$205 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Paradise Point Resort and Spa

4 stars
1404 W. Vacation Rd., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
555 reviews
Great Family Vacation

My wife and I took our 6 month old here for our first family vacation and it was a great... See full review

  • San Diego Vacation Dad
  • Jul 6, 2014
Great time!

My stay was amazing for the most part. The place looks amazing and was very clean. The people for... See full review

  • Coach sean
  • Apr 23, 2014
Private luxury in Mission Bay with putting course
Paradise Point Resort & Spa is located on a private, 44-acre island in Mission Bay, minutes from Sea World and the heart of downtown San Diego. The resort features more than 450 beach bungalow-style guest rooms amid a lush tropical garden life. Other highlights of Paradise Point include a white sand beach, five swimming pools, an on-site spa, an 18-hole putting course and a marina with boat rentals. Guests can choose from three different on-site restaurants, though Baleen San Diego is by far the most sophisticated, serving fresh seafood.
Highlights
  • Private location in the heart of Mission Bay
  • 18-hole putting course
  • Relax in the sun on a white sand beach
  • Located just minutes from Sea World
Rooms

Paradise Point Resort & Spa offers 462 rooms, including 30 bayside suites. All accommodations are beach bungalows, meaning every guest gets a garden view. Decor in Paradise Point's rooms is Balinese-influenced. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, outdoor patio, MP3 docking station and an ironing board. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

Resort accommodations don't get more private or exclusive than the Paradise Point Resort & Spa. The property is situated on its own island--a 44-acre rock in the middle of Mission Bay.

Guests receive complimentary access to a number of amenities when they stay, including the private white sand beach, five pools, a state-of-the-art fitness center and an 18-hole putting green. The resort boasts a private marina with boats for rent (fees apply). The Spa recreates a number of treatments from the Far East.

Three on-site restaurants offer dozens of choices for meals. Baleen San Diego, by far the fanciest, specializes in seafood. The other two eateries, Barefoot Bar & Grill and Tropics Bar & Grill, offer casual fare in a relaxed environment.

The nearby Caveman Pizza Company offers quality pies, salads and garlic knots using fresh homespun dough and ingredients. Available for grab and go, or enjoy free evening delivery.


Transportation
  • San Diego Trolley (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego International Airport (2 mi/3 km)
Attractions
  • Sea World (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Old Town (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (6 mi/11 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/11 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/11 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • More than 35,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 32 meeting and banquet rooms
  • In-house audiovisual capabilities
Policies and fees
  • Passport to Paradise fee is $24 USD per room per night
  • Parking fee is $34 USD per room per night

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.775 -117.2401
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located on Mission Bay. Paradise Point Resort & Spa is an island oasis of blue skies, pristine beaches and lush gardens. Located across the street from Sea World Park, Paradise Point is ideally located on Mission Bay, the heart of San Diego.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Paradise Point Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Paradise Point Resort and Spa Rooms

Garden Bungalow
The Garden Bungalow suite is nestled throughout the resort gardens and tropical landscaping. This One Bedroom Suite offers 1 King bedroom, 1 bath and separate living room with queen sofa sleeper. Furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television in each room with On Command movies, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, full wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Bungalows are approximately 650 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Lanai Patio
Guestroom accommodations offering two queen beds, furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television with On Command movies, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Guestrooms are approximately 450 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Lanai Bayside
Just steps from one mile of sandy beach, the Lanai Bayside guestroom offers spectacular views of Mission Bay right outside your patio. Accommodations offer one King bed with queen sofa sleeper or two queen beds. Furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television with On Command movies, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Guestrooms are approximately 460 square feet, connecting rooms available, bedding on request and subject to availability at check in.
Bayside Bungalow
Just steps from one mile of sandy beach, the Bayside Bungalow is located closest to the water offering spectacular views of Mission Bay. The One Bedroom Suite offers 1 King bedroom, 1 bath and separate living room with queen sofa sleeper. Furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television in each room with On Command movies, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, full wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Bungalows are approximately 650 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Lanai Garden
The Lanai Garden guestroom is nestled throughout the resort gardens and tropical landscaping. Accommodations offer one King bed with queen sofa sleeper or two queen beds. Furnishings include - full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television with On Command movies, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Guestrooms are approximately 460 square feet, connecting rooms available, bedding on request and subject to availability at check in.
Bayside Junior Suite
Just steps from one mile of sandy beach, the Bayside Junior Suite is located closest to the water offering spectacular views of Mission Bay. This Studio Suite offers a combined sleeping and living area featuring one king bed and queen sofa sleeper, Furnishings include - dining room table and four chairs, full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television in each room with On Command movies, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, full wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Studio Suites are approximately 560 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Garden Junior Suite
The Garden Junior Suite is nestled throughout the resort gardens and tropical landscaping. This Studio Suite offers a combined sleeping and living area featuring one king bed and queen sofa sleeper, Furnishings include - dining room table and four chairs, full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television in each room with On Command movies, alarm/clock radio, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, High speed Internet access, full wet bar, microwave, coffee maker, and mini-refrigerator. Studio Suites are approximately 560 square feet, connecting rooms available.
Lanai Premium
The Lanai Garden Premium guestroom, approximately 460 square feet and nestled throughout the resort gardens and tropical landscaping, offers one king or two queens with a queen sofa sleeper and upgraded room features that may include wet bar, walk-in closet and/or water view. Room includes a full marble bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable television with premium channels, alarm/clock radio with MP3 input, two-line speaker phone with voicemail and data ports, Wi-Fi and high speed Internet access, and a mini-refrigerator. Connecting rooms are available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Belmont Park: 0.8 mi
  • Sea World: 1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 1.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 0.8 mi
  • Sea World: 1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 1.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 5.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 6 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 6 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 6.1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 6.1 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 6.1 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 6.2 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 6.3 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 6.5 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 6.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 6.7 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 8.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 12.4 mi
  • Legoland: 24.9 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.3 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,120.7 mi

Dining

Tropics Pool Bar
TROPICS BAR & GRILL Grab a bite by the pool. In the summer months, enjoy a juicy burger or cheesy quesadilla at Tropics Bar & Grill, our casual poolside eatery. Serving up everyone's favorite summer treats including hot dogs and Caesar salads, Tropics is the perfect place to refuel before diving back into one of the five sparkling pools at your disposal. Open Memorial Day through Labor Day.
Baleen
Baleen San Diego restaurant: Serious food with a whimsical mood. What's the point in enjoying fine food if you can't have a little fun while you're at it? Our signature restaurant, Baleen, invites both your palate and your sense of adventure to a waterfront dining experience like no other. Here, land and sea cuisine are artfully infused with San Diego regional flavors to create savory delights, such as our Grilled Mahi-Mahi Filet. Dine waterside and enjoy views almost as spectacular as your meal. Restaurant Hours Dinner: Sun thru Thu, 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm Fri & Sat, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Barefoot Bar & Grill
Barefoot Bar & Grill: A lively mix of sun, sandals, and sandwiches. A day at the beach wouldn't be complete without a visit to Paradise Point's Barefoot Bar & Grill restaurant, an island-inspired casual dining experience featuring panoramic views of San Diego's Mission Bay. Famous for its seasonal live music and dancing, Barefoot Bar & Grill restaurant serves up sandwiches, salads and other pub favorites while the tropical drinks come complete with umbrellas-making it a festive destination after a day in paradise. Restaurant Hours Breakfast: Daily, 7:00 am - 11:00 am Lunch & Dinner: Daily, 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Caveman Pizza Company
This historic cave fires up quality pies, salads and garlic knots using only the freshest homespun dough and ingredients. Available for grab and go, or enjoy free evening delivery.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (555)

Ratings and reviews for Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
555 out of 555
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Katzi
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 3, 2012

Beautiful spot, great location

We very much enjoyed our stay. The grounds are beautiful. Our room was very clean and exceptionally quiet, which we really appreciated. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RSM Traveller
Washington, DC
Sep 9, 2009

Go to Paradise if you want to Camp Out

Admittedly, I saw this property on TLC's Jon & Kate. Given Kate's penchant for clean, I had high expectations. The overpowering amonia smell as we entered the lobby to register was our first clue that something was off. The first room we were showed had a bathroom that had been updated but it was dirty and the decor - which they call distressed - looked like it came from Walton's mountain. The entertainment cabinet (no flat screen tv just an old 36" thing) had no doors just the hooks for them, the walls are painted an alarming yellow and hand prints/scuff marks/food products are everywhere. The room was located directly in front of the primary pool which made it noisy and lots of foot traffic passing by the plate glass sliding door. The second room was bigger, in a better location for privacy but it was grossly neglected. There was a stray cat nested next to the concrete slab/front entrance. We wore socks around to keep our feet off the floor and put a towel in the bathtub when taking a shower just so we did not come into contact with what was a deeply stained tub. If you are used to coffee makers in the room as we are at this point ... no such amenity in Paradise! You have to schlep to an outdoor pavillion and cart it back to your room. The black on our socks after just one day convinced us we couldn't stay there. Even my 10 year old son said he was uncomfortable. It was the daddy longleg that we found on the bathroom curtain though that had us run out of there at 8 am the next day. This resort is tired and unkept. The Room Mgr (very politely) said, "We are an outdoor facility. You should expect bugs in the room". I was shocked! I don't want to camp out! The resort is going to undergo a room renovation but the housekeeping and grounds staff will be the same people. So I suspect it will remain largely unkept. We were offered a discount should we decide to return. No thanks. We found paradise up the road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Apr 9, 2010

Not Good

This hotel was not good at all. The staff was not very friendly and they messed up my reservation. Also, the rooms didn't feel comfortable at all. It was just sticky. The bed had small hairs all over so it seemed like they did not change the linens so that made it that much worse for us. The room wasn't even that cheap to be that bad of a place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chief W
Baltimore, MD
Jul 23, 2013

Extra Costs

Less value than expected. Did not like the extra charges. Be sure to find out - or try to find out - the charges for parking, internet access on their business center work station, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VIDDIBABY
PORTLAND,OR
Jul 1, 2013

FAR FROM LUXURY

VERY OVER RATED OVER PRICED NEVER EVER AGAIN RUNDOWN DIRTY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Luis Obispo, CA
Dec 10, 2007

What a disappointment

The location was beautiful. So were the lobby and grounds. After that it was down hill. We were given rooms that were crowded. There was no microwave and a tiny refridg. They did bring a very old microwave for a $25 charge per day. Our beds were literally on top of the one chair in the room and there was no room to walk around the two beds. The tv was so old it didn't have hook ups for the Wii we brought in case is rained. It rained the whole time we were there. Not the hotels fault but there was nothing to do. No DVD players, we brought one but the tv was too old to use with it. The paint was pealing off the walls, the tub was chipped up so bad it looked dirty and there were no amenities. The front desk didn't offer an apology for the horrible condition of the rooms. My husband and I travel all over with the government. This was the dumpiest place we've ever stayed in and it was very expensive. Our kids were very disappointed. We were heart broken. The room was depressing and it was raining so hard we couldn't go out into town. We checked out a day early and went home. I will never go there again. The restaurant was closed most of the time we were there. The pool side restaurant was not usable since it was pouring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wannagetaaway
Sacramto ca
Jul 4, 2010

Getaway weekend

The stuff was very unfriendly, our room was only cleaned two outta the five nights we stayed at the hotel. The poolside stay would not walk by us so our drinks could get refilled. The the front desk was not friendly at all to us during checkin and didn't tells us any info on what places we should visit during our stay though the bell hop showed us to our room took us and a little tour of the hotel and was very nice to us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
fzzarf220
New Jersey
Oct 7, 2013

Skip this resort

My biggest problem with this hotel were all the fees they charged: $24/day for Wifi as part of their Resort Passport plan $32/day for parking $20/day for microwave, if you need one There were other charges but it was complete nonsense. I had to fight the staff to get most of these charges either waved or reduced. It was a complete joke. They nick and dime you so badly, I am not coming back I still need to give them a call, which they will not return, on some expenses that I was told were waived but appeard on my bill. I spoke to them a the desk, I called and left a message...still nothing The staff was overall nice and professional. The location was great, right near the beach. Very dissatissfied with this hotel and I would strongly recommend avoiding them at all cost

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
loo-loo
wales,uk
Oct 25, 2010

poor location,poor food,poorly lit....

the location of this hotel left a lot to be desired,its not within walking distance of any quality bars/restaurants, and if you do stay within paradise point the food is a tad expensive and very poor quality, its also very unlit in the evening,so beware, yes the pool stays open as does the hot tub with absolutely no lighting at all!! .....left a day early and was not even asked how the stay was or offered a refund.....will not be returning !!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

beach

Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Park Ridge
Aug 24, 2008

Front office and front desk staff

The front office and front desk staff at this hotel placed my family in a lesser room than we paid for and then lied to our faces when confronted with the facts. I would not trust anyone working at the front desk at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Paradise Point Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 13, 2007

a little disappointed

The room was very musty. The carpet was damp from the AC running, and the room smelled. Not real impressed. We saw two skunks outside on two separate occasions. One was right next to our sliding glass doors. My kids were frightened. I told the staff and they didn't seem too concerned. Probably wouldn't stay there again for the price they charge and the $20 extra per night for parking. What a joke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Seaworld next door.

Back to menu Return to top