$225 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Paradise Point Resort and Spa

4 stars
1404 W. Vacation Rd., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
557 reviews
Great Family Vacation

My wife and I took our 6 month old here for our first family vacation and it was a great... See full review

  • San Diego Vacation Dad
  • Jul 6, 2014
Great time!

My stay was amazing for the most part. The place looks amazing and was very clean. The people for... See full review

  • Coach sean
  • Apr 23, 2014
Private luxury in Mission Bay with putting course
Paradise Point Resort & Spa is located on a private, 44-acre island in Mission Bay, minutes from Sea World and the heart of downtown San Diego. The resort features more than 450 beach bungalow-style guest rooms amid a lush tropical garden life. Other highlights of Paradise Point include a white sand beach, five swimming pools, an on-site spa, an 18-hole putting course and a marina with boat rentals. Guests can choose from three different on-site restaurants, though Baleen San Diego is by far the most sophisticated, serving fresh seafood.
Highlights
  • Private location in the heart of Mission Bay
  • 18-hole putting course
  • Relax in the sun on a white sand beach
  • Located just minutes from Sea World
Rooms

Paradise Point Resort & Spa offers 462 rooms, including 30 bayside suites. All accommodations are beach bungalows, meaning every guest gets a garden view. Decor in Paradise Point's rooms is Balinese-influenced. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, outdoor patio, MP3 docking station and an ironing board. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

Resort accommodations don't get more private or exclusive than the Paradise Point Resort & Spa. The property is situated on its own island--a 44-acre rock in the middle of Mission Bay.

Guests receive complimentary access to a number of amenities when they stay, including the private white sand beach, five pools, a state-of-the-art fitness center and an 18-hole putting green. The resort boasts a private marina with boats for rent (fees apply). The Spa recreates a number of treatments from the Far East.

Three on-site restaurants offer dozens of choices for meals. Baleen San Diego, by far the fanciest, specializes in seafood. The other two eateries, Barefoot Bar & Grill and Tropics Bar & Grill, offer casual fare in a relaxed environment.

The nearby Caveman Pizza Company offers quality pies, salads and garlic knots using fresh homespun dough and ingredients. Available for grab and go, or enjoy free evening delivery.


Transportation
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego International Airport (2 mi/3 km)
Attractions
  • Sea World (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (6 mi/11 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/11 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/11 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • More than 35,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 32 meeting and banquet rooms
  • In-house audiovisual capabilities
Policies and fees
  • Passport to Paradise fee is $24 USD per room per night
  • Parking fee is $34 USD per room per night

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.775 -117.2401
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located on Mission Bay. Paradise Point Resort & Spa is an island oasis of blue skies, pristine beaches and lush gardens. Located across the street from Sea World Park, Paradise Point is ideally located on Mission Bay, the heart of San Diego.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Paradise Point Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Paradise Point Resort and Spa Rooms

Garden Bungalow
The Garden Bungalow suite is nestled throughout the resort gardens and tropical landscaping. This One Bedroom Suite offers 1 King bedroom, 1 bath and separate living room with queen sofa sleeper. Furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television in each room with On Command movies, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, full wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Bungalows are approximately 650 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Lanai Patio
Guestroom accommodations offering two queen beds, furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television with On Command movies, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Guestrooms are approximately 450 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Lanai Bayside
Just steps from one mile of sandy beach, the Lanai Bayside guestroom offers spectacular views of Mission Bay right outside your patio. Accommodations offer one King bed with queen sofa sleeper or two queen beds. Furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television with On Command movies, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Guestrooms are approximately 460 square feet, connecting rooms available, bedding on request and subject to availability at check in.
Bayside Bungalow
Just steps from one mile of sandy beach, the Bayside Bungalow is located closest to the water offering spectacular views of Mission Bay. The One Bedroom Suite offers 1 King bedroom, 1 bath and separate living room with queen sofa sleeper. Furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television in each room with On Command movies, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, full wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Bungalows are approximately 650 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Lanai Garden
The Lanai Garden guestroom is nestled throughout the resort gardens and tropical landscaping. Accommodations offer one King bed with queen sofa sleeper or two queen beds. Furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television with On Command movies, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Guestrooms are approximately 460 square feet, connecting rooms available, bedding on request and subject to availability at check in.
Bayside Junior Suite
Just steps from one mile of sandy beach, the Bayside Junior Suite is located closest to the water offering spectacular views of Mission Bay. This Studio Suite offers a combined sleeping and living area featuring one king bed and queen sofa sleeper, Furnishings include - dining room table and four chairs, full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television in each room with On Command movies, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, full wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Studio Suites are approximately 560 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Garden Junior Suite
The Garden Junior Suite is nestled throughout the resort gardens and tropical landscaping. This Studio Suite offers a combined sleeping and living area featuring one king bed and queen sofa sleeper, Furnishings include - dining room table and four chairs, full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television in each room with On Command movies, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, full wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Studio Suites are approximately 560 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Lanai Premium
The Lanai Garden Premium guestroom, approximately 460 square feet and nestled throughout the resort gardens and tropical landscaping, offers one king or two queens with a queen sofa sleeper and upgraded room features that may include wet bar, walk-in closet and/or water view. Room includes a full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television with premium channels, alarm/clock radio with MP3 input, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, Wi-Fi and high speed Internet access, and a mini-refrigerator. Connecting rooms are available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Belmont Park: 0.8 mi
  • Sea World: 1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 1.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 0.8 mi
  • Sea World: 1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 1.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 5.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 6 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 6 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 6.1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 6.1 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 6.1 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 6.2 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 6.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 6.5 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 6.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 6.7 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 8.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 12.4 mi
  • Legoland: 24.9 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.3 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,120.7 mi

Dining

Tropics Pool Bar
TROPICS BAR & GRILL Grab a bite by the pool. In the summer months, enjoy a juicy burger or cheesy quesadilla at Tropics Bar & Grill, our casual poolside eatery. Serving up everyone's favorite summer treats including hot dogs and Caesar salads, Tropics is the perfect place to refuel before diving back into one of the five sparkling pools at your disposal. Open Memorial Day through Labor Day.
Baleen
Baleen San Diego restaurant: Serious food with a whimsical mood. What's the point in enjoying fine food if you can't have a little fun while you're at it? Our signature restaurant, Baleen, invites both your palate and your sense of adventure to a waterfront dining experience like no other. Here, land and sea cuisine are artfully infused with San Diego regional flavors to create savory delights, such as our Grilled Mahi-Mahi Filet. Dine waterside and enjoy views almost as spectacular as your meal. Restaurant Hours Dinner: Sun thru Thu, 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm Fri & Sat, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Barefoot Bar & Grill
Barefoot Bar & Grill: A lively mix of sun, sandals, and sandwiches. A day at the beach wouldn't be complete without a visit to Paradise Point's Barefoot Bar & Grill restaurant, an island-inspired casual dining experience featuring panoramic views of San Diego's Mission Bay. Famous for its seasonal live music and dancing, Barefoot Bar & Grill restaurant serves up sandwiches, salads and other pub favorites while the tropical drinks come complete with umbrellas-making it a festive destination after a day in paradise. Restaurant Hours Breakfast: Daily, 7:00 am - 11:00 am Lunch & Dinner: Daily, 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Caveman Pizza Company
This historic cave fires up quality pies, salads and garlic knots using only the freshest homespun dough and ingredients. Available for grab and go, or enjoy free evening delivery.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (557)

Ratings and reviews for Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
557 out of 557
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Moms reunion with 2 sons
Evergreen, CO
Jun 4, 2013

Great fun!

The resort was hidden in the island and it was great for a family get together. Fires on the beach at night were great fun, movies at night at the pool, food was great at Beleen's and boat rental amenities were outstanding. You could take a water taxi to sea world and we could see the fireworks from night. They had 2 conferences at the resort while we were staying and they made amenities for those guests you could hardly tell they were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We took a road trip from the hotel up the coast line it was about an hour or two and worth the scenic drive and stopping in fun towns to shop and lunch.

Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
senison
Chicago, IL
Jun 4, 2013

Eh

Great location, and some fun amenities if you don't mind paying extra for literally everything. Don't worry though, they tack on a non-negotiable fee to each night of your stay for these amenities. Ugh. Parking is super expensive there as well. We were given a double bed room, and wanted a king room, which was only changed out for us with a surcharge after an hour of waiting in the original room awaiting a response from the front desk. Not awesome customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Carnitas Snack Shack

Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pollyana
San Francisco, California
May 28, 2013

Amazing Place!

I'm very happy with my Vacation Package! This Place is AMAZING, beautiful and the best place to relax! The room is not a 5 star but it's nice, modern and clean. Definitely this is my favorite Hotel in San Diego!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CoastGirl
Colorado
May 7, 2013

Great Family Spot

We stayed at this resort while in town for a wedding. The room was pleasant but very small. We had one of the garden rooms with two queen beds. The location of the room made up for its size though - step right outside the door and we were on the bay. It's a great kid-friendly spot, but also would be a romantic getaway for anyone traveling with a partner, or even with a friend (check out the spa and pools). It is one of the most beautiful spots I've stayed in San Diego, and very quiet and relaxing. If you had time (and money) it would be easy to unpack and stay on the resort without ever having to leave. Sea World is actually within walking distance - if you wanted to save some money on parking. It's also a very short distance to PB. There was a fire pit located right outside our room, with big chairs, and we were able to sit around the fire with friends drinking wine while the kids roasted marshmallows one evening. Heaven! Our gripes: The online site mentions a $19 "passport to paradise" that you can buy for unlimited access to all the amenities. It also says you can pay a la carte. However, once we were there, we were told this $19 charge per day is required for all guests. What? Wouldn't this be good to know before booking? Perhaps you should change your misleading advertising on the website. This was especially irritating to us because we didn't use a single one of the amenities. (It was a short trip, so we didn't even have time to use the pool or spa!) And don't forget to add $32 a day for parking. We ate breakfast with a large group in the barefoot bar and grill. The food was decent enough - a tad pricey for breakfast - but the service was terrible. Once she took our order that was the last we saw our server. We didn't eat there again. This is a small one, is the terrible coffee, both in-room and in the lobby's cafe. If you like good coffee, skip the ridiculous $4 lobby coffee and drive down the street. I would love to stay again, but the extra fees and overall cost might be the only reason to keep us away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fitzlock
Denver
May 6, 2013

Great Getaway

We could not have been more pleased! The rsort is beautifula and very family friendly. the rooms are small and bathrooms even smaller. But all in all a great place to stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mohammad Shayeb
Chicago
May 2, 2013

Great hotel... Highly recommend

The place is really nice and the staff was amazing... Except for the u have to pay for the parking $34 a day ... That should be free

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UCBTBP
San Jose
Apr 29, 2013

Good

Enjoy to stay there. Shor distance to Airport and Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to sea world

Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Asama
Business
Salt lake, utah
Apr 28, 2013

Wonderful

Yes really wonderful place to spent some times there, enjoined your Holliday.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mom son fun sun
St. Louis, Mo
Apr 26, 2013

Mother Son Bonding time

We really enjoyed our stay. We found a lot to do together and seperately. I would recommend this to friends and family. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The grounds are beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great food at the barefoot. and awasome service

Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Where My Feet Go I Go
New Jersey
Apr 22, 2013

Ants...but the staff handled it...

So when you check in you are overwhelmed with how beautiful the lobby and grounds are. Our original suite was beautiful as well, but we found ants in the kitchen area...which doesn't surprise me given the lush naturey grounds...but it became a problem. The staff came quickly and since they couldn't fix the problem gave us an upgrade to a different suite. The rest of our stay was perfect. The staff was amazing. More of a family spot and very close to rest of tourist destinations in San Diego. If you do rent a car, be weary of the daily parking fee!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top