$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Paradise Point Resort and Spa

4 stars
1404 W. Vacation Rd., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
348 reviews
Great Family Vacation

My wife and I took our 6 month old here for our first family vacation and it was a great... See full review

  • San Diego Vacation Dad
  • Jul 6, 2014
Great time!

My stay was amazing for the most part. The place looks amazing and was very clean. The people for... See full review

  • Coach sean
  • Apr 23, 2014
Private luxury in Mission Bay with putting course
Paradise Point Resort & Spa is located on a private, 44-acre island in Mission Bay, minutes from Sea World and the heart of downtown San Diego. The resort features more than 450 beach bungalow-style guest rooms amid a lush tropical garden life. Other highlights of Paradise Point include one mile of white sand beach, five swimming pools, an 18-hole putting course, beach cruisers, bonfire pits and a marina with sailboats, kayaks and jet skis. Vacationers also unwind with Balinese massahes at the on-site spa. Guests can choose from three different on-site restaurants, though Baleen San Diego is by far the most sophisticated, serving fresh seafood. The property is also close to Old Town, San Diego Zoo and Gaslamp District.
Highlights
  • Private location in the heart of Mission Bay
  • 18-hole putting course
  • Relax in the sun on a white sand beach
  • Located just minutes from Sea World
Rooms

Paradise Point Resort & Spa offers 462 rooms, including 30 bayside suites. All accommodations are beach bungalows, meaning every guest gets a garden view. Decor in Paradise Point's rooms is Balinese-influenced. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, outdoor patio, MP3 docking station and an ironing board. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

Resort accommodations don't get more private or exclusive than the Paradise Point Resort & Spa. The property is situated on its own island--a 44-acre rock in the middle of Mission Bay.

Guests receive complimentary access to a number of amenities when they stay, including the private white sand beach, five pools, a state-of-the-art fitness center and an 18-hole putting green. The resort boasts a private marina with sailboats, jet skis and kayaks for rent (fees apply). The Spa recreates a number of treatments from the Far East.

Three on-site restaurants offer dozens of choices for meals. Tidal, by far the fanciest, specializes in seafood. The other two eateries, Barefoot Bar & Grill and Tropics Cantina, offer casual fare in a relaxed environment. After a full day, patrons unwind with drinks while taking in coastal views at Bayside Lounge.

Transportation
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego International Airport (2 mi/3 km)
Attractions
  • Sea World (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (6 mi/11 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/11 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/11 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • More than 35,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 32 meeting and banquet rooms
  • In-house audiovisual capabilities
Policies and fees
  • Effective from 01 Nov 2014, passport to Paradise fee will be $27 USD per night
  • Effective from 01 Nov 2014, parking fee will be $35 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Paradise Point Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Paradise Point Resort and Spa Rooms

Standard Room
Guestroom accommodations offering two queen beds, furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Guestrooms are approximately 450 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Garden Bungalow
The Garden Bungalow suite is nestled throughout the resort gardens and tropical landscaping. This One Bedroom Suite offers 1 King bedroom, 1 bath and separate living room with queen sofa sleeper. Furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television in each room, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, full wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Bungalows are approximately 650 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Lanai Bayside
Just steps from one mile of sandy beach, the Lanai Bayside guestroom offers spectacular views of Mission Bay right outside your patio. Accommodations offer one King bed with queen sofa sleeper or two queen beds. Furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Guestrooms are approximately 460 square feet, connecting rooms available, bedding on request and subject to availability at check in.
Bayside Bungalow
Just steps from one mile of sandy beach, the Bayside Bungalow is located closest to the water offering spectacular views of Mission Bay. The One Bedroom Suite offers 1 King bedroom, 1 bath and separate living room with queen sofa sleeper. Furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, full wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Bungalows are approximately 650 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Lanai Garden
The Lanai Garden guestroom is nestled throughout the resort gardens and tropical landscaping. Accommodations offer one King bed with queen sofa sleeper or two queen beds. Furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Guestrooms are approximately 460 square feet, connecting rooms available, bedding on request and subject to availability at check in.
Bayside Junior Suite
Just steps from one mile of sandy beach, the Bayside Junior Suite is located closest to the water offering spectacular views of Mission Bay. This Studio Suite offers a combined sleeping and living area featuring one king bed and queen sofa sleeper, Furnishings include - dining room table and four chairs, full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television in each room, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, full wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Studio Suites are approximately 560 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Garden Junior Suite
The Garden Junior Suite is nestled throughout the resort gardens and tropical landscaping. This Studio Suite offers a combined sleeping and living area featuring one king bed and queen sofa sleeper, Furnishings include - dining room table and four chairs, full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, full wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Studio Suites are approximately 560 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Lanai Premium
The Lanai Garden Premium guestroom, approximately 460 square feet and nestled throughout the resort gardens and tropical landscaping, offers one king or two queens with a queen sofa sleeper and upgraded room features that may include wet bar, walk-in closet and/or water view. Room includes a full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television with premium channels, alarm/clock radio with MP3 input, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, Wi-Fi and high speed Internet access, and a mini-refrigerator. Connecting rooms are available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Belmont Park: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 1.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 5.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 1.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 5.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 6 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 6 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 6.1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 6.1 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 6.1 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 6.2 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 6.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 6.5 mi
  • PETCO Park: 6.7 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 8.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 12.4 mi
  • Legoland: 24.9 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.3 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,120.7 mi

Dining

Tropics Cantina
The best of Baja, without a trip across the border! Located at the Main Pool, the Tropics Cantina serves authentic fresh Mex straight from Baja California. Get a taste of Mexicos colorful culture and cuisine in the form of homemade salsa, fish tacos, cochinitas, carne asada and frosty margaritas.
Tidal
Craft and catch converge at Tidal, perched where land meets sea on the shores of Mission Bay. At the helm is Chef Amy DiBiase, curating a thoughtful selection of local seafood and craft beverages that, like the ever changing tides, shift seasonally at Mother Natures whim.
Barefoot Bar & Grill
Barefoot Bar & Grill has been a local favorite for its panoramic Mission Bay views since opening in 1962. This legendary restaurant offers a laid-back atmosphere, lineup of California craft beers, and bold, creative takes on American dishes. Eat inside or outdoors next to a tropical waterfall and sea-life lagoon.
Caveman Pizza Company
This historic cave fires up quality pies, salads and garlic knots using only the freshest homespun dough and ingredients. Available for grab and go, or enjoy free evening delivery.
Bayside Lounge
Drink in coastal views, stunning sunsets and cool cocktails at this intimate outdoor lounge. Cozy fire pits and a menu featuring savory shared plates and boutique wines beckon casual group gatherings and lively conversation, though the 180 views of Mission Bay may just leave you at a loss for words.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (348)

Ratings and reviews for Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
348 out of 348
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
erikags
Arizona
Nov 18, 2012

comfy!

Had an awesome stay, rooms are modern and clean, got an upgrade to a king size bed for free. Staff is awesome. I just don't like the $32 for parking a night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 9, 2010

Not Good

This hotel was not good at all. The staff was not very friendly and they messed up my reservation. Also, the rooms didn't feel comfortable at all. It was just sticky. The bed had small hairs all over so it seemed like they did not change the linens so that made it that much worse for us. The room wasn't even that cheap to be that bad of a place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
Dec 10, 2007

What a disappointment

The location was beautiful. So were the lobby and grounds. After that it was down hill. We were given rooms that were crowded. There was no microwave and a tiny refridg. They did bring a very old microwave for a $25 charge per day. Our beds were literally on top of the one chair in the room and there was no room to walk around the two beds. The tv was so old it didn't have hook ups for the Wii we brought in case is rained. It rained the whole time we were there. Not the hotels fault but there was nothing to do. No DVD players, we brought one but the tv was too old to use with it. The paint was pealing off the walls, the tub was chipped up so bad it looked dirty and there were no amenities. The front desk didn't offer an apology for the horrible condition of the rooms. My husband and I travel all over with the government. This was the dumpiest place we've ever stayed in and it was very expensive. Our kids were very disappointed. We were heart broken. The room was depressing and it was raining so hard we couldn't go out into town. We checked out a day early and went home. I will never go there again. The restaurant was closed most of the time we were there. The pool side restaurant was not usable since it was pouring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RSM Traveller
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 9, 2009

Go to Paradise if you want to Camp Out

Admittedly, I saw this property on TLC's Jon & Kate. Given Kate's penchant for clean, I had high expectations. The overpowering amonia smell as we entered the lobby to register was our first clue that something was off. The first room we were showed had a bathroom that had been updated but it was dirty and the decor - which they call distressed - looked like it came from Walton's mountain. The entertainment cabinet (no flat screen tv just an old 36" thing) had no doors just the hooks for them, the walls are painted an alarming yellow and hand prints/scuff marks/food products are everywhere. The room was located directly in front of the primary pool which made it noisy and lots of foot traffic passing by the plate glass sliding door. The second room was bigger, in a better location for privacy but it was grossly neglected. There was a stray cat nested next to the concrete slab/front entrance. We wore socks around to keep our feet off the floor and put a towel in the bathtub when taking a shower just so we did not come into contact with what was a deeply stained tub. If you are used to coffee makers in the room as we are at this point ... no such amenity in Paradise! You have to schlep to an outdoor pavillion and cart it back to your room. The black on our socks after just one day convinced us we couldn't stay there. Even my 10 year old son said he was uncomfortable. It was the daddy longleg that we found on the bathroom curtain though that had us run out of there at 8 am the next day. This resort is tired and unkept. The Room Mgr (very politely) said, "We are an outdoor facility. You should expect bugs in the room". I was shocked! I don't want to camp out! The resort is going to undergo a room renovation but the housekeeping and grounds staff will be the same people. So I suspect it will remain largely unkept. We were offered a discount should we decide to return. No thanks. We found paradise up the road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Park Ridge
Aug 24, 2008

Front office and front desk staff

The front office and front desk staff at this hotel placed my family in a lesser room than we paid for and then lied to our faces when confronted with the facts. I would not trust anyone working at the front desk at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WTF Ryan
Business
Bismarck ND
Jul 12, 2014

Not good

Terrible location with no view, so whats the point? I will no longer be booking my vacations with ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sioux Falls, SD
Jun 9, 2011

Great setting, disappointing service

The setting was beautiful. Rooms were charming, but customer service was horrible. We wasted most of our first day waiting for our room to become available. We finally got in our room over an hour AFTER check-in time. Our room was not cleaned one day. And...they overcharged me $75 when I checked out. Make sure you go over your charges with a fine-toothed comb...I hear that is common practice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Barry C
Business
Prescott, AZ, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Started Out Good

Our Stay started out good but began to deteriorate as the hotel room became less cleaned daily to the point where they were not even leaving coffee or clean cups. Unfourtunate because location and facilities were nice - but live in a dirty room and the whole experiance is lost

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
senison
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 4, 2013

Eh

Great location, and some fun amenities if you don't mind paying extra for literally everything. Don't worry though, they tack on a non-negotiable fee to each night of your stay for these amenities. Ugh. Parking is super expensive there as well. We were given a double bed room, and wanted a king room, which was only changed out for us with a surcharge after an hour of waiting in the original room awaiting a response from the front desk. Not awesome customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Carnitas Snack Shack

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jerry47
Business
Greensboro, NC
Jul 3, 2013

Disappointing

The resort seemed to be aplace witrh potential but beyond its prime. The daily resort fee ($38 daily) and the unexpected parking charge ($32 daily) were excessive and unwelcome. The place was a bit dirty and little things were overlooked (e.g., I arrived to no soap in the room). Food outlets, particularly for breakfast were few and inconvenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LJBC
Business
Napa Valley
Jul 9, 2013

Needs Updating

The location was great, but that is the only good thing about this place. The resort was outdated and run down. Half the machines in the workout room didn't work, the doors and dressers in the room wouldn't close, and the general appearance of the resort was run down. Housekeeping was terrible, they didn't change the sheets when they were supposed to and the floors were filthy. I would never go back. Everything was terribly pricy too and they charge $30+ a day to park your car - plus the $17/day resort fee for all the broken down stuff. $5 to use the internet too just to print your boarding pass. What a rip off the whole place was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top