$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
316 out of 316
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zhudfkflr
Business
Honolulu, HI
Feb 26, 2014

great value

We stayed one night before and one night after a retreat held at another hotel. Both times our rooms were clean and the staff EXTREMELY friendly and helpful. The Glass Door restaurant had pretty good food, and Melody's service made the experience even better. The neighborhood is clean and safe, with MANY restaurants, but don't plan to go shopping for souvenirs there. The hotel also had a free airport shuttle, and boasted other amenities of which we were not able to take advantage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elle53088
Business
Moorpark,Ca
Feb 25, 2014

In love with Porto Vista

From the nice valet guys, to Rob at the front Desk, to the sweet cleaning staff- everything was great. I really enjoyed this hotel. Our room was great and had a beautiful view off the balcony. It also seemed like a great place for dining, but we didn't eat there (only because we couldn't get enough of Little Italy). Kudos to you guys for your excellent remodel. Can't wait to come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chris n kim
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 25, 2014

not great

Besides the valet staff, staff was not pleasant. Room was passable, but only a coat of paint and a duvet cover away from a being a third rate motel. Will not be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ForMyca
Business
San Luis Obispo, Ca
Feb 18, 2014

Good location

This is a decent little hotel for the price. The rooms were clean, reasonably sized and the staff were all really really nice. It's located really closely to the airport, Balboa park, and some great restaurants. We were here right around the time of Valentine's day so it was really nice to walk around the neighborhood. There is an onsite restaurant but we didn't check it out. It seemed pretty lively on Valentine's night. I would have been more inclined had the restaurant probably offered a discount maybe. The parking is $20 a day for valet which was super prompt and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

India street has some great coffee shops and some great little Italian restaurants. Pappalecco also has some phenomenal gelato.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
djk1984
Business
Quartz Hill, CA
Feb 18, 2014

Great Location but left much to be desired.

First of all, the location is great. Walking distance to many restaurants and Gaslamp. The room we stayed in was very outdated. Bathroom was not very clean and sink was clogged with hair and would not drain. The bathroom door creaked quite a bit as did the bed. Housekeeping left only washcloths and no bathtowels which were sent up when we informed the front desk. There was a lot of noise. We will probably spend a little more for a better quality hotel on our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good choices both for brunch and dinner, all within walking distince. I loved India Street.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pickygirl22
Business
Chino hills, CA
Feb 17, 2014

It's cute but needs improvement!!

It wasn't the best obviously its a 3 star for a reason it seemed like the only thing that's been remodeled was the lobby and lounge.. Staff was great!! Room sheets grossed me out they need real comforters and when we walked into our room the first time it looked ok but had a weird smell my husband opened the door to the restroom disgusting!! the bathtub was filled with green water like the pipes or something had broke idk but it was disgusting luckyly we were moved to another room 2nd was ok needs remodeling... The lounge does have a great view its nice well kept and food is good :) I just don't see how they have this cute lounge and rooms are not cute! The lounge sold me should have read more reviews but I guess its worth for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Italy, gaslamp, downtown all is very close

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mama weez
Business
Muskegon, MI
Feb 12, 2014

Valet only parking

The front of the hotel appeared nice and 'whole' and the front lobby was nice. There was, however, NO place to park except for valet parking which was an additional $22. Once inside and heading to the room the appearance took on a whole different look. It turned out to be more of a 'stacked' motel. The center of the building was "open" with the parking area visible below. You had to enter your room now from this 'open' area which was cold, loud and exhaust smelling. There was a "patio" area on one of the floors in this open area and the noise from the people partying was disruptive.. I had to catch a 6 a.m. flight so I received NO rest and there was NO shuttle service that ran at that time in the morning. I would have been better off at a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mashup
Business
Los Angeles
Feb 9, 2014

Great Location, Friendly Staff

The good: Free shuttle service, restaurant on site, excellent location in a completely walkable neighborhood, staff was top notch, extremely friendly and helpful. Free WiFi. The bad: It's basically a motel which isn't evident from the photos. It's noisy. Our room was over a parking lot and we heard people, doors opening, etc for the bulk of the evening. Small TV. Couldn't get room to cool. What could be better: Free breakfast, a better TV reception (HD!), better WiFi, soundproofing. We typically don't travel to stay in hotels, we travel to experience the city. So if you're looking for a comfortable place to crash, this will fit the bill. If you're looking to be pampered, maybe not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Influx for a great breakfast and coffee. One black walk.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
V. Galea
Business
Playa del Carmen
Jan 31, 2014

LITTLE ITALY VISIT

Visiting Family in San Diego. Nice location easy walk to the bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ballast Point Brewery

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tinytiff1983
Business
edlands
Jan 31, 2014

great location

The staff was friendly and helpful, the location was perfect and the slight view of the ocean was pretty nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top