$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Paradise Point Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 1404 W. Vacation Rd., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
374 reviews
Always taken care of

We love staying at Paradise Point. We are always taken care of. We stayed during Easter weekend... See full review

  • LoveInvites
  • Apr 14, 2015
Great time foe entire family

This was our third stay at Paradise Point. Feels like you are far away yet so convenient to most of... See full review

  • Danrobmom14
  • Apr 13, 2015
Private luxury in Mission Bay with putting course
Tucked away on gentle Mission Bay next door to SeaWorld, this 44-acre island resort features comfortable, California bungalow-style rooms amidst lush, tropical gardens and lagoons. Explore one mile of beach, five swimming pools, and enjoy various amenities including tennis courts, an 18-hole putting course, beach cruisers, bonfire pits, and a private marina equipped with sailboats, jet skis, and kayaks. Dine at one of two waterfront venues, then relax and refresh with a signature Balinese massage at the plush spa. Secluded yet centrally located, the resort is minutes from top attractions including Old Town, the San Diego Zoo, and Gaslamp District.
Highlights
  • Private location in the heart of Mission Bay
  • 18-hole putting course
  • Relax in the sun on a white sand beach
  • Located just minutes from Sea World
Rooms

Paradise Point Resort & Spa offers 462 rooms, including 65 bayside suites. All accommodations are bungalow-style, meaning every guest gets a private patio, typically with a garden or bay view. Decor in Paradise Point's rooms is Balinese-influenced. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, outdoor patio, MP3 docking station and an ironing board. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

Resort accommodations don't get more private or exclusive than the Paradise Point Resort & Spa. The property is situated on its own island--a 44-acre rock in the middle of Mission Bay.

Guests receive complimentary access to a number of amenities when they stay, including the private white sand beach, five pools, a state-of-the-art fitness center and an 18-hole putting green (fees apply). The resort boasts a private marina with sailboats, jet skis and kayaks for rent (fees apply). The Spa recreates a number of treatments from Hawaii, Fiji, Bali and other exotic island destinations.

Five on-site restaurants offer dozens of choices for meals. Tidal, by far the fanciest, specializes in seafood. The other three eateries, Barefoot Bar & Grill, Caveman Pizza Company and Tropics Cantina, offer casual fare in a relaxed environment. After a full day, patrons unwind with drinks while taking in coastal views at Bayside Lounge.

Transportation
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego International Airport (2 mi/3 km)
Attractions
  • Sea World (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (6 mi/11 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/11 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/11 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • More than 35,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 30 meeting and banquet rooms
  • In-house audiovisual capabilities
Policies and fees
  • Effective from 01 Nov 2014, passport to Paradise fee will be $27 USD per night
  • Effective from 01 Nov 2014, parking fee will be $35 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Paradise Point Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Paradise Point Resort and Spa Rooms

Garden Bungalow
The Garden Bungalow suite is nestled throughout the resort gardens and tropical landscaping. This One Bedroom Suite offers 1 King bedroom, 1 bath and separate living room with queen sofa sleeper. Furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television in each room, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, full wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Bungalows are approximately 650 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Standard Room
Guestroom accommodations offering two queen beds, furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Guestrooms are approximately 450 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Lanai Bayside
Just steps from one mile of sandy beach, the Lanai Bayside guestroom offers spectacular views of Mission Bay right outside your patio. Accommodations offer one King bed with queen sofa sleeper or two queen beds. Furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Guestrooms are approximately 460 square feet, connecting rooms available, bedding on request and subject to availability at check in.
Bayside Bungalow
Just steps from one mile of sandy beach, the Bayside Bungalow is located closest to the water offering spectacular views of Mission Bay. The One Bedroom Suite offers 1 King bedroom, 1 bath and separate living room with queen sofa sleeper. Furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, full wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Bungalows are approximately 650 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Lanai Garden
The Lanai Garden guestroom is nestled throughout the resort gardens and tropical landscaping. Accommodations offer one King bed with queen sofa sleeper or two queen beds. Furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Guestrooms are approximately 460 square feet, connecting rooms available, bedding on request and subject to availability at check in.
Bayside Junior Suite
Just steps from one mile of sandy beach, the Bayside Junior Suite is located closest to the water offering spectacular views of Mission Bay. This Studio Suite offers a combined sleeping and living area featuring one king bed and queen sofa sleeper, Furnishings include - dining room table and four chairs, full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television in each room, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, full wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Studio Suites are approximately 560 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Garden Junior Suite
The Garden Junior Suite is nestled throughout the resort gardens and tropical landscaping. This Studio Suite offers a combined sleeping and living area featuring one king bed and queen sofa sleeper, Furnishings include - dining room table and four chairs, full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, full wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Studio Suites are approximately 560 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Lanai Premium
The Lanai Garden Premium guestroom, approximately 460 square feet and nestled throughout the resort gardens and tropical landscaping, offers one king or two queens with a queen sofa sleeper and upgraded room features that may include wet bar, walk-in closet and/or water view. Room includes a full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television with premium channels, alarm/clock radio with MP3 input, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, Wi-Fi and high speed Internet access, and a mini-refrigerator. Connecting rooms are available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Belmont Park: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 1.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 5.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 1.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 5.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 6 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 6 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 6.1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 6.1 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 6.1 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 6.2 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 6.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 6.5 mi
  • PETCO Park: 6.7 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 8.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 12.4 mi
  • Legoland: 24.9 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.3 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,120.7 mi

Dining

Tropics Cantina
The best of Baja, without a trip across the border! Located at the Main Pool, the Tropics Cantina serves authentic fresh Mex straight from Baja California. Get a taste of Mexicos colorful culture and cuisine in the form of homemade salsa, fish tacos, cochinitas, carne asada and frosty margaritas.
Tidal
Craft and catch converge at Tidal, perched where land meets sea on the shores of Mission Bay. At the helm is Chef Amy DiBiase, curating a thoughtful selection of local seafood and craft beverages that, like the ever changing tides, shift seasonally at Mother Natures whim.
Barefoot Bar & Grill
Barefoot Bar & Grill has been a local favorite for its panoramic Mission Bay views since opening in 1962. This legendary restaurant offers a laid-back atmosphere, lineup of California craft beers, and bold, creative takes on American dishes. Eat inside or outdoors next to a tropical waterfall and sea-life lagoon.
Caveman Pizza Company
This historic cave fires up quality pies, salads and garlic knots using only the freshest homespun dough and ingredients. Available for grab and go, or enjoy free evening delivery.
Bayside Lounge
Drink in coastal views, stunning sunsets and cool cocktails at this intimate outdoor lounge. Cozy fire pits and a menu featuring savory shared plates and boutique wines beckon casual group gatherings and lively conversation, though the 180 views of Mission Bay may just leave you at a loss for words.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 374
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Go-Green
Business
Edmonton Alberta Canada
Feb 24, 2011

Nice - on the outside

In a nutshell, the place was built in 1952ish and it shows. There was some new furniture (except in the lobby), but it still shows it's age. Also, you get charged to use the gym, and for a coffee in the lobby (which was just dirty and aged), and anything else you can think of including parking. They do a poor job cleaning the rooms, and the "Barefoot" restaurant is dirty, and aged; like the rest of the place. It's very nice outside, and around the grounds, but so is all of San Diego. Pass.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 9, 2010

Not Good

This hotel was not good at all. The staff was not very friendly and they messed up my reservation. Also, the rooms didn't feel comfortable at all. It was just sticky. The bed had small hairs all over so it seemed like they did not change the linens so that made it that much worse for us. The room wasn't even that cheap to be that bad of a place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
Dec 10, 2007

What a disappointment

The location was beautiful. So were the lobby and grounds. After that it was down hill. We were given rooms that were crowded. There was no microwave and a tiny refridg. They did bring a very old microwave for a $25 charge per day. Our beds were literally on top of the one chair in the room and there was no room to walk around the two beds. The tv was so old it didn't have hook ups for the Wii we brought in case is rained. It rained the whole time we were there. Not the hotels fault but there was nothing to do. No DVD players, we brought one but the tv was too old to use with it. The paint was pealing off the walls, the tub was chipped up so bad it looked dirty and there were no amenities. The front desk didn't offer an apology for the horrible condition of the rooms. My husband and I travel all over with the government. This was the dumpiest place we've ever stayed in and it was very expensive. Our kids were very disappointed. We were heart broken. The room was depressing and it was raining so hard we couldn't go out into town. We checked out a day early and went home. I will never go there again. The restaurant was closed most of the time we were there. The pool side restaurant was not usable since it was pouring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wannagetaaway
Business
Sacramto ca
Jul 4, 2010

Getaway weekend

The stuff was very unfriendly, our room was only cleaned two outta the five nights we stayed at the hotel. The poolside stay would not walk by us so our drinks could get refilled. The the front desk was not friendly at all to us during checkin and didn't tells us any info on what places we should visit during our stay though the bell hop showed us to our room took us and a little tour of the hotel and was very nice to us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Go-Green
Business
Edmonton Alberta Canada
Feb 24, 2011

Nice - on the outside

In a nutshell, the place was built in 1952ish and it shows. There was some new furniture (except in the lobby), but it still shows it's age. Also, you get charged to use the gym, and for a coffee in the lobby (which was just dirty and aged), and anything else you can think of including parking. They do a poor job cleaning the rooms, and the "Barefoot" restaurant is dirty, and aged; like the rest of the place. It's very nice outside, and around the grounds, but so is all of San Diego. Pass.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Barry C
Business
Prescott, AZ, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Started Out Good

Our Stay started out good but began to deteriorate as the hotel room became less cleaned daily to the point where they were not even leaving coffee or clean cups. Unfourtunate because location and facilities were nice - but live in a dirty room and the whole experiance is lost

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
senison
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 4, 2013

Eh

Great location, and some fun amenities if you don't mind paying extra for literally everything. Don't worry though, they tack on a non-negotiable fee to each night of your stay for these amenities. Ugh. Parking is super expensive there as well. We were given a double bed room, and wanted a king room, which was only changed out for us with a surcharge after an hour of waiting in the original room awaiting a response from the front desk. Not awesome customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Carnitas Snack Shack

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ronlynn
Business
Denver, Colorado
Sep 15, 2013

Beautiful location but lacking.

The location was perfect-right off Mission Bay. We paid extra and got a room called the Bayside Lanai which faced the bay. They decor was nice but on closer inspection it didn't seem clean. I understand that it is an older resort which has been updated but it is the little details that make a big impression. I also got an unexpected surprise - you have to pay to park your car and you get a bill at the end for amenities which came up to over $350. I don't think it is special enough to want to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
May 31, 2009

Should not belive in their room picture

I went to San Diego with my gf .Staff acted so not friendly. WHen we check in, a girl gave us a room with two beds. I had to come back and made a change and she said it was a mistake but I know it was not. THe room does look cheap with the price 150usd. It should be 70usd. I could not get promotion from orbits to upgrade to better room.( I dont think that is a real promotion, it was just a fake one)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Griffin DINKS
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jan 10, 2010

The good and not so good!

Although we had booked this trip many weeks in advance, upon checking in we were given the second to last available room with a king size bed. The scenery at the resort was absolutely gorgeous but in no way prepares you for your room. The room is very dated and dirty during our 4 night stay. It wasn't what we had expected. We didn't spend much time at the resort because we didn't want to spend much time in our room. When comparing our room with the pricey restaurants and shops, the difference was like night and day. Be prepared, looks are deceiving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top