$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Paradise Point Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 1404 W. Vacation Rd., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
374 out of 374
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 28, 2009

Nice resort

Resort was beautiful the accommodations were OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mission Viejo, CA
Mar 4, 2009

60's revisted

This resort at one time was proably one of the nicest- now it needs some updating, as well as somehow to maintain the ducks who use the sidewalks as a bathroom. Bathrooms need to be updated, as well as the little ponds throughout the property. Staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andy...needing a vacation from vacation
Business
Mesa, AZ
Jun 8, 2009

Nice Grounds, basic room, very basic

The hotel location was great, the room we stayed in (and another family) were very basic with older furnishings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Very close to Sea World and the beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
One TIred Mom
Business
Orange County...
Jun 15, 2009

A place for a birthday party

We came to celebrate for my son's 9th bday and he brought 3 friends. The grounds are a wonderful backdrop for a boys imagination and exploring. They had a great time catching crabs on the rocks next to Barefoot, swimming at the large pool, watching the movie at night, roasting Smores over the fire pit, practicing their putting on the putting course, playing some soccer on the greens and just having a great time. I will say the rooms were something to be desired. They definitely need upgrading and ours smelled. The floor boards were rotting and the bathroom needed attention. However the service was above average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

bring your own putting green and balls so you can play and not pay. Bring firewood and grab fixing at the store so you can build your own fire in one of the pits on the beach - great for cooking hotdogs & smores - great for families!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Leesburg, VA
Apr 22, 2009

Nice Vacation

Hotel surroundings were very pretty, but the room was not particularly nice, and there was a lot of noise coming from behind the room. Also, the in-room tv movie system did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver CO
Feb 26, 2011

A bit exaggerated

Paradise Point Resort is nice & very close to Sea World. We enjoyed our stay and my son LOVED the little golf course. Rooms were clean and comfortable. However the comments of "Island Oasis and pristine beaches" are an exaggeration(in my opinion)! I wouldn't consider the bay area around the hotel a beach - it's not swimmable and I didn't really want to walk on it either. When we go back we'll look for true beaches such as Mission beach. I think someone put a review that Paradise Point was like Hawaii - having lived in Hawaii I can't make the comparison. I'd imagine that person has never been to Hawaii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jul 9, 2007

family friendly

The Paradise Hotel is a lovely setting and the rooms were large and well arranged. The lobby and grounds are nicer than the rooms. Cleanliness was marginal. The ammenities are all available, but every single one comes at a preminum extra fee. Front desk staff was very helpful and knowlegable. Overall an adequate choice but I would probably not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

All the standard family attractions nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
May 13, 2011

Nice location.

On the plus side, the grounds are beautiful. The service staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. My appointment in the spa was the best I've experienced. On the minus side, they charged you for everything. They added on a manditory 20% gratuity for the spa visit. For TV it was $5-6 per show, $12-19 for a movie. Extra charges each day to use the fitness center and other amenities. The food in the bar was okay. There were ants in my room that devoured the midnight snack I left on the counter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle
May 4, 2011

Pricey!

The hotel was fine and the staff was very nice but the prices for incedentals and meals was outrageous. I have traveled for years and don't mind paying a fare price for things but this hotel can be compared in price for food etc... to the high end hotels in Vegas back in the early 2000's. A basic manicure was $45(3 x's the price I pay at home, a standard breakfast was $20. I stayed here because I was traveling alone and I thought it would be safe, and it was just a little too pricey for what I got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
be prepaired to shell out more money
Business
thousand oaks ca.
Sep 20, 2009

nickle and dimed you

charge for parking$25.00,charge to use gym,no coffee pots in room, had to go to pool to get ice.Front desk people were nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top