$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 15, 2014 Check-out: Dec 18, 2014

Red Roof Inn and Suites Herkimer

4 stars
1404 W. Vacation Rd., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
348 reviews
Great Family Vacation

My wife and I took our 6 month old here for our first family vacation and it was a great... See full review

  • San Diego Vacation Dad
  • Jul 6, 2014
Great time!

My stay was amazing for the most part. The place looks amazing and was very clean. The people for... See full review

  • Coach sean
  • Apr 23, 2014
Private luxury in Mission Bay with putting course
Paradise Point Resort & Spa is located on a private, 44-acre island in Mission Bay, minutes from Sea World and the heart of downtown San Diego. The resort features more than 450 beach bungalow-style guest rooms amid a lush tropical garden life. Other highlights of Paradise Point include one mile of white sand beach, five swimming pools, an 18-hole putting course, beach cruisers, bonfire pits and a marina with sailboats, kayaks and jet skis. Vacationers also unwind with Balinese massahes at the on-site spa. Guests can choose from three different on-site restaurants, though Baleen San Diego is by far the most sophisticated, serving fresh seafood. The property is also close to Old Town, San Diego Zoo and Gaslamp District.
Highlights
  • Private location in the heart of Mission Bay
  • 18-hole putting course
  • Relax in the sun on a white sand beach
  • Located just minutes from Sea World
Rooms

Paradise Point Resort & Spa offers 462 rooms, including 30 bayside suites. All accommodations are beach bungalows, meaning every guest gets a garden view. Decor in Paradise Point's rooms is Balinese-influenced. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, outdoor patio, MP3 docking station and an ironing board. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

Resort accommodations don't get more private or exclusive than the Paradise Point Resort & Spa. The property is situated on its own island--a 44-acre rock in the middle of Mission Bay.

Guests receive complimentary access to a number of amenities when they stay, including the private white sand beach, five pools, a state-of-the-art fitness center and an 18-hole putting green. The resort boasts a private marina with sailboats, jet skis and kayaks for rent (fees apply). The Spa recreates a number of treatments from the Far East.

Three on-site restaurants offer dozens of choices for meals. Tidal, by far the fanciest, specializes in seafood. The other two eateries, Barefoot Bar & Grill and Tropics Cantina, offer casual fare in a relaxed environment. After a full day, patrons unwind with drinks while taking in coastal views at Bayside Lounge.

Transportation
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego International Airport (2 mi/3 km)
Attractions
  • Sea World (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (6 mi/11 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/11 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/11 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • More than 35,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 32 meeting and banquet rooms
  • In-house audiovisual capabilities
Policies and fees
  • Effective from 01 Nov 2014, passport to Paradise fee will be $27 USD per night
  • Effective from 01 Nov 2014, parking fee will be $35 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.775 -117.2401
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
Drink in coastal views, stunning sunsets and cool cocktails at this intimate outdoor lounge. Cozy fire pits and a menu featuring savory shared plates and boutique wines beckon casual group gatherings and lively conversation, though the 180 views of Mission Bay may just leave you at a loss for words.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Inn and Suites Herkimer also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Red Roof Inn and Suites Herkimer Rooms

Garden Bungalow
The Garden Bungalow suite is nestled throughout the resort gardens and tropical landscaping. This One Bedroom Suite offers 1 King bedroom, 1 bath and separate living room with queen sofa sleeper. Furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television in each room, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, full wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Bungalows are approximately 650 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Standard Room
Guestroom accommodations offering two queen beds, furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Guestrooms are approximately 450 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Lanai Bayside
Just steps from one mile of sandy beach, the Lanai Bayside guestroom offers spectacular views of Mission Bay right outside your patio. Accommodations offer one King bed with queen sofa sleeper or two queen beds. Furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Guestrooms are approximately 460 square feet, connecting rooms available, bedding on request and subject to availability at check in.
Bayside Bungalow
Just steps from one mile of sandy beach, the Bayside Bungalow is located closest to the water offering spectacular views of Mission Bay. The One Bedroom Suite offers 1 King bedroom, 1 bath and separate living room with queen sofa sleeper. Furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, full wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Bungalows are approximately 650 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Lanai Garden
The Lanai Garden guestroom is nestled throughout the resort gardens and tropical landscaping. Accommodations offer one King bed with queen sofa sleeper or two queen beds. Furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Guestrooms are approximately 460 square feet, connecting rooms available, bedding on request and subject to availability at check in.
Bayside Junior Suite
Just steps from one mile of sandy beach, the Bayside Junior Suite is located closest to the water offering spectacular views of Mission Bay. This Studio Suite offers a combined sleeping and living area featuring one king bed and queen sofa sleeper, Furnishings include - dining room table and four chairs, full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television in each room, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, full wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Studio Suites are approximately 560 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Garden Junior Suite
The Garden Junior Suite is nestled throughout the resort gardens and tropical landscaping. This Studio Suite offers a combined sleeping and living area featuring one king bed and queen sofa sleeper, Furnishings include - dining room table and four chairs, full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, full wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Studio Suites are approximately 560 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Lanai Premium
The Lanai Garden Premium guestroom, approximately 460 square feet and nestled throughout the resort gardens and tropical landscaping, offers one king or two queens with a queen sofa sleeper and upgraded room features that may include wet bar, walk-in closet and/or water view. Room includes a full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television with premium channels, alarm/clock radio with MP3 input, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, Wi-Fi and high speed Internet access, and a mini-refrigerator. Connecting rooms are available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Belmont Park: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 1.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 5.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 1.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 5.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 6 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 6 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 6.1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 6.1 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 6.1 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 6.2 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 6.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 6.5 mi
  • PETCO Park: 6.7 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 8.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 12.4 mi
  • Legoland: 24.9 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.3 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,120.7 mi

Dining

Tropics Cantina
The best of Baja, without a trip across the border! Located at the Main Pool, the Tropics Cantina serves authentic fresh Mex straight from Baja California. Get a taste of Mexicos colorful culture and cuisine in the form of homemade salsa, fish tacos, cochinitas, carne asada and frosty margaritas.
Tidal
Craft and catch converge at Tidal, perched where land meets sea on the shores of Mission Bay. At the helm is Chef Amy DiBiase, curating a thoughtful selection of local seafood and craft beverages that, like the ever changing tides, shift seasonally at Mother Natures whim.
Barefoot Bar & Grill
Barefoot Bar & Grill has been a local favorite for its panoramic Mission Bay views since opening in 1962. This legendary restaurant offers a laid-back atmosphere, lineup of California craft beers, and bold, creative takes on American dishes. Eat inside or outdoors next to a tropical waterfall and sea-life lagoon.
Caveman Pizza Company
This historic cave fires up quality pies, salads and garlic knots using only the freshest homespun dough and ingredients. Available for grab and go, or enjoy free evening delivery.
Bayside Lounge
Drink in coastal views, stunning sunsets and cool cocktails at this intimate outdoor lounge. Cozy fire pits and a menu featuring savory shared plates and boutique wines beckon casual group gatherings and lively conversation, though the 180 views of Mission Bay may just leave you at a loss for words.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (348)

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn and Suites Herkimer

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
348 out of 348
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn and Suites Herkimer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Italian Girl 65
Business
Berrien Springs, MI
Apr 7, 2013

Family getaway

The grounds of this resort are outstanding. However, it is away from a lot of the things to do in San Diego. You must take a taxi cab everywhere you go ( approximately $25+ to downtown, one way). If you want to stay at the resort and swim, this is a great place. The rooms were average, at best. There is basically only two restaurants on site which are very expensive..........$75 - $100 for breakfast with a limited menu for a family of four at Barefoot Grill. Baleen restaurant even more pricey and not open for breakfast. You will have to pay for all the amenities on site. ( i.e. $36 for four to play putt-putt golf ). Putt putt course is a natural grass course, so very difficult for young kids to play. Grounds are very well maintained and beautiful. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Would not stay at this resort again as most of the things to see and do in San Diego are closer to downtown. Pay more to stay at a hotel downtown and save on the taxi fares and food costs. Overall, a 5 out of 10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Bring your own food or eat off resort. Prices way to high at resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn and Suites Herkimer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Asama
Business
Salt lake, utah
Apr 28, 2013

Wonderful

Yes really wonderful place to spent some times there, enjoined your Holliday.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn and Suites Herkimer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bafw
Business
San Diego, California
Jul 19, 2013

Honeymoon trip

This hotel has a fabulous location, very pretty and relaxing. I do however want to share that there are some hidden fees that I was not aware of and thankful I brought extra money. They charge 35 dollars a night for parking which is ridiculous , but when booking with the online agency, it is not mentioned or displayed that you will have to pay over 150 dollars extra for parking. The restaurants have a excellent food with friendly staff , but the price is expensive . Our room was pretty but needs to be maintained . Our shower had a leak that drained all over the floor and made it like a mini pool in there. There was stains on the couch as well in the room that made it look gross and unclean. The curtains had mold on them which was kinda gross. If I did not receive a discount with the online agency to book this hotel, I would not pay 350 dollars a night for this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn and Suites Herkimer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Friends wedding
Business
Wisconsin
Sep 20, 2013

Needs some updating

The location was wonderful and beach and the bars were wonderful. However the standard rooms that we stayed in were in some need of some updating. The bathroom is tiny, the room smelt a little musty. Wife had to get some dryer sheets to make the room smell better. Looks like in the bathroom there was some water damage in the bathroom b/c they have the wrong shower curtain rod in the shower so water would leak down the side of the tub and get the drywall wet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn and Suites Herkimer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cmjw
Business
Ireland
Sep 25, 2013

cockroaches with eyelashes

We booked paradise point for 2 nights. When we arrived at reception for check in we were hoping for a smooth check in arrival which we recieved although we had to pay passport fee (resort fee) which was $17 a night and also $35 a night for parking. We had a sinister comment from girl on reception about recieving our security deposit back of $100 if all went well we would recieve back. We got to our room to find someones fake eyelashes on the locker in between the 2 double beds. I called the manager to make him aware so he offered to refund the resort fee and the parking fee. Manager was friendly and was glad to help. On our final day we had cockroaches. All in all nice spot for family vacation wouldnt call it paradise for a young couple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn and Suites Herkimer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VanesaRosaCorrea
Business
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Oct 14, 2013

Overrated 4 star hotel

The hotel charges a $32 parking fee and $24 resort fee which I think it's just ridiculous. What am I supposed to do with my car? Put it in my pocket? The resort fee covers the use of the fitness center, internet, and other activities but shouldn't that be included in the room rate. I felt scammed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn and Suites Herkimer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Coli
Business
Bay Area
Oct 22, 2013

Paradise PT.

the overall experience was pleasant. I would have liked the option of opting out of the daily "passbook" fee as the services were not need. The facility is well placed and tropical the grounds well kept. My true complaint would be that our room was not cleaned daily. The beds were made Period. The sink and tub, mirror, not cleaned. A tissue my husband used was balled up and left atop the made bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn and Suites Herkimer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sun Family
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 19, 2011

Went for the Sun

Hotel staff was first class. However, there were just too many things we had to ask for. First, the room had ants. Housekeeping was very prompt and nice about responding to the call. But they sprayed something that lingered in the room for two days which made breathing uncomfortable. Two of the days we left the room for several hours and when we came back the room was still not clean even though we displayed the service card. Never did get that ice bucket we asked for. Used the internet for two days and upon checkout saw we were charge for five. All minor mistakes but they just kept adding up. Ate one time at Barefoot Bar...food was good but TOO expensive. The grounds are nice. The bay gives off an odor when low tide. Probably seasonal. If less expensive I would recommend. No reasonable breakfast for families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel was very convenient to all attractions. However, San Diego does not light its road signs and getting around was always an experience in the evening. I would recommend if you were not too interested in the hotel ammenities but looking for a place to go see the sites from.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn and Suites Herkimer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Jan 25, 2011

Adequate, not outstanding.

"Resort" is on a small beach on Mission Bay (not large) it is not on the Pacific Ocean. Adequate rooms, probably more to do than I engaged in (putt putt, spa, one restaurant) but overall, I would have preferred in hindsight to stay closer to downtown. Drive was about 15 minutes in traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn and Suites Herkimer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa, OK
Jan 17, 2011

Pictures are much better than real life

It was expensive. Parking and fitness center should be free. The birds swarming the breakfast tables was a bit much. Bathroom sink was cracked, bathroom and room was marginal for a 4-5 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top