$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
299 out of 299
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
show me allen
Business
mesa az
Jan 1, 2014

Maid service

Did not get maid service after our first night they said one of the washer were down

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Viky197
Business
Irvine,California
Dec 21, 2013

Amazing place

It was a wonderful experience. Myself and my family enjoyed the stay thoroughly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

San Diego Zoo

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barbieeeee
Business
Los Angeles, California
Dec 10, 2013

Loved it!!!

Very nice boutique hotel. The rooms are modern and very clean. All the staff was curteous. They have an Amazing roof top/bar. Great location, nice restaurants across the street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bobby Baja
Business
Baja
Nov 15, 2013

Very displeased

We will never go back to this hotel. We found it dirty and with no glasses in the room. When we ask for 2 glasses we were told all they had was Styrofoam. Have you ever had a cocktail in a Styrofoam cup???

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
toptiger
Business
Iowa City, Iowa
Nov 3, 2013

Close to airport

Rooms open to the outdoors, and are a bit noisy. Near airport & near downtown. Restaurant provides nice setting for up-scale dinner, outdoor balcony or indoors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

For an inexpensive day trip, take the ferry from Broadway pier to Coronado island. Quiet residential neighborhoods and great beach along the Pacific side.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Treeblood
Business
Ohio
Nov 2, 2013

Nice hotel.

I was unsure of booking the hotel given the mixed reviews but, I have to say I was really very happy with my stay. Pros - the hotel kindly upgraded me to a King room with a balcony that had a view of the bay - very nice. - I asked for a room near with consistent wifi and never had a single issue, very good service - I enjoyed the bar/restaurant - the bartenders were super nice and very fun, food was good, drinks were good, nothing to complain about - great location in Little Italy - very good restaurants and bars a short walk away, loved the location Cons - I was on the 4th floor very close to the restaurant so, I occasionally heard people chatting outside - nothing horrible though Neutral - valet parking only - $22 a night - I had a great rate though so, the $22 extra was not bad I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Queenstown Public House - go during happy hour!!! 6 nice size portions of different craft beers and super good cheap appetizers, awesome.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nj action
Business
LA
Oct 23, 2013

Weekend gateway

I booked a delux room and I was given less standard room, coffee machine in bedroom makes a cup at a time. Resturant waitress on Saturday night serving everyone with an attitude. Were charges 2 extra for every drink that required ice. Had to pay for our parking In addition to room rate. Overall hotel is like an apartment building not like a hotel.for the price we paid we could get a lit more! Sorry

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bway
Business
mexico
Oct 21, 2013

puerto vista

good , location, staff, ect. would recommend for budget people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jezbuh
Business
Rialto, CA
Oct 20, 2013

Excellent Location, average hotel

The exterior of this hotel is stunning including the lobby. They did a great job renovating the exterior and now just need to do a bit of work on the interior of the hotel. The insides definitely do not match the outsides. The room was clean but there was a moldy smell in the bathroom. I noticed when I took a shower, the design of the bathtub funneled the water from the sides onto the floor, drenching the floor with water. The best thing about the hotel is the location. You are walking distance from charming shops & restaurants. The staff was also very pleasant. I would definitely stay here again for the price I paid ($100) Had I paid $200 which I've seen the hotel listed for, I would be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Runr45
Business
Hawaii
Oct 17, 2013

Short stay

Room was nice, good area Little Italy. Parking is expensive $22.00.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top