$205 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

Paradise Point Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 1404 W. Vacation Rd., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
353 out of 353
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Collins, CO
Feb 21, 2011

Quick weekend getaway

We went for a long weekend with the kids and were a little underwhelmed with this resort. I was surprised they wanted to charge an extra $25 for parking even though each cottage has its own parking spot. We had bungalo with a king bed and pull out sofa. The room was big but we were far from any of the pools. The weather was cool and so were the "heated pools" and hot tubs. The location is good for sea world. I would definitely recommed having a car. The fitness room is adequate but I expected more for $12 per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sun Family
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 19, 2011

Went for the Sun

Hotel staff was first class. However, there were just too many things we had to ask for. First, the room had ants. Housekeeping was very prompt and nice about responding to the call. But they sprayed something that lingered in the room for two days which made breathing uncomfortable. Two of the days we left the room for several hours and when we came back the room was still not clean even though we displayed the service card. Never did get that ice bucket we asked for. Used the internet for two days and upon checkout saw we were charge for five. All minor mistakes but they just kept adding up. Ate one time at Barefoot Bar...food was good but TOO expensive. The grounds are nice. The bay gives off an odor when low tide. Probably seasonal. If less expensive I would recommend. No reasonable breakfast for families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel was very convenient to all attractions. However, San Diego does not light its road signs and getting around was always an experience in the evening. I would recommend if you were not too interested in the hotel ammenities but looking for a place to go see the sites from.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baraboo, WI
Jun 13, 2011

hmmm....

Outside hotel looked awesome, it was like in a paradise. The lobby desk help was good and professional. The only BUT i have is towards the cleaningless of the room. When i came inside I noticed that the light in the bathroom was on - and found lots of hair on a floor. Olso my girlfriend found old cake in the fridge! I d'ont know who cleaned this room prior to my ariwal but certnly someone should check rooms after cleaning and before renting them out. Maybe it was only my room, but you never know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

if you want to have a nice coffee go to Vacation rd and turn left on Ingraham rd. Go through the bridge and 4 bloks. When you will see 2 flashing lights above the road "ped. crosing road" then your coffe is on the left hand side. It has a little parking lot at front. They also have a nice breakfast. If you go towards next trafic lights you wil see a very god smal restaurant caled "the menu" PRICE FOR MEAL IS GOOD ($8-12)GOOD LUCK

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, AZ
May 8, 2009

Nice and not so nice

We had a fantastic 3-day girls weekend and did a lot of fun things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 28, 2009

Nice resort

Resort was beautiful the accommodations were OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mission Viejo, CA
Mar 4, 2009

60's revisted

This resort at one time was proably one of the nicest- now it needs some updating, as well as somehow to maintain the ducks who use the sidewalks as a bathroom. Bathrooms need to be updated, as well as the little ponds throughout the property. Staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver CO
Feb 26, 2011

A bit exaggerated

Paradise Point Resort is nice & very close to Sea World. We enjoyed our stay and my son LOVED the little golf course. Rooms were clean and comfortable. However the comments of "Island Oasis and pristine beaches" are an exaggeration(in my opinion)! I wouldn't consider the bay area around the hotel a beach - it's not swimmable and I didn't really want to walk on it either. When we go back we'll look for true beaches such as Mission beach. I think someone put a review that Paradise Point was like Hawaii - having lived in Hawaii I can't make the comparison. I'd imagine that person has never been to Hawaii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 26, 2011

Nice Place

Nice place with beautiful grounds and a large beach. Good location, only a few minutes from all of the actives we planned. I think this place would be nice for families - five pools. The rooms are small block buildings. Not much to look at, but the interior was updated, clean and had comfortable beds, small refrigerator and a flat screen TV. They told us we had a view of a canal, but we had a view of the parking spaces. There was a back patio that overlooked a wall and if you went to the left there was the canal. We had a few water issues. None when we arrive back and the room was not cleaned (5 p.m.). They were working next door, my husband talked to the workers to find out what was going on. We had no communication for the management about our lack of water. There was no hot water in the morning. It was fixed quickly but they did not communicate with us. We just had to check it an hour later to see if we had hot water. They charge a lot for extras - parking, internet, health club and their spa prices are a bit high. We did not spend a lot of time at the resort or use may of the amenities, but for what we paid (about $100 a night plus all the fees) we were satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of nice breakfast places near by - The Eggery, The Menu, The Broken Yolk, The Mission, and Kona's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mlevy
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Aug 12, 2011

Family vacation

The hotel was very nice and location was perfect but... There is a resort fee of $15 per day for items we never used. Everything on the resort was about 30-40% more expensive than at regular stores in San Diego. The service at the hotel restaurants was very slow even though food was over priced. We ate once at the restaurants and went out of way to go to a local store to buy items for breakfast and ate off resort for everything else. The pillows were all feather pillows- even though we asked for extra firm ones they were not really firm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Californicajun
Business
New Orleans, La.
May 2, 2009

April 2009

Very nice. We went to SeaWorld, played basketball, played in the water. The ladies had pedicures done at the spa located on the resort grounds (fairly expensive.) I would have liked to have not paid $22 per night to park my rental car next to my room, it should be included in the stay price. A roll away bed was $20 a night and it barely fit in the room. One night we bought supplies to make smores (a wood bundle from the supermarket and smores supplies from the gift shop at the resort. I placed our wood in the pit on the beach near our room at sunset.....an hour or less later someone else came by, moved our stuff and lit their own fire and invited others to join them. 2 1/2 hours later they left and my kids and I made smores starting at 10 pm. Kinda rude, but the resort should make arrangements to assign a pit rather than having to place a human guard there. Overall it was nice and expensive, but I probably won't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

They do have plenty of activities to keep you busy on the grounds and close pools.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top