$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nj action
Business
LA
Oct 23, 2013

Weekend gateway

I booked a delux room and I was given less standard room, coffee machine in bedroom makes a cup at a time. Resturant waitress on Saturday night serving everyone with an attitude. Were charges 2 extra for every drink that required ice. Had to pay for our parking In addition to room rate. Overall hotel is like an apartment building not like a hotel.for the price we paid we could get a lit more! Sorry

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bway
Business
mexico
Oct 21, 2013

puerto vista

good , location, staff, ect. would recommend for budget people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jezbuh
Business
Rialto, CA
Oct 20, 2013

Excellent Location, average hotel

The exterior of this hotel is stunning including the lobby. They did a great job renovating the exterior and now just need to do a bit of work on the interior of the hotel. The insides definitely do not match the outsides. The room was clean but there was a moldy smell in the bathroom. I noticed when I took a shower, the design of the bathtub funneled the water from the sides onto the floor, drenching the floor with water. The best thing about the hotel is the location. You are walking distance from charming shops & restaurants. The staff was also very pleasant. I would definitely stay here again for the price I paid ($100) Had I paid $200 which I've seen the hotel listed for, I would be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Runr45
Business
Hawaii
Oct 17, 2013

Short stay

Room was nice, good area Little Italy. Parking is expensive $22.00.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
loves SD1979
Business
Los angeles, California
Oct 15, 2013

Nice hotel for the price and location is good

If you want to be close enough to downtown but avoid the busy streets this is a great hotel. Taxi to get to gaslamp district was great value and easy to get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicole J.
Business
Long Beach, CA
Oct 6, 2013

Urban Getaway in Downtown

Perfect for couples looking for a unique getaway in the heart of downtown San Diego. The location is just a few minutes walk or drive to Little Italy, the Gaslamp District, San Diego Harbor, and Seaport Village. Or if you don't feel like going far, the hotel's own restaurant, The Glass Door, offers an upbeat late-night setting, or a relaxing weekend brunch. Hotel service was excellent, as well as the amenities; but an added Jacuzzi or spa would make the stay more enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Italy is one street down from the Porto Vista Hotel, where you can find shopping, dining, gelato, and live entertainment for any time of day or night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bowie10
Business
Pico Rivera, Ca
Oct 1, 2013

Fun stay.

Really enjoyed my stay here, Room was very clean , AC worked fantastic and the bed was very comfortable. Staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IBDH
Business
Ottawa, Canada
Sep 30, 2013

Very nice hotel

We stayed in San Diego 4 nights. Our room was upgraded to king, which was very nice! The staff is very pleasant and helpful. The room was pretty clean. Location is just great! Everything is in short drive or walk distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach ocean fanatic
Business
Sonora,ca
Sep 25, 2013

Good downtown hotel

Hotel was nice only thing is they could put down runners in front of rooms to cut down noise from baggage and foot traffic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jasmine5kids
Business
San Diego
Sep 23, 2013

Fantastic getaway

This was a nice hotel, friendly staff. Our room was a little small and I didn't expect to be paying for parking, $22 a night. On Saturday thier is a farmers market down the street, really enjoyed that and all the little resturant down at little Italy. Also not to bad walking distant to the baseball stadium about 2 miles up. We enjoyed our stay I would come again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top