$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
312 reviews
Mr. Gilreath

Everything was great. Awesome location - walking distance to everything down town. Even though... See full review

  • Devon G.
  • Apr 23, 2015
Couple trip

Is very good hotel Clean, nice view,area and very convenient location. See full review

  • Temoc
  • Apr 6, 2015
Taste of Europe in San Diego’s Little Italy with rooftop yoga
Located in the heart of San Diego's modest Little Italy neighborhood, the Porto Vista Hotel offers a taste of Europe. The Mediterranean style hotel features an interior open-air courtyard and spacious rooms. All guests receive, complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary rooftop yoga classes and shuttle service to the convention center, airport and cruise ship terminals for a minimal fee. The on-site restaurant, Glass Door, serves dishes inspired by some of Europe's culinary capitals.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and rooftop yoga classes
  • Enjoy free transportation to some of San Diego's most popular attractions
  • On-site restaurant serves European dishes
  • Offers valet parking for an added fee
Rooms

The Porto Vista Hotel offers 189 rooms, including 4 suites that mix retro design with modern art--most with floor-to-ceiling artwork on one wall. Each room comes standard with a TV, an MP3 docking station, in-room safe and a make-up mirror. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Porto Vista Hotel dates back to the 1960s, though rooms and common spaces were renovated in 2008 to keep the property current.

All guests have access to the on-site 24-hour fitness center. There's also complimentary rooftop yoga and 24-hour laundry service (fees apply). Elsewhere on property, the Porto Vista Hotel boasts a salon, a Vespa store and a series of cooking classes throughout the year (fees apply). The hotel also offers transportation to and from the airport, valet parking (fees apply), as well as shuttle service to the San Diego Convention Centerand many other local attractions for a minimal fee.

For meals guests can visit Glass Door, the on-site restaurant. Chefs have modeled the eclectic menu after highlights from Barcelona, Naples and other culinary hotspots in Europe. Happy hour and weekend brunch both are particularly popular.

Transportation
  • Porto Vista Hotel shuttle to and from San Diego International Airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal (fees apply)
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (1 mi/1.5 km)
Attractions
  • Little Italy (1 block)
  • San Diego Convention Center (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (2 mi/4 km)
  • Sea World (3 mi/5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (4 mi/7 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (4 mi/7 km)
Business
  • Fax and copy services available
  • Ripassi Roofdeck large enough for parties of up to 50 people
  • Glass-walled banquet room overlooks San Diego Bay
Policies and fees
  • Parking fee is $25 USD per night.
  • Pets are accepted - one per room up to 40 pounds (fees apply).  A non-refundable pet fee will apply.
  • Rollaway beds available for a fee
  • A valid credit card is required at check in for incidental charges to establish credit.  We do not accept cash or pre-paid cards.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Porto Vista Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Porto Vista Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
1 queen bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
STANDARD - ROOM
2 queen beds. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
1 king bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
2 queen beds. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
PREMIUM - ROOM
1 king bed with a balcony. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 1.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 5.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.4 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.6 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 27.5 mi
  • Legoland: 29.3 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A Dash Of Mediterranean Style At Our San Diego Banquet Facilities. For San Diego banquets, meetings, and special occasions, the Porto Vista Hotel features the perfect mix of accommodations and amenities to pull it off in style. Host your event at our San Diego banquet facility and allow our planners and caterers to see to the details. Plan a sunset cocktail reception on our rooftop deck, where unopposed views of the San Diego harbor and skyline lend a stunning backdrop. Host an intimate dinner in the stylish Glass Door restaurant or reserve the modern, glass-walled banquet room for larger affairs. Featuring contemporary guest rooms and a unique Mediterranean ambiance, the Porto Vista is an impressive choice for special events.

Dining

The Glass Door, Among The Best Little Italy San Diego Restaurants
Our San Diego Little Italy Restaurant, A True Neighborhood Delight. Tucked away from downtown's crowds and noise, overlooking the harbor and the bay beyond, the Porto Vista Hotel proudly showcases the Glass Door, our award-winning Little Italy San Diego restaurant. Opening in the summer of 2008, it has quickly become one of the best San Diego Little Italy restaurants, drawing a smart, stylish crowd from throughout the city.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
312 out of 312
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
teddyf
new york
Apr 2, 2012

i am so happy to stay in your hotel

i will recommended hotel to everyone/location was perfect/i am really happy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fern760
Business
N/A
May 2, 2015

great location...

location is a corner away from Little Italy,,, overlooks to bay and great view of the sunset. For the right price again,, i would stay again even though I like staying in different locations when in San Diego. Thanks Porto Vista Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jackie A.
Business
Austin
Apr 25, 2015

Nice hotel

This was a last minute stay after missing a flight. We weren't there long (just overnight) so we didn't really get to see/enjoy the hotel amenities. The room and staff were both very nice. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Devon G.
Business
Carlsbad
Apr 23, 2015

Mr. Gilreath

Everything was great. Awesome location - walking distance to everything down town. Even though there was a convention going on and the hotel was fully packed the rooms remained silent. I will return and recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matthew T.
Business
lakewood
Apr 21, 2015

Nice hotel

Wasn't sure what to expect. Price seemed too good to be true. Hotel has mandatory valet parking, which wasn't a problem. Hotel has a unique vibe. The middle of hotel is open to the outside, which is nice in San Diego's weather. Relatively close to many attractions if you don't mind walking. There was a party on the top of the hotel, which we didn't mind, but may not be the best place for families to stay due to the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tracy G.
Business
Buford
Apr 19, 2015

Mother/Daughter Trip

If you are a person who spends lots of time hanging out in the hotel room on vacation, this isn't the place for you. The rooms are very dark with one window that overlooks the parking deck. However they are very clean and comfortable, so if you just need a place to crash at night after a day of sightseeing I would definitely recommend the Porto Vista. The location of this hotel is great - easily accessible to the heart of downtown San Diego, walking distance to the Little Italy strip of Italian restaurants/bars and the Saturday morning farmer's market (which is definitely worth exploring if you have the time). Valet parking was $25 per day and the only option, but if you like the hotel facebook page the price drops to $15. Front desk and valet staff were very nice and accommodating. We never timed it right to actually eat at Glass Door restaurant on the roof, but we did go up and look around and the view was great - open air seating (San Diego weather is just absolutely perfect) overlooking the city. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Temoc
Business
Redwood City
Apr 6, 2015

Couple trip

Is very good hotel Clean, nice view,area and very convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chela A.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

not good

My best friend and I planned this mini getaway. We pulled into hotel to get our reservation and Alex the valet driver told us there was a $25 parking fee for guests, which I wasn't aware of this fee at all. When I asked him questions to find out what my options were he was extremely rude and impatient with my inquiries. When I went to the front desk to figure it out, Alex then made my girlfriend pull on the street. And then he disappeared for 15 min. So we had to drive our car completely around the long block which was extremely confusing when your from out of town and wait for Alex the valet driver to get back. When he got back I asked him more questions about the ticket he gave me and he mumbled something. I just gave up at this point cause we were tired from our trip. It was also disappointing not to be able to take a bath. When I ran the water no matter what, the shower head sprayed out water. Some of us girls have ethnic hair and don't want to get the hair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hot chocolate runners
Business
Riverside
Mar 26, 2015

1 night stay

We decided last minute to stay here. We have stayed here before , but this time we decided to do some exploration. We found some great breweries in the area , within walking distance and even got to take a painting and wine class. The staff was friendly and we got a great room with a balcony and a view. The price was not bad either and it looks like they will have a pool soon which will be great I'm sure. Overall not too shabby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
michelle b.
Business
Wigan
Mar 24, 2015

Nice hotel

Hotel within walking distance of Little Italy! Nice hotel rooms, clean and spacious. We had two queen beds in room. Free shuttle to airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rasool T.
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

First Family Trip

It was a great travel, the hotel was near Little Italy and beach. We really enjoyed it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top