$195 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 28, 2015 Check-out: Jun 30, 2015

Paradise Point Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 1404 W. Vacation Rd., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
374 out of 374
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 9, 2010

Not Good

This hotel was not good at all. The staff was not very friendly and they messed up my reservation. Also, the rooms didn't feel comfortable at all. It was just sticky. The bed had small hairs all over so it seemed like they did not change the linens so that made it that much worse for us. The room wasn't even that cheap to be that bad of a place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
Dec 10, 2007

What a disappointment

The location was beautiful. So were the lobby and grounds. After that it was down hill. We were given rooms that were crowded. There was no microwave and a tiny refridg. They did bring a very old microwave for a $25 charge per day. Our beds were literally on top of the one chair in the room and there was no room to walk around the two beds. The tv was so old it didn't have hook ups for the Wii we brought in case is rained. It rained the whole time we were there. Not the hotels fault but there was nothing to do. No DVD players, we brought one but the tv was too old to use with it. The paint was pealing off the walls, the tub was chipped up so bad it looked dirty and there were no amenities. The front desk didn't offer an apology for the horrible condition of the rooms. My husband and I travel all over with the government. This was the dumpiest place we've ever stayed in and it was very expensive. Our kids were very disappointed. We were heart broken. The room was depressing and it was raining so hard we couldn't go out into town. We checked out a day early and went home. I will never go there again. The restaurant was closed most of the time we were there. The pool side restaurant was not usable since it was pouring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RSM Traveller
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 9, 2009

Go to Paradise if you want to Camp Out

Admittedly, I saw this property on TLC's Jon & Kate. Given Kate's penchant for clean, I had high expectations. The overpowering amonia smell as we entered the lobby to register was our first clue that something was off. The first room we were showed had a bathroom that had been updated but it was dirty and the decor - which they call distressed - looked like it came from Walton's mountain. The entertainment cabinet (no flat screen tv just an old 36" thing) had no doors just the hooks for them, the walls are painted an alarming yellow and hand prints/scuff marks/food products are everywhere. The room was located directly in front of the primary pool which made it noisy and lots of foot traffic passing by the plate glass sliding door. The second room was bigger, in a better location for privacy but it was grossly neglected. There was a stray cat nested next to the concrete slab/front entrance. We wore socks around to keep our feet off the floor and put a towel in the bathtub when taking a shower just so we did not come into contact with what was a deeply stained tub. If you are used to coffee makers in the room as we are at this point ... no such amenity in Paradise! You have to schlep to an outdoor pavillion and cart it back to your room. The black on our socks after just one day convinced us we couldn't stay there. Even my 10 year old son said he was uncomfortable. It was the daddy longleg that we found on the bathroom curtain though that had us run out of there at 8 am the next day. This resort is tired and unkept. The Room Mgr (very politely) said, "We are an outdoor facility. You should expect bugs in the room". I was shocked! I don't want to camp out! The resort is going to undergo a room renovation but the housekeeping and grounds staff will be the same people. So I suspect it will remain largely unkept. We were offered a discount should we decide to return. No thanks. We found paradise up the road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wannagetaaway
Business
Sacramto ca
Jul 4, 2010

Getaway weekend

The stuff was very unfriendly, our room was only cleaned two outta the five nights we stayed at the hotel. The poolside stay would not walk by us so our drinks could get refilled. The the front desk was not friendly at all to us during checkin and didn't tells us any info on what places we should visit during our stay though the bell hop showed us to our room took us and a little tour of the hotel and was very nice to us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WTF Ryan
Business
Bismarck ND
Jul 12, 2014

Not good

Terrible location with no view, so whats the point? I will no longer be booking my vacations with ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NIckname required 101
Business
Tucson
Jan 14, 2015

Sea World Trip

Mold smell, mold in bathroom, lots of hidden cost ($35 per hotel usage + 30 per parking + 25 per upgrade??) $ 90 dollars extra of hidden cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Go-Green
Business
Edmonton Alberta Canada
Feb 24, 2011

Nice - on the outside

In a nutshell, the place was built in 1952ish and it shows. There was some new furniture (except in the lobby), but it still shows it's age. Also, you get charged to use the gym, and for a coffee in the lobby (which was just dirty and aged), and anything else you can think of including parking. They do a poor job cleaning the rooms, and the "Barefoot" restaurant is dirty, and aged; like the rest of the place. It's very nice outside, and around the grounds, but so is all of San Diego. Pass.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
loo-loo
Business
wales,uk
Oct 25, 2010

poor location,poor food,poorly lit....

the location of this hotel left a lot to be desired,its not within walking distance of any quality bars/restaurants, and if you do stay within paradise point the food is a tad expensive and very poor quality, its also very unlit in the evening,so beware, yes the pool stays open as does the hot tub with absolutely no lighting at all!! .....left a day early and was not even asked how the stay was or offered a refund.....will not be returning !!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

beach

Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Glog
Business
California
Apr 28, 2014

Leaves a bit to desire

Hotel needs a makeover. It was a bit run down and funky. Did not supply us with bathrobes like it was supposed to. Found ants in the room. all in all it was a lovely location but otherwise needed some major updating. No amenities were free. Nickle and dimed you constantly for any of their amenities like bike riding,miniature golf, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sioux Falls, SD
Jun 9, 2011

Great setting, disappointing service

The setting was beautiful. Rooms were charming, but customer service was horrible. We wasted most of our first day waiting for our room to become available. We finally got in our room over an hour AFTER check-in time. Our room was not cleaned one day. And...they overcharged me $75 when I checked out. Make sure you go over your charges with a fine-toothed comb...I hear that is common practice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top