We do not accept cash or pre-paid cards.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Porto Vista Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Porto Vista Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
1 queen bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
STANDARD - ROOM
2 queen beds. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
1 king bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
2 queen beds. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
PREMIUM - ROOM
1 king bed with a balcony. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 1.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 5.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.4 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.6 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 27.5 mi
  • Legoland: 29.3 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A Dash Of Mediterranean Style At Our San Diego Banquet Facilities. For San Diego banquets, meetings, and special occasions, the Porto Vista Hotel features the perfect mix of accommodations and amenities to pull it off in style. Host your event at our San Diego banquet facility and allow our planners and caterers to see to the details. Plan a sunset cocktail reception on our rooftop deck, where unopposed views of the San Diego harbor and skyline lend a stunning backdrop. Host an intimate dinner in the stylish Glass Door restaurant or reserve the modern, glass-walled banquet room for larger affairs. Featuring contemporary guest rooms and a unique Mediterranean ambiance, the Porto Vista is an impressive choice for special events.

Dining

The Glass Door, Among The Best Little Italy San Diego Restaurants
Our San Diego Little Italy Restaurant, A True Neighborhood Delight. Tucked away from downtown's crowds and noise, overlooking the harbor and the bay beyond, the Porto Vista Hotel proudly showcases the Glass Door, our award-winning Little Italy San Diego restaurant. Opening in the summer of 2008, it has quickly become one of the best San Diego Little Italy restaurants, drawing a smart, stylish crowd from throughout the city.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (270)

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
270 out of 270
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tiredOFsurveys
Business
sacramento
Jun 25, 2012

Hipster fun and funky place

roll out of bed to "good morning belly buttons". Floor to ceiling wall mural of giant girls in bikinis. (see attached picture) They have landed and they come in Peace. The sheets must have been 600 thread count they were so comfortable. The bath products were quality. Great view of the harbor from the restaurant. Don't miss the saturday morning Farmers market just walking distance from the hotel that ends at 1pm. This used to be a motel 8. The parking lot is right outside your door. You're peering out onto cars and parking garage but i didn't have window open so no matter. I would stay here again. Fun! Next time I'll bring my husband.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LV Couple
Business
Las Vegas
Jun 4, 2012

Very Nice Boutique Hotel in a Centralized Location

The hotel was very nice for the cost. IT was within walking distance to several restaurants in Little Italy, as well as some shopping and the Pier. It was a short cab ride to Gas Lamp, Pacific Beach, and surrounding areas. So, it had a great localized location. The staff was very courteous and helpful, and was always willing to go above and beyond when it came down to finding info about something in particular. The only downsides I would say are the parking, the Spa was only offering haircuts and styling, and no massages or anything like that. And, there was no room service for food. But, all in all, it was a great deal for the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several Great Italian Restaurants that you can walk to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Civic
Business
Stockton, CA
May 21, 2012

Nice escape

Check in was very fast. Staff very helpful. Comfortable reasonably quiet room in the Little Italy area. Seemed like every place I went was a 15 to 52 minute drive away. Parking is nonexistent. Valet parking at the hotel is worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

50/50 burgers. 100 beers on tap. Great burgers, cool place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
San Diegan Traveler
Business
Orange, California
May 16, 2012

San Diego Stay

The hotel is average and does require some updating of the rooms and amenities provided within them. The staff was not very helpful when the elevator broke and we were unable to get the luggage cart down from the third floor. The valet fee you pay is over priced and the attendants are not very helpful. Finally, the onsite restaraunt/bar has minimal offerings, over priced, and has a staff that is very unfriendly and not customer service orientated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Good place to stay if you are going to the Little Italy area of San Diego.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Warren Harding
Business
San Quentin
Apr 27, 2012

OK for a cheap week in town if you sleep well

Convenient location in Little Italy a few blocks from the trolley stop. You can get downtown, to the convention center, the gaslight, or old town easily. The staff was helpful. Rooms were clean and adequate; a lot of noise from the airport and guests. This could be a much nicer place with some attention. There is not much going on and a lot of vacant and unfurnished public space. The advertised claim of free parking is a lie; they charge $22 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Melpadilla
Business
Torrance, CA, USA
Apr 9, 2012

I wouldn't recommend this hotel

I WOULD'T recommend this hotel. When we arrived to the hotel at 5:00 pm our room was not ready. We had to wait in the lobby for 20minutes after our 2 hour drive. (Keep in mind check-in is at 3:00pm). After our room was "ready" we walk up to our room and housekeeping was still cleaning our room. We had to wait outside our room for another 10 minutes. The next day we leave all day. We remove the "Do Not Disturb" sign from our door, we come back to the room around 4:30pm and our room STILL wasn't clean. FIfteen minutes later housekeeping comes knocking to see if we needed our room clean. By that time I had already cleaned my room and left our trash bag outside. One last thing. Prior to booking the room I called to ask if our room came with a hair dryer and was told "every room comes with a hair dryer" of course I get there and there is no hair dryer. I called the front desk and was told someone would bring it up in 20 min.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
teddyf
Business
new york
Apr 2, 2012

i am so happy to stay in your hotel

i will recommended hotel to everyone/location was perfect/i am really happy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cheezit
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Chemistry Convention

Overall, I had a great experience. Stayed there for seven days. The hotel was far away from the convention center, our frequent destination. We didn't have a car, so walking there took approximately 25-30 minutes. The rooms looked like they were newly renovated, painted with soothing colors. They have a black and white pictures of A GIRL MODEL (that's right, just one girl) throughout the hotel, which creepily stares directly in your soul. All staff members served with kindness and respect. However, we did have trouble getting in our room one night. When we went to the front desk, one of the front desk staff members did argue with me that leaving our credit card in our wallets caused our hotel keys to demagnetized. I told him the chances of three hotel cards demagnetizing at the same time were slim and this must of been an error on their part. He never apologized, nor admit he was wrong. Other than that, staff members gave great recommendations and were happy to assist. The hotel was essentially in a garage. Look down the center of the balcony was where they park the valet cars. The scenery at the hotel restaurant was very beautiful. It was very relaxing to eat out and had the view of the harbor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not go to Spaghetteria. From the moment we sat down, service was horrible till the time we left. Being a server and manager at a restaurant for seven years, they did absolutely EVERYTHING wrong from waiting to management.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brooke.ash
Business
Murrieta, CA, USA
Mar 23, 2012

A nice one night getaway

It was a cute quant hotel. I only wish the room would have been a bit more up to date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CoolKid
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Very Average, but Great Location

The hotel is in a great location. It is next to the trolly and train stations so it makes traveling to the harbor, TJ, or the gaslamp district a breeze. However, it gets pretty noisy at night. the ac/heater is not centralized and is also pretty loud. The bathrooms are not in the best conditions and yes, you might see a bug or two. This place reminded me more of a motel than hotel. The price, restaurant, and location really saved this hotel from getting a bad review.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top