$205 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Paradise Point Resort and Spa

4 stars
1404 W. Vacation Rd., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
555 reviews
Great Family Vacation

My wife and I took our 6 month old here for our first family vacation and it was a great... See full review

  • San Diego Vacation Dad
  • Jul 6, 2014
Great time!

My stay was amazing for the most part. The place looks amazing and was very clean. The people for... See full review

  • Coach sean
  • Apr 23, 2014
Private luxury in Mission Bay with putting course
Paradise Point Resort & Spa is located on a private, 44-acre island in Mission Bay, minutes from Sea World and the heart of downtown San Diego. The resort features more than 450 beach bungalow-style guest rooms amid a lush tropical garden life. Other highlights of Paradise Point include a white sand beach, five swimming pools, an on-site spa, an 18-hole putting course and a marina with boat rentals. Guests can choose from three different on-site restaurants, though Baleen San Diego is by far the most sophisticated, serving fresh seafood.
Highlights
  • Private location in the heart of Mission Bay
  • 18-hole putting course
  • Relax in the sun on a white sand beach
  • Located just minutes from Sea World
Rooms

Paradise Point Resort & Spa offers 462 rooms, including 30 bayside suites. All accommodations are beach bungalows, meaning every guest gets a garden view. Decor in Paradise Point's rooms is Balinese-influenced. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, outdoor patio, MP3 docking station and an ironing board. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

Resort accommodations don't get more private or exclusive than the Paradise Point Resort & Spa. The property is situated on its own island--a 44-acre rock in the middle of Mission Bay.

Guests receive complimentary access to a number of amenities when they stay, including the private white sand beach, five pools, a state-of-the-art fitness center and an 18-hole putting green. The resort boasts a private marina with boats for rent (fees apply). The Spa recreates a number of treatments from the Far East.

Three on-site restaurants offer dozens of choices for meals. Baleen San Diego, by far the fanciest, specializes in seafood. The other two eateries, Barefoot Bar & Grill and Tropics Bar & Grill, offer casual fare in a relaxed environment.

The nearby Caveman Pizza Company offers quality pies, salads and garlic knots using fresh homespun dough and ingredients. Available for grab and go, or enjoy free evening delivery.


Transportation
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego International Airport (2 mi/3 km)
Attractions
  • Sea World (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (6 mi/11 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/11 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/11 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • More than 35,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 32 meeting and banquet rooms
  • In-house audiovisual capabilities
Policies and fees
  • Passport to Paradise fee is $24 USD per room per night
  • Parking fee is $34 USD per room per night

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Paradise Point Resort and Spa Rooms

Garden Bungalow
The Garden Bungalow suite is nestled throughout the resort gardens and tropical landscaping. This One Bedroom Suite offers 1 King bedroom, 1 bath and separate living room with queen sofa sleeper. Furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television in each room with On Command movies, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, full wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Bungalows are approximately 650 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Lanai Patio
Guestroom accommodations offering two queen beds, furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television with On Command movies, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Guestrooms are approximately 450 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Lanai Bayside
Just steps from one mile of sandy beach, the Lanai Bayside guestroom offers spectacular views of Mission Bay right outside your patio. Accommodations offer one King bed with queen sofa sleeper or two queen beds. Furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television with On Command movies, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Guestrooms are approximately 460 square feet, connecting rooms available, bedding on request and subject to availability at check in.
Bayside Bungalow
Just steps from one mile of sandy beach, the Bayside Bungalow is located closest to the water offering spectacular views of Mission Bay. The One Bedroom Suite offers 1 King bedroom, 1 bath and separate living room with queen sofa sleeper. Furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television in each room with On Command movies, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, full wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Bungalows are approximately 650 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Lanai Garden
The Lanai Garden guestroom is nestled throughout the resort gardens and tropical landscaping. Accommodations offer one King bed with queen sofa sleeper or two queen beds. Furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television with On Command movies, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Guestrooms are approximately 460 square feet, connecting rooms available, bedding on request and subject to availability at check in.
Bayside Junior Suite
Just steps from one mile of sandy beach, the Bayside Junior Suite is located closest to the water offering spectacular views of Mission Bay. This Studio Suite offers a combined sleeping and living area featuring one king bed and queen sofa sleeper, Furnishings include - dining room table and four chairs, full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television in each room with On Command movies, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, full wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Studio Suites are approximately 560 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Garden Junior Suite
The Garden Junior Suite is nestled throughout the resort gardens and tropical landscaping. This Studio Suite offers a combined sleeping and living area featuring one king bed and queen sofa sleeper, Furnishings include - dining room table and four chairs, full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television in each room with On Command movies, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, full wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Studio Suites are approximately 560 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Lanai Premium
The Lanai Garden Premium guestroom, approximately 460 square feet and nestled throughout the resort gardens and tropical landscaping, offers one king or two queens with a queen sofa sleeper and upgraded room features that may include wet bar, walk-in closet and/or water view. Room includes a full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television with premium channels, alarm/clock radio with MP3 input, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, Wi-Fi and high speed Internet access, and a mini-refrigerator. Connecting rooms are available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Paradise Point Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.775 -117.2401
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located on Mission Bay. Paradise Point Resort & Spa is an island oasis of blue skies, pristine beaches and lush gardens. Located across the street from Sea World Park, Paradise Point is ideally located on Mission Bay, the heart of San Diego.

Nearby points of interest

  • Belmont Park: 0.8 mi
  • Sea World: 1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 1.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 0.8 mi
  • Sea World: 1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 1.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 5.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 6 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 6 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 6.1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 6.1 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 6.1 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 6.2 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 6.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 6.5 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 6.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 6.7 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 8.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 12.4 mi
  • Legoland: 24.9 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.3 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,120.7 mi

Dining

Tropics Pool Bar
TROPICS BAR & GRILL Grab a bite by the pool. In the summer months, enjoy a juicy burger or cheesy quesadilla at Tropics Bar & Grill, our casual poolside eatery. Serving up everyone's favorite summer treats including hot dogs and Caesar salads, Tropics is the perfect place to refuel before diving back into one of the five sparkling pools at your disposal. Open Memorial Day through Labor Day.
Baleen
Baleen San Diego restaurant: Serious food with a whimsical mood. What's the point in enjoying fine food if you can't have a little fun while you're at it? Our signature restaurant, Baleen, invites both your palate and your sense of adventure to a waterfront dining experience like no other. Here, land and sea cuisine are artfully infused with San Diego regional flavors to create savory delights, such as our Grilled Mahi-Mahi Filet. Dine waterside and enjoy views almost as spectacular as your meal. Restaurant Hours Dinner: Sun thru Thu, 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm Fri & Sat, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Barefoot Bar & Grill
Barefoot Bar & Grill: A lively mix of sun, sandals, and sandwiches. A day at the beach wouldn't be complete without a visit to Paradise Point's Barefoot Bar & Grill restaurant, an island-inspired casual dining experience featuring panoramic views of San Diego's Mission Bay. Famous for its seasonal live music and dancing, Barefoot Bar & Grill restaurant serves up sandwiches, salads and other pub favorites while the tropical drinks come complete with umbrellas-making it a festive destination after a day in paradise. Restaurant Hours Breakfast: Daily, 7:00 am - 11:00 am Lunch & Dinner: Daily, 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Caveman Pizza Company
This historic cave fires up quality pies, salads and garlic knots using only the freshest homespun dough and ingredients. Available for grab and go, or enjoy free evening delivery.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (555)

Ratings and reviews for Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
218 out of 555
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maxie343
yorba linda
Jun 16, 2014

very family friendly

Very nice location and so much to do. Bike rentals and restuarants onsite. Hotel staff very friendly. Property reminds me of hawaii. We went without our kids but are definitely coming back but with our boys next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cpduner
Orange County
May 27, 2014

Nice Place

Everything was good except the floors were dirty & left black on the bottom of our feet & socks. Also the sprinklers made harsh water spots on my car which is normally not a big deal, but it is with an expensive car..... I was graciously compensated for this inconvenience. Every staff personnel I talked to was absolutely great..... They really know how to take care of their guest. I will be back soon.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OTand Principal
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
May 6, 2014

paradise in San Diego

This was not just a hotel. We had our own personal bungalow. The resort was absolutely beautiful and the staff was amazing! No need to rent a car, the resort was walking distance from Mission Beach, Ocean Beach and Pacific Beach. Okay about 20 min walk but scenic and allowed you to maintain our weight with all the good food!! My husband and I will be back for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Gaslamp District (Osetra), Miss Match Boutique,

Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lian Wu
Memphis, TN
Apr 21, 2014

Nickel and Dimed

Had an otherwise great trip stained by excessive and unfair parking charges upon arrival. We booked via a mobile app and saw zero mention of potential parking fees much less the amount of $35/day. 5 night stay, $175 right off the bottom line for parking in a spot that is already marked, assigned to the room, unusable to anyone else anyway. Riduculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Polar
El Centro
Mar 4, 2014

NOT Happy

I booked Friday and Satuday thru you company and at a later date booked Sunday night also. I showed up at the resort two weeks early to let them know that it was my Birthday weekend and that I bad booked two separate reservations and I wanted to make sure they put them together and I would pay for an upgrade. The staff did some work on the computer and said everything is set. When I showed up Friday night a very young (Immature in my opinion) young lady greeted me. Immediately she was like you are staying here Friday and Saturday only. And I said no, there should be notes about me staying thru Monday. She finally found it and I noted it was my birthday. She didn't offer me the upgrade and was not real pleasant to deal with. There was an issue with my credit card and it went downhill from there. I like the place but didn't feel welcome and won't be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sharylb13
Riverside, ca
Mar 3, 2014

Gorgeous Hotel

We had a beautiful stay! The weather wasn't the best but it didn't matter because we had a gorgeous room with a fireplace!! Will definitely stay here again on our next trip to San Diego!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Coli
Bay Area
Oct 22, 2013

Paradise PT.

the overall experience was pleasant. I would have liked the option of opting out of the daily "passbook" fee as the services were not need. The facility is well placed and tropical the grounds well kept. My true complaint would be that our room was not cleaned daily. The beds were made Period. The sink and tub, mirror, not cleaned. A tissue my husband used was balled up and left atop the made bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VanesaRosaCorrea
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Oct 14, 2013

Overrated 4 star hotel

The hotel charges a $32 parking fee and $24 resort fee which I think it's just ridiculous. What am I supposed to do with my car? Put it in my pocket? The resort fee covers the use of the fitness center, internet, and other activities but shouldn't that be included in the room rate. I felt scammed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cmjw
Ireland
Sep 25, 2013

cockroaches with eyelashes

We booked paradise point for 2 nights. When we arrived at reception for check in we were hoping for a smooth check in arrival which we recieved although we had to pay passport fee (resort fee) which was $17 a night and also $35 a night for parking. We had a sinister comment from girl on reception about recieving our security deposit back of $100 if all went well we would recieve back. We got to our room to find someones fake eyelashes on the locker in between the 2 double beds. I called the manager to make him aware so he offered to refund the resort fee and the parking fee. Manager was friendly and was glad to help. On our final day we had cockroaches. All in all nice spot for family vacation wouldnt call it paradise for a young couple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ronlynn
Denver, Colorado
Sep 15, 2013

Beautiful location but lacking.

The location was perfect-right off Mission Bay. We paid extra and got a room called the Bayside Lanai which faced the bay. They decor was nice but on closer inspection it didn't seem clean. I understand that it is an older resort which has been updated but it is the little details that make a big impression. I also got an unexpected surprise - you have to pay to park your car and you get a bill at the end for amenities which came up to over $350. I don't think it is special enough to want to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top