$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
302 out of 302
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent cruise traveller
Couples
Honolulu, Hawaii
Mar 13, 2014

Good value and relatively good location

Its location in Little Italy provides a relatively good base for San Diego with the light rail a 8 minute walk from the hotel and a 10 minute ride from there to the convention center, Seaport village or the next station transfer point at the AMTRAK in downtown. One can walk (about 20 min) to the USS Midway aircraft carrier museum/Maritime Museum area/cruise terminal where the city bus from the airport also stops. It is a workable alternative to the much higher price hotels in the Convention center and Gastown district if one uses the MTS light rail, else the walk to the convention center can take about 30-35 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JillNorth
Business
Mountain View, California
Mar 6, 2014

One of my Best Business Trip Experiences

Part of my job requires me to find meeting space to conduct trainings. Since I was going to be staying at Porto Vista, I looked into booking a conference room as well. I worked with Jayna (who is AWESOME) to book the room - she made it so easy and flexible. From the moment I pulled up to the hotel, I was greeted with nothing but the most sincere hospitality - these people know how to make you feel special! My room was very clean - had everything I needed. But the meeting space was amazing! There are floor to ceiling glass windows that overlook the harbor. The view is incredible. But I have to mention again, the staff being so helpful and welcoming. I stay at a lot of hotels, this one will be a definite repeat in the future! Thanks Porto Vista!!!!! You are the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DRWhite
Family
Palm Springs, CA
Mar 5, 2014

Fire Alarm

Not a bad hotel and we like to location. You could walk to many restaurants. The Fire alarm went off twice on the last day of our visit and at 1:30 a.m. in the last night of our stay. It lasted about 20 minutes. The hotel staff were very apologetic and reduced our parking bill by $22. Excluding the fire alarm issues we had a pleasant stay at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TommysGRL
Couples
Fontana, ca
Mar 5, 2014

Taste of Italy

I love that its a block from Little Italy. Its so close to everything such as night life, the marina with ships, trolley, airport, and the metro link.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ali ali
Couples
Tucson, AZ
Mar 3, 2014

Motel

Motel The facade of the building is very misleading. hollow walls, cheap materials. Value: Hotel deal plus a discount got me the room for $80/night. If i didn't have those deals it would have been $300/night. I would have been very mad if I paid 300. Location: little Italy is a very fun, vibrant little area in town. The hotel is a short walk to mission bay. 18$ cab to the zoo... I loved the location Parking: charged 22$/night to keep my car on the lot. As we were leaving I overheard a woman say "you charged me 22 dollars, I was here two nights" and they replied "right, $11 a night" so I guess that's negotiable. Room: the water in the pipes were very loud, the planes overhead were super loud, we ordered a Queen room but they put us in a double bed. Didn't request a change due to the following... Club: there is a rooftop bar with a cool view. I heard many guests complaining about the noise of the bar which we didn't experience in our double room so I was afraid to rectify the fact that they put us in a different room. Staff- they were nice, I guess didn't use them Much and they put us in the wrong room. Summary- worth it if you are on a budget and not picky. Otherwise don't do it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diogenes A
Friends
Brazil
Feb 26, 2014

Good and cheap!

Good location, cheap, comfortable, clean, organized system, very nice hotel, beautiful room. Just, one observation, internet works but it was lazy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

3 blocks from the trolley station, around 4 blocks from the bus station. It is near to the airport, just take the bus 992 in Harbor Avenue.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zhudfkflr
Friends
Honolulu, HI
Feb 26, 2014

great value

We stayed one night before and one night after a retreat held at another hotel. Both times our rooms were clean and the staff EXTREMELY friendly and helpful. The Glass Door restaurant had pretty good food, and Melody's service made the experience even better. The neighborhood is clean and safe, with MANY restaurants, but don't plan to go shopping for souvenirs there. The hotel also had a free airport shuttle, and boasted other amenities of which we were not able to take advantage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elle53088
Couples
Moorpark,Ca
Feb 25, 2014

In love with Porto Vista

From the nice valet guys, to Rob at the front Desk, to the sweet cleaning staff- everything was great. I really enjoyed this hotel. Our room was great and had a beautiful view off the balcony. It also seemed like a great place for dining, but we didn't eat there (only because we couldn't get enough of Little Italy). Kudos to you guys for your excellent remodel. Can't wait to come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chris n kim
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 25, 2014

not great

Besides the valet staff, staff was not pleasant. Room was passable, but only a coat of paint and a duvet cover away from a being a third rate motel. Will not be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ForMyca
Couples
San Luis Obispo, Ca
Feb 18, 2014

Good location

This is a decent little hotel for the price. The rooms were clean, reasonably sized and the staff were all really really nice. It's located really closely to the airport, Balboa park, and some great restaurants. We were here right around the time of Valentine's day so it was really nice to walk around the neighborhood. There is an onsite restaurant but we didn't check it out. It seemed pretty lively on Valentine's night. I would have been more inclined had the restaurant probably offered a discount maybe. The parking is $20 a day for valet which was super prompt and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

India street has some great coffee shops and some great little Italian restaurants. Pappalecco also has some phenomenal gelato.

Back to menu Return to top