$195 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Paradise Point Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 1404 W. Vacation Rd., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
338 out of 338
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Grandma B
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Jul 23, 2009

Don't judge a book by it's cover

Spending time with our grand daughter was the best but the hotel staff while courtious could care less if you where told one thing and they delivered another. They changed our room for an interior room, did not supply coffee pots as stated on web site, public restrooms where not open, the rooms need updating and they also charge to park your car overnight which was also not disclosed upfront. We usually stay at the Hilton but they where booked so we tried this place. Would not go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Sea World is just up the road (about a 15 min walk) and the hotel can tell you about some GREAT discount information!

Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tacoma, WA
Feb 7, 2011

The good and the bad

The location of this resort was great - very close to Sea World and the Zoo, 1.5 hours away to Disneyland. The hotel itself was.......okay. Parking was expensive, $25 per day (that charge wasn't mentioned when we made reservations). We ordered a studio suite with a kitchen, only there was nothing in the kitchen - no utensils of any type, no dish soap, papertowels, etc. It did have a coffee pot, micro, and small refridgerator, but unless you bought utensils, there wasn't much you could prepare for yourself - which is probably their intent since there are two restaurants on location - one medium priced, the other expensive (as in $35+ per person). Our coffee pot did not work, the freezer in the fridge froze everything (water, apples, carrots, soda) even though we turned it down as low as it would go, and the heater in the room didn't work correctly. We had to keep getting up during the night to turn it down or up - there was no inbetween or anyway to set it at a temperature that it would keep. Also, while it appeared clean, our white socks didn't stay white for long while walking on the floors in the room. All in all, if we got a good deal and we were looking for someplace central in SD, we'd maybe think about going back, but this isn't a place where we would make it a point to visit again for the facility itself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
jrodmail[@]
Jun 18, 2009

Good, bad and really ugly.

They charged $22 per day to park car and $10 per day for 24 hour internet connection. First day there, no towels in room, called and they delivered bath towels, no wash cloths or face towels. Long wait at front desk, only 2 persons staffing it with 6 available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Frederick
Aug 26, 2008

My review of Paradise Point Resort & Spa

The breakfast served at the outdoor restaurant was outstanding. The take-out food we ordered on the second evening (wings, shrimp, burger) was not of great quality. The burger was too rare (asked for medium) and the wings were too heavily coated with sauce.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Next to Sea World

Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chino Valley, AZ
May 1, 2011

Nice resort but the price sucked

The hotel was pretty and clean and in a great location.It would be a great vacation spot if you have kids,but not really that great for a couples get away.It was right next to the beach so u did not have to drive everywhere to get to them so that was nice.We did not have hot water for almost a whole day which really sucked. They have a lot of activities to do there but they charge u to do any of it and then on top of those prices you get charge a daily fee for all that including the internet rather you use them or not. Over all i would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corona, CA
Jul 17, 2008

Nice employees, Poor value

This was a very nice resort. It had a lot to offer however, there were several added expenses that surprised us. There was a $22 a night parking fee, a $12 fee for the use of the exercise room, a $10 fee to use a putting green and so forth. The room was nice and there were several pools. The grounds were well kept and the employees friendly.But it was those added fees that kept popping up that hampered our overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Sea World and the beach are close. Old Town San Diego is a short drive up the freeway.

Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston Texas
Oct 26, 2009

SO SO!

I liked the location.. That's about it! The room had a musky smell to it that slapped you in the face when you entered. They were outdated and needed a renovation badly.That must be why they collect a $25 per day parking fee for an empty lot. I should of booked the car at the motel 6 down the street and saved a few bucks. Not to mention an extra fee ($12/day) for using the workout facilities. If comparing this hotel to another don't forget to add $25 per night for your car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 13, 2007

a little disappointed

The room was very musty. The carpet was damp from the AC running, and the room smelled. Not real impressed. We saw two skunks outside on two separate occasions. One was right next to our sliding glass doors. My kids were frightened. I told the staff and they didn't seem too concerned. Probably wouldn't stay there again for the price they charge and the $20 extra per night for parking. What a joke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Seaworld next door.

Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JERRY AND DEBBIE
Business
PALM SPRINGS CA
Sep 24, 2009

HIDDEN FEES, NOT FAIR

WE ARE EXPERIENCED TRAVELERS AND HAVE TRAVELLED TO ASIA, EUROPE, AND SOUTH AMERICA. OUR COMMENTS ARE THUS: THE RESORT WAS ILL SMELLING AND FOUL UPON ENTRY TO THE ROOM. WE THOUGHT SOMEONE HAD DIED IN THE ROOM AND THE DECAYING BODY WHISKED AWAY MINUTES BEFORE WE ARRIVED. HOUSEKEEPING WAS NOT UP TO PAR. FLOORS WERE NOT MOPPED. CONCIERGE SERVICE WAS EXCELLENT BUT THE RESTAURANTS BAREFOOT AND BALEEN CUISINE WE DECIDED WAS JUST FAIR AND DID NOT RATE THE PRICES. BUT THERE WERE HIDDEN FEES AT TIME OF CHECKOUT. $75.00 FOR PARKING THAT NEITHER ORBITZ NOR THE RESORT HAD ADVISED US OF. WE COULD AFFORD IT FORTUNATELY, BUT HOW ABOUT THE YOUNG FAMILIES ON A TIGHT BUDGET IN THESE ECONOMIC TIMES? WE FELT CHEATED AND USED. AND ORBITZ, WE WOULD LIKE A REFUND OF OUR $75.00 SINCE THIS WAS NOT INCLUDED IN YOUR QUOTE. WE ARE PLANNING A TRIP TO SPAIN NEXT SUMMER, BUT WE ARE SERIOUSLY RETHINKING USING ORBITZ, EVEN FOR SMALL GET AWAY TRIPS LIKE THIS PAST ONE TO SAN DIEGO CA. YOU GUYS REALLY LET US DOWN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

HIDDEN PARKING FEES. OUCH!!!!

Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
VJMed12
Business
Austin, Texas
Sep 24, 2009

The best, the worst, and wish list

My wife & I took this trip to celebrate our 12th wedding anniversary. As part of our reservation I asked that a tray of chocolate covered strawberries & some chilled wine be waiting in our room upon our arrival, but the surprise didn't happen as they were not in our room when we arrived. We found that the bathtubs were way too small for a romantic get away, and that the bungalow we were given did not have the sandy beach as described in the website. Instead we had large, jagged rocks along our side of the bay. Also, we purchased the s'more kit, but we did not have a fire pit in front of our room (as a result of the rocks)so we had to access the pit closest to our area which was in the darkest part of the park and the closest sitting area was a concrete picnic table which was way too far from the fire pit, so we had to stand up the entire time. We were a bit concerned because there were a couple of cars parked in the parking lot adjacent to this dark area of the park & a car alarm went off -not sure if someone was breaking into a car or what. We eventually chose to put out the fire because the experience ended up being too uncomfortable for us. We learned that the beach is actually a public beach so there were alot of locals accessing the pits around the sandy areas of the bay, many of which consisted of large, rowdy parties. In addition, during the day & up until early evening, there were boat races (special event) taking place in the area which made the location way too noisy for those wishing to have some peace & quiet. We ordered room service twice, but the food arrived cold, and missing breakfast condiments. The pizza was overpowered with garlic as was the spinach dip. The small kitchenette did not have a coffee pot nor any cups, glasses, plates or utinsels for our use so we had to purchase plastic ware for breakfast & snacks for the remainder of our stay. Everything that would have made the experience better was available-- for purchase (bathrobes, blankets, snacks, water etc.)& not at a reasonable price! It's cold in the evenings so the hotel should invest in some throw blankets for each room as well as some folding lawn furniture that can be moved closer to the pits so that guests can sit outside in the evenings & enjoy both the view & the evening. I purchased a balenese couple's massage & some alone time in the spa jacuzzi for us which was a nice experience. We were served champagne during our time in the jacuzzi & for those who are more daring, clothing was optional. I also arranged to have our bed turn down for the evening on the day of our massage which consisted of bath items from spa being placed on our bed (massage oil, a CD of the music which played in the spa's relaxation room, and a fizz bath ball, along with a live hibiscus flower). A nice touch, except the linens were supposed to have been lightly scented as part of the purchase, but they weren't. All of the rooms provide the same toiletries used by the jacuzzi which was also a nice plus. Although we received maid service during our stay we found that the carpet left our feet dark black when we walked around barefoot so I'm not sure how clean the room was. We usually travel to the Mexican carribean for our anniversaries, but this time, due to weather conditions, we opted to stay in the united states. Perhaps next time, we will consider going to the Mexican Carribean again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Baleen Restaurant on site was wonderful. It's a bit pricey, but our meal was delectable, the wine list stupendous, and the view amazing. Our servers were friendly and the restaurant took care of our dessert after learning that we were celebrating our anniversary. Very much worth the price & great for those special celebrations. We also went to Old Town & had authentic Mexican food & margaritas there. Best to rent a car as Old Town is about 10 minutes away.

Back to menu Return to top