$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Paradise Point Resort and Spa

4 stars
1404 W. Vacation Rd., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
347 reviews
Great Family Vacation

My wife and I took our 6 month old here for our first family vacation and it was a great... See full review

  • San Diego Vacation Dad
  • Jul 6, 2014
Great time!

My stay was amazing for the most part. The place looks amazing and was very clean. The people for... See full review

  • Coach sean
  • Apr 23, 2014
Private luxury in Mission Bay with putting course
Paradise Point Resort & Spa is located on a private, 44-acre island in Mission Bay, minutes from Sea World and the heart of downtown San Diego. The resort features more than 450 beach bungalow-style guest rooms amid a lush tropical garden life. Other highlights of Paradise Point include a white sand beach, five swimming pools, an on-site spa, an 18-hole putting course and a marina with boat rentals. Guests can choose from three different on-site restaurants, though Baleen San Diego is by far the most sophisticated, serving fresh seafood.
Highlights
  • Private location in the heart of Mission Bay
  • 18-hole putting course
  • Relax in the sun on a white sand beach
  • Located just minutes from Sea World
Rooms

Paradise Point Resort & Spa offers 462 rooms, including 30 bayside suites. All accommodations are beach bungalows, meaning every guest gets a garden view. Decor in Paradise Point's rooms is Balinese-influenced. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, outdoor patio, MP3 docking station and an ironing board. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

Resort accommodations don't get more private or exclusive than the Paradise Point Resort & Spa. The property is situated on its own island--a 44-acre rock in the middle of Mission Bay.

Guests receive complimentary access to a number of amenities when they stay, including the private white sand beach, five pools, a state-of-the-art fitness center and an 18-hole putting green. The resort boasts a private marina with boats for rent (fees apply). The Spa recreates a number of treatments from the Far East.

Three on-site restaurants offer dozens of choices for meals. Baleen San Diego, by far the fanciest, specializes in seafood. The other two eateries, Barefoot Bar & Grill and Tropics Bar & Grill, offer casual fare in a relaxed environment.

The nearby Caveman Pizza Company offers quality pies, salads and garlic knots using fresh homespun dough and ingredients. Available for grab and go, or enjoy free evening delivery.


Transportation
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego International Airport (2 mi/3 km)
Attractions
  • Sea World (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (6 mi/11 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/11 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/11 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • More than 35,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 32 meeting and banquet rooms
  • In-house audiovisual capabilities
Policies and fees
  • Passport to Paradise fee is $24 USD per room per night
  • Parking fee is $34 USD per room per night

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.775 -117.2401
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located on Mission Bay. Paradise Point Resort & Spa is an island oasis of blue skies, pristine beaches and lush gardens. Located across the street from Sea World Park, Paradise Point is ideally located on Mission Bay, the heart of San Diego.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Paradise Point Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Paradise Point Resort and Spa Rooms

Garden Bungalow
The Garden Bungalow suite is nestled throughout the resort gardens and tropical landscaping. This One Bedroom Suite offers 1 King bedroom, 1 bath and separate living room with queen sofa sleeper. Furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television in each room with On Command movies, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, full wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Bungalows are approximately 650 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Lanai Patio
Guestroom accommodations offering two queen beds, furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television with On Command movies, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Guestrooms are approximately 450 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Lanai Bayside
Just steps from one mile of sandy beach, the Lanai Bayside guestroom offers spectacular views of Mission Bay right outside your patio. Accommodations offer one King bed with queen sofa sleeper or two queen beds. Furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television with On Command movies, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Guestrooms are approximately 460 square feet, connecting rooms available, bedding on request and subject to availability at check in.
Bayside Bungalow
Just steps from one mile of sandy beach, the Bayside Bungalow is located closest to the water offering spectacular views of Mission Bay. The One Bedroom Suite offers 1 King bedroom, 1 bath and separate living room with queen sofa sleeper. Furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television in each room with On Command movies, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, full wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Bungalows are approximately 650 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Lanai Garden
The Lanai Garden guestroom is nestled throughout the resort gardens and tropical landscaping. Accommodations offer one King bed with queen sofa sleeper or two queen beds. Furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television with On Command movies, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Guestrooms are approximately 460 square feet, connecting rooms available, bedding on request and subject to availability at check in.
Bayside Junior Suite
Just steps from one mile of sandy beach, the Bayside Junior Suite is located closest to the water offering spectacular views of Mission Bay. This Studio Suite offers a combined sleeping and living area featuring one king bed and queen sofa sleeper, Furnishings include - dining room table and four chairs, full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television in each room with On Command movies, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, full wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Studio Suites are approximately 560 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Garden Junior Suite
The Garden Junior Suite is nestled throughout the resort gardens and tropical landscaping. This Studio Suite offers a combined sleeping and living area featuring one king bed and queen sofa sleeper, Furnishings include - dining room table and four chairs, full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television in each room with On Command movies, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, full wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Studio Suites are approximately 560 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Lanai Premium
The Lanai Garden Premium guestroom, approximately 460 square feet and nestled throughout the resort gardens and tropical landscaping, offers one king or two queens with a queen sofa sleeper and upgraded room features that may include wet bar, walk-in closet and/or water view. Room includes a full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television with premium channels, alarm/clock radio with MP3 input, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, Wi-Fi and high speed Internet access, and a mini-refrigerator. Connecting rooms are available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Belmont Park: 0.8 mi
  • Sea World: 1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 1.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 0.8 mi
  • Sea World: 1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 1.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 5.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 6 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 6 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 6.1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 6.1 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 6.1 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 6.2 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 6.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 6.5 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 6.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 6.7 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 8.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 12.4 mi
  • Legoland: 24.9 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.3 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,120.7 mi

Dining

Tropics Pool Bar
TROPICS BAR & GRILL Grab a bite by the pool. In the summer months, enjoy a juicy burger or cheesy quesadilla at Tropics Bar & Grill, our casual poolside eatery. Serving up everyone's favorite summer treats including hot dogs and Caesar salads, Tropics is the perfect place to refuel before diving back into one of the five sparkling pools at your disposal. Open Memorial Day through Labor Day.
Baleen
Baleen San Diego restaurant: Serious food with a whimsical mood. What's the point in enjoying fine food if you can't have a little fun while you're at it? Our signature restaurant, Baleen, invites both your palate and your sense of adventure to a waterfront dining experience like no other. Here, land and sea cuisine are artfully infused with San Diego regional flavors to create savory delights, such as our Grilled Mahi-Mahi Filet. Dine waterside and enjoy views almost as spectacular as your meal. Restaurant Hours Dinner: Sun thru Thu, 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm Fri & Sat, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Barefoot Bar & Grill
Barefoot Bar & Grill: A lively mix of sun, sandals, and sandwiches. A day at the beach wouldn't be complete without a visit to Paradise Point's Barefoot Bar & Grill restaurant, an island-inspired casual dining experience featuring panoramic views of San Diego's Mission Bay. Famous for its seasonal live music and dancing, Barefoot Bar & Grill restaurant serves up sandwiches, salads and other pub favorites while the tropical drinks come complete with umbrellas-making it a festive destination after a day in paradise. Restaurant Hours Breakfast: Daily, 7:00 am - 11:00 am Lunch & Dinner: Daily, 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Caveman Pizza Company
This historic cave fires up quality pies, salads and garlic knots using only the freshest homespun dough and ingredients. Available for grab and go, or enjoy free evening delivery.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (347)

Ratings and reviews for Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
347 out of 347
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
roberta merker
scottsdale arizona
Oct 8, 2013

vacation

great time very centrally located Room was very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

service for breakfast in doors was very poor

Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
fzzarf220
New Jersey
Oct 7, 2013

Skip this resort

My biggest problem with this hotel were all the fees they charged: $24/day for Wifi as part of their Resort Passport plan $32/day for parking $20/day for microwave, if you need one There were other charges but it was complete nonsense. I had to fight the staff to get most of these charges either waved or reduced. It was a complete joke. They nick and dime you so badly, I am not coming back I still need to give them a call, which they will not return, on some expenses that I was told were waived but appeard on my bill. I spoke to them a the desk, I called and left a message...still nothing The staff was overall nice and professional. The location was great, right near the beach. Very dissatissfied with this hotel and I would strongly recommend avoiding them at all cost

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cmjw
Ireland
Sep 25, 2013

cockroaches with eyelashes

We booked paradise point for 2 nights. When we arrived at reception for check in we were hoping for a smooth check in arrival which we recieved although we had to pay passport fee (resort fee) which was $17 a night and also $35 a night for parking. We had a sinister comment from girl on reception about recieving our security deposit back of $100 if all went well we would recieve back. We got to our room to find someones fake eyelashes on the locker in between the 2 double beds. I called the manager to make him aware so he offered to refund the resort fee and the parking fee. Manager was friendly and was glad to help. On our final day we had cockroaches. All in all nice spot for family vacation wouldnt call it paradise for a young couple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Friends wedding
Wisconsin
Sep 20, 2013

Needs some updating

The location was wonderful and beach and the bars were wonderful. However the standard rooms that we stayed in were in some need of some updating. The bathroom is tiny, the room smelt a little musty. Wife had to get some dryer sheets to make the room smell better. Looks like in the bathroom there was some water damage in the bathroom b/c they have the wrong shower curtain rod in the shower so water would leak down the side of the tub and get the drywall wet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ronlynn
Denver, Colorado
Sep 15, 2013

Beautiful location but lacking.

The location was perfect-right off Mission Bay. We paid extra and got a room called the Bayside Lanai which faced the bay. They decor was nice but on closer inspection it didn't seem clean. I understand that it is an older resort which has been updated but it is the little details that make a big impression. I also got an unexpected surprise - you have to pay to park your car and you get a bill at the end for amenities which came up to over $350. I don't think it is special enough to want to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
goldie violet
Phoenix
Sep 9, 2013

family get away on the water

great time. get a bayside room. other rooms not nearly as nice. restaurants are great but expensive. Market is super expensive...buy waters, snacks, drinks off site. Parking fee is crazy. i would suggest to mgmt to include that fee in the daily resort fee. nobody even uses all the parking there. bottom line . loved the room and location. staff was great. i will come back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
007 james
Denver
Jul 24, 2013

awesome place to stay

was a great time for all of us and for the price it could not get better, lots for things to do and the staff were very helpful, happy to help in us getting around

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

just follow the people to bare foots great chef and great food

Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chief W
Baltimore, MD
Jul 23, 2013

Extra Costs

Less value than expected. Did not like the extra charges. Be sure to find out - or try to find out - the charges for parking, internet access on their business center work station, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bafw
San Diego, California
Jul 19, 2013

Honeymoon trip

This hotel has a fabulous location, very pretty and relaxing. I do however want to share that there are some hidden fees that I was not aware of and thankful I brought extra money. They charge 35 dollars a night for parking which is ridiculous , but when booking with the online agency, it is not mentioned or displayed that you will have to pay over 150 dollars extra for parking. The restaurants have a excellent food with friendly staff , but the price is expensive . Our room was pretty but needs to be maintained . Our shower had a leak that drained all over the floor and made it like a mini pool in there. There was stains on the couch as well in the room that made it look gross and unclean. The curtains had mold on them which was kinda gross. If I did not receive a discount with the online agency to book this hotel, I would not pay 350 dollars a night for this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LJBC
Napa Valley
Jul 9, 2013

Needs Updating

The location was great, but that is the only good thing about this place. The resort was outdated and run down. Half the machines in the workout room didn't work, the doors and dressers in the room wouldn't close, and the general appearance of the resort was run down. Housekeeping was terrible, they didn't change the sheets when they were supposed to and the floors were filthy. I would never go back. Everything was terribly pricy too and they charge $30+ a day to park your car - plus the $17/day resort fee for all the broken down stuff. $5 to use the internet too just to print your boarding pass. What a rip off the whole place was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search