$225 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 5, 2015 Check-out: Mar 8, 2015

Paradise Point Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 1404 W. Vacation Rd., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
352 reviews
Great Family Vacation

My wife and I took our 6 month old here for our first family vacation and it was a great... See full review

  • San Diego Vacation Dad
  • Jul 6, 2014
Great time!

My stay was amazing for the most part. The place looks amazing and was very clean. The people for... See full review

  • Coach sean
  • Apr 23, 2014
Private luxury in Mission Bay with putting course
Tucked away on gentle Mission Bay next door to SeaWorld, this 44-acre island resort features comfortable, California bungalow-style rooms amidst lush, tropical gardens and lagoons. Explore one mile of beach, five swimming pools, and enjoy various amenities including tennis courts, an 18-hole putting course, beach cruisers, bonfire pits, and a private marina equipped with sailboats, jet skis, and kayaks. Dine at one of two waterfront venues, then relax and refresh with a signature Balinese massage at the plush spa. Secluded yet centrally located, the resort is minutes from top attractions including Old Town, the San Diego Zoo, and Gaslamp District.
Highlights
  • Private location in the heart of Mission Bay
  • 18-hole putting course
  • Relax in the sun on a white sand beach
  • Located just minutes from Sea World
Rooms

Paradise Point Resort & Spa offers 462 rooms, including 65 bayside suites. All accommodations are bungalow-style, meaning every guest gets a private patio, typically with a garden or bay view. Decor in Paradise Point's rooms is Balinese-influenced. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, outdoor patio, MP3 docking station and an ironing board. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

Resort accommodations don't get more private or exclusive than the Paradise Point Resort & Spa. The property is situated on its own island--a 44-acre rock in the middle of Mission Bay.

Guests receive complimentary access to a number of amenities when they stay, including the private white sand beach, five pools, a state-of-the-art fitness center and an 18-hole putting green (fees apply). The resort boasts a private marina with sailboats, jet skis and kayaks for rent (fees apply). The Spa recreates a number of treatments from Hawaii, Fiji, Bali and other exotic island destinations.

Five on-site restaurants offer dozens of choices for meals. Tidal, by far the fanciest, specializes in seafood. The other three eateries, Barefoot Bar & Grill, Caveman Pizza Company and Tropics Cantina, offer casual fare in a relaxed environment. After a full day, patrons unwind with drinks while taking in coastal views at Bayside Lounge.

Transportation
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego International Airport (2 mi/3 km)
Attractions
  • Sea World (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (6 mi/11 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/11 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/11 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • More than 35,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 30 meeting and banquet rooms
  • In-house audiovisual capabilities
Policies and fees
  • Effective from 01 Nov 2014, passport to Paradise fee will be $27 USD per night
  • Effective from 01 Nov 2014, parking fee will be $35 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Paradise Point Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Paradise Point Resort and Spa Rooms

Standard Room
Guestroom accommodations offering two queen beds, furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Guestrooms are approximately 450 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Garden Bungalow
The Garden Bungalow suite is nestled throughout the resort gardens and tropical landscaping. This One Bedroom Suite offers 1 King bedroom, 1 bath and separate living room with queen sofa sleeper. Furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television in each room, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, full wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Bungalows are approximately 650 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Lanai Bayside
Just steps from one mile of sandy beach, the Lanai Bayside guestroom offers spectacular views of Mission Bay right outside your patio. Accommodations offer one King bed with queen sofa sleeper or two queen beds. Furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Guestrooms are approximately 460 square feet, connecting rooms available, bedding on request and subject to availability at check in.
Bayside Bungalow
Just steps from one mile of sandy beach, the Bayside Bungalow is located closest to the water offering spectacular views of Mission Bay. The One Bedroom Suite offers 1 King bedroom, 1 bath and separate living room with queen sofa sleeper. Furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, full wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Bungalows are approximately 650 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Lanai Garden
The Lanai Garden guestroom is nestled throughout the resort gardens and tropical landscaping. Accommodations offer one King bed with queen sofa sleeper or two queen beds. Furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Guestrooms are approximately 460 square feet, connecting rooms available, bedding on request and subject to availability at check in.
Bayside Junior Suite
Just steps from one mile of sandy beach, the Bayside Junior Suite is located closest to the water offering spectacular views of Mission Bay. This Studio Suite offers a combined sleeping and living area featuring one king bed and queen sofa sleeper, Furnishings include - dining room table and four chairs, full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television in each room, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, full wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Studio Suites are approximately 560 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Garden Junior Suite
The Garden Junior Suite is nestled throughout the resort gardens and tropical landscaping. This Studio Suite offers a combined sleeping and living area featuring one king bed and queen sofa sleeper, Furnishings include - dining room table and four chairs, full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, full wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Studio Suites are approximately 560 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Lanai Premium
The Lanai Garden Premium guestroom, approximately 460 square feet and nestled throughout the resort gardens and tropical landscaping, offers one king or two queens with a queen sofa sleeper and upgraded room features that may include wet bar, walk-in closet and/or water view. Room includes a full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television with premium channels, alarm/clock radio with MP3 input, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, Wi-Fi and high speed Internet access, and a mini-refrigerator. Connecting rooms are available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Belmont Park: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 1.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 5.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 1.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 5.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 6 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 6 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 6.1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 6.1 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 6.1 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 6.2 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 6.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 6.5 mi
  • PETCO Park: 6.7 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 8.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 12.4 mi
  • Legoland: 24.9 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.3 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,120.7 mi

Dining

Tropics Cantina
The best of Baja, without a trip across the border! Located at the Main Pool, the Tropics Cantina serves authentic fresh Mex straight from Baja California. Get a taste of Mexicos colorful culture and cuisine in the form of homemade salsa, fish tacos, cochinitas, carne asada and frosty margaritas.
Tidal
Craft and catch converge at Tidal, perched where land meets sea on the shores of Mission Bay. At the helm is Chef Amy DiBiase, curating a thoughtful selection of local seafood and craft beverages that, like the ever changing tides, shift seasonally at Mother Natures whim.
Barefoot Bar & Grill
Barefoot Bar & Grill has been a local favorite for its panoramic Mission Bay views since opening in 1962. This legendary restaurant offers a laid-back atmosphere, lineup of California craft beers, and bold, creative takes on American dishes. Eat inside or outdoors next to a tropical waterfall and sea-life lagoon.
Caveman Pizza Company
This historic cave fires up quality pies, salads and garlic knots using only the freshest homespun dough and ingredients. Available for grab and go, or enjoy free evening delivery.
Bayside Lounge
Drink in coastal views, stunning sunsets and cool cocktails at this intimate outdoor lounge. Cozy fire pits and a menu featuring savory shared plates and boutique wines beckon casual group gatherings and lively conversation, though the 180 views of Mission Bay may just leave you at a loss for words.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (352)

Ratings and reviews for Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 352
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.3

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
loo-loo
Business
wales,uk
Oct 25, 2010

poor location,poor food,poorly lit....

the location of this hotel left a lot to be desired,its not within walking distance of any quality bars/restaurants, and if you do stay within paradise point the food is a tad expensive and very poor quality, its also very unlit in the evening,so beware, yes the pool stays open as does the hot tub with absolutely no lighting at all!! .....left a day early and was not even asked how the stay was or offered a refund.....will not be returning !!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
roxyloraine
Business
Rochester, NY, USA
Mar 9, 2012

Watch out for hidden fees!

This resort and spa was more like a motel with amenities. All of the rooms are at ground level and guests park their cars outside their doors. The room did not look like the pictures and only had one small dresser with two drawers to accommodate our 7-day stay. The room also only had one window next to the door which looked out into the parking lot. There is a $15 per day activity fee which does not include bicycle rentals and may not be declined. There is also a $32 per day fee to park your car on the property. There are nicer resorts nearby with cheaper rates, so don't be fooled like we were that paying a little more equals nicer accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be sure to get the Go San Diego pass if you are visitng any attractions such as the zoo or Sea World.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VIDDIBABY
Business
PORTLAND,OR
Jul 1, 2013

FAR FROM LUXURY

VERY OVER RATED OVER PRICED NEVER EVER AGAIN RUNDOWN DIRTY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
fzzarf220
Business
New Jersey
Oct 7, 2013

Skip this resort

My biggest problem with this hotel were all the fees they charged: $24/day for Wifi as part of their Resort Passport plan $32/day for parking $20/day for microwave, if you need one There were other charges but it was complete nonsense. I had to fight the staff to get most of these charges either waved or reduced. It was a complete joke. They nick and dime you so badly, I am not coming back I still need to give them a call, which they will not return, on some expenses that I was told were waived but appeard on my bill. I spoke to them a the desk, I called and left a message...still nothing The staff was overall nice and professional. The location was great, right near the beach. Very dissatissfied with this hotel and I would strongly recommend avoiding them at all cost

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappily ever after
Business
NJ
Dec 31, 2013

Extremely Disappointing

Stayed at Paradise Point for Christmas. Found the room to be average. I had to remove a spider in the bathroom the 1st night along with clearing out a huge hairball from the tub when it would not drain during my shower. Also each morning. No hot water. When I brought this to the hotels attention they sent 2 guys into the room who each held there hand under the faucet and said Yep! No hot water. It was explained to me that other people in the immediate area were probably showering and I should wait and shower later. The topper was on the last morning there we left the do not disturb sign on the door and went to breakfast. Upon returning to the room the cleaning lady was in there and threw away the deserts we bought the night before along with 3 bottles of water in the fridge. Be prepared to also pay $20 a night to park along with $26 a day to use internet and basically walk the grounds. Oh yea, Water in room. Not complimentary. 2 bucks a pop. Never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappily ever after
Business
NJ
Jan 13, 2014

Underwhelmed

Disappointing stay. Too many hidden fees $$$ Last day before checking out we went to breakfast and left the Do not Disturb sign out. We came back to the room open and cleaning going on. They through out our food we had bought to take on the plane. Parking $20 a day plus $26 a day for amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RSM Traveller
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 9, 2009

Go to Paradise if you want to Camp Out

Admittedly, I saw this property on TLC's Jon & Kate. Given Kate's penchant for clean, I had high expectations. The overpowering amonia smell as we entered the lobby to register was our first clue that something was off. The first room we were showed had a bathroom that had been updated but it was dirty and the decor - which they call distressed - looked like it came from Walton's mountain. The entertainment cabinet (no flat screen tv just an old 36" thing) had no doors just the hooks for them, the walls are painted an alarming yellow and hand prints/scuff marks/food products are everywhere. The room was located directly in front of the primary pool which made it noisy and lots of foot traffic passing by the plate glass sliding door. The second room was bigger, in a better location for privacy but it was grossly neglected. There was a stray cat nested next to the concrete slab/front entrance. We wore socks around to keep our feet off the floor and put a towel in the bathtub when taking a shower just so we did not come into contact with what was a deeply stained tub. If you are used to coffee makers in the room as we are at this point ... no such amenity in Paradise! You have to schlep to an outdoor pavillion and cart it back to your room. The black on our socks after just one day convinced us we couldn't stay there. Even my 10 year old son said he was uncomfortable. It was the daddy longleg that we found on the bathroom curtain though that had us run out of there at 8 am the next day. This resort is tired and unkept. The Room Mgr (very politely) said, "We are an outdoor facility. You should expect bugs in the room". I was shocked! I don't want to camp out! The resort is going to undergo a room renovation but the housekeeping and grounds staff will be the same people. So I suspect it will remain largely unkept. We were offered a discount should we decide to return. No thanks. We found paradise up the road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Park Ridge
Aug 24, 2008

Front office and front desk staff

The front office and front desk staff at this hotel placed my family in a lesser room than we paid for and then lied to our faces when confronted with the facts. I would not trust anyone working at the front desk at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WTF Ryan
Business
Bismarck ND
Jul 12, 2014

Not good

Terrible location with no view, so whats the point? I will no longer be booking my vacations with ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NIckname required 101
Business
Tucson
Jan 14, 2015

Sea World Trip

Mold smell, mold in bathroom, lots of hidden cost ($35 per hotel usage + 30 per parking + 25 per upgrade??) $ 90 dollars extra of hidden cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top