$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
1047 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
70 reviews
Great Location

Staff was Excellent! Very upscale, trendy hotel. Perfect location. all restaurants & nightlife, in... See full review

  • Steel City
  • Sep 30, 2013
Relaxing Business Trip

The staff at the Palomar were very friendly and helpful and went above and beyond to make my stay... See full review

  • Trentino Tom
  • Feb 9, 2013
Asian-influenced luxury at downtown hotel

Move into luxury and sophisticated, art-filled style at Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel at the gateway to the Gaslamp District. Rooms are modern and sophisticated. The on-site spa invites you to relax and rejuvenate in remarkable style. The hotel boasts a swanky rooftop pool lounge open to the public and its on-site restaurant, Saltbox Dining & Drinking, offers traditional American bistro fare featuring local seafood. The hotel also sits next to the local House of Blues.

Highlights
  • Swanky rooftop pool lounge open to the public
  • Splurge on a treatment at the on-site spa
  • Nightly wine reception
  • Chauffeur service within a two-mile radius (limited service and times)
Rooms

Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel offers 183 rooms, including 20 one-bedroom suites that feature Brazilian walnut floors and modern furniture. Each room comes standard with a plasma flat-screen TV, an MP3 docking station, animal print robes, luxurious bath amenities, Italian Frette linens, rainforest shower heads, organic honor bars and in-room safe. Floor-to-ceiling windows open so guests can feel the ocean breeze. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available.

Features

Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel was named to the 2009 Hot List by Conde Nast Traveler magazine.

All guests receive complimentary access to the rooftop heated pool and on-site 24-hour fitness center with state-of-the-art equipment. At night, the pool deck transforms into a open-air lounge where guests receive free admission. Stays include complimentary chauffeur service around downtown (within a two-mile radius at limited service and times) and a nightly wine reception. Travelers are also entitled to a complimentary overnight shoe shine.

Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel features a full-service spa that invites you to relax and rejuvenate in remarkable style (fees apply).

Grab a meal at Saltbox Dining & Drinking, an American bistro that serves innovative comfort food.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (8 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (4 mi/7 km)
Attractions
  • Gaslamp District (2 blocks)
  • Petco Park (8 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (2 mi/3 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/5 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (4 mi/7 km)
  • Point Loma (5 mi/9 km)
  • Sea World (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access for Kimpton InTouch loyalty members
  • About 22,000 square feet of meeting space
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Deluxe Guest Room wit
Accessible Deluxe 2 Double and Roll-In 402-420 sq ft-acessible tub- comm features-
City Center Skyline Loft with 1
City Center Skyline Loft with 1 King Bed 834 sq ft, views of San Diego, living area, dining table for 6, full kitchen, frette
Gaslamp Skyline Loft with 1 King
Gaslamp Skyline Loft with 1 King Bed 969 sq ft, views of San Diego, balcony, 1.5 bathrooms, living area, dining table for 6
Deluxe Room with 2 Double Beds
Deluxe Guest Room with 2 Double Beds 402-420 sq ft, lower floor, frette linens rainforest shower, MP3 alarm clock, desk
Skyline View with 1 King Bed
Skyline View Guest Room with 1 King Bed 317-446 sq ft views of San Diego, frette linens glass rainforest shower, MP3 alarm clock,desk
Skyline View Suite 1 King Bed
Skyline View Suite with 1 King Bed 581-920 sq ft, views of San Diego, living room frette linens, glass rainforest shower, MP3
Accessible Deluxe Guest Room wit
Accessible Deluxe 2 Double Roll-In 402-420 sq ft, roll-in shower, communication features,
Luxury Three Bedroom Penthouse
Luxury Three Bedroom Penthouse 2779 sq ft, bi-level,3 kings,view of San Diego 2 private balconies, living area, table for 6
Coronado Skyline Loft with 1 Kin
Coronado Skyline Loft with 1 King Bed 1042 sq ft, views of Coronado, two balconies, living area, dining table for 6, full kitchen
SD Harbor Skyline Loft 1 King
San Diego Harbo Skyline Loft with 1 King Bed 942 sq ft, views of the bay, balcony,
Accessible Deluxe Guest Room wit
Accessible Deluxe 1 King Roll-In 380-550 sq ft-lower floor-frette linens Roll in shower commucation ftrs avail
Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed
Deluxe Guest Room with 1 King Bed 380-550 sq ft-lower floor-frette linens rainforest shower-mp3 alarm clock-desk
Luxury 2 Bedroom Penthouse
Luxury Two Bedroom Penthouse 1843 sq ft, bi-level, 2 king, views of Coronado 2 private balconies, living area, table for 6
Balboa Skyline Loft with 1 King
Balboa Skyline Loft with 1 King Bed 1176 sq ft, views of San Diego, balcony, living area, dining table for 4, full kitchen

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Children's activities
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Grab bars in bathroom
TDD telephone machine
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28 mi
  • Legoland: 29.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.2 mi

Dining

Saltbox Dining and Drinking
Saltbox raises the bar with its gastro-lounge approach featuring fresh farm-to-table ingredients. Here a deceptively simple menu takes on a spirited focus with skillful food and drink pairings.
SummerSalt Lounge
The lounge is a magnet by day or night where hotel guests and locals alike luxuriate in comfortable casual seating and the open-air pool deck setting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (70)

Ratings and reviews for Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.4

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Valencia CA
Jul 17, 2009

HORRIBLE experience here...

SWITCHED ROOMS 2 TIMES. THEY ENDED UP PUTTING US, A FAMILY OF 5 NEXT TO THE DISCO THAT KEPT US UP ALL NIGHT BECAUSE THEY NEEDED OUR ROOM FOR A "VIP"... Then they said they would comp the movie my kids watched and still tried to charge me for it...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not a Bro
Business
Riverside, CA
Jun 8, 2010

I hope you like VERY LOUD DISCO

This hotel was NOISY! Not just a little noisy but really noisy. And don't bother calling the front desk to complain because they don't care. So if you like hearing disco all night long and being accosted by homeless people in the front then this is the hotel for you. I will not be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay at a different hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Encino,CA
Jul 1, 2011

Unimpressed

Upon arrival the valet personnel was great very helful. Upon entering the hotel the concierge was pleasnt and directed us to the front desk. The front desk clerk had no personality at all. She didnt even greet us when we walked up to her,she just stared at us. once we told her we had a reservation she took our credit card to verify and gave it back to us. Then she gave us our room key without telling us our room number or where the elevator was located. Our room was hard to find because the room number was missing on the door. When we walked in the room we had an incrediblw view of a brick wall/roog with air conditiner ducts. The women staff was mediocre but the men were very helpful, especially being new in sandiego they gave us directions where to find food and late nite fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Movie Theatre

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Rosa Ca
Dec 10, 2009

Should be called SE' Motel 6

i was looking forward to staying at the Se' based on a friend that lives in San Diego my first choice was the W i will start with arrival as you get out of taxi you are greeted by several blocks of homeless people and panhandlers did not feel safe at all then we checked in was pleasantly surprised to get a free upgrade to upper floors then off to our room with a beautiful view of neighboring rooftops with no possible view of any city lights i must say the bed was very nice ok it was late woke up to a lukewarm to cold shower on our way out talked to reception and asked if they could fix problem woke up next morning to a cold shower we had a later flight so i called front desk and asked for a late checkout a very snippy young girl said best we can do is 1pm hard to believe because hotel was empty so we took our bags downstairs and checked them into secure closet came back for our bags of course they mixed up our bags with some one Else's finally got correct bags bell man informed us our taxi was outside [*] overall one of the worst experience i have had in a four star hotel i would also like to say for the record i have traveled all over the world always stay in four star hotels and it is not unusual to have some inconvenience's this hotel needs tremendous improvement my suggestion is stay somewhere else and save your money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cash for gold san diego
Business
san diego
Feb 21, 2012

dirty rooms rude staff

small rooms non working tvs thank god the valet were nice i wont stay their again lots of other hotels for less money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Clean Queen
Business
LA
Jul 18, 2012

Don't Be Fooled by the Pictures

We were told we were getting a "skyline view" and all we got was a 3' by 4' view of the roof vents of 7Eleven next door. Opening the windows made it worse, due to the vent air being blown in through our window. Pool opens at 12pm and closes at 8pm. So we never got to swim. It is very small though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use GPS, alot of ONEWAY streets

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kmillinger
Business
Los Angeles. CA
Nov 20, 2012

Good location, BUT TERRIBLE BATHROOM DOOR!

The location was very good if you're going to be spending a lot of time walking around the GasLamp district. The room was small, but ok. I HATED THE BATHROOM DOOR! The bathroom door is tranluscent glass. I'm sorry but I don't want my bathroom activities to be visible from the living quarters. Almost felt like there was no bathroom door at all. And there's a 1 inch gap between the door's edge & the wall when it's closed. I don't care if I'm staying there with my significant other, I'm still modest when it comes to using the toilet! If you feel the same way, then stay away from this hotel. Can not understand what the designer was thinking when they installed these bathroom doors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not going back to Se
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 16, 2010

Se NO WAY!

Did not enjoy staying here. The room was not spotless and dusty. There was no shower door making it cold to shower. The menu was not appetizing and overpriced. Not many people staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
OCNino
Business
Irvine, CA
Jun 21, 2011

Mediocre

Hotel was nice but they were understaffed, had to call multiple times for guest service. The TV in the room did not work, they had to send over the technicians to repair it. Had to wait 3 hours for the TV to finally work. No discounts were offered and $39.00 valet was pretty expensive i thought. Still had fun though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Good live latin jazz up the street at Love's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Van Nuys, CA
Jul 27, 2009

Beauty Is Only Skin Deep

This new hotel is beautiful and chic, without a doubt...but it's missing the essential elements that really make a place comfortable. Our room did not have a dresser, any drawers in the bedside table, nor luggage racks. That means everything that couldn't be hung had to stay in our suitcases--on the floor! There were other basics missing from our room, as well, such as: * A bathtub (shower only) * Hooks on the bathroom walls for towels and robes * Grips, treads, and/or a handle bar to avoid slip and falls in the shower * A dry cleaning service or laundry bags * Hotel magazine or area guide book * And so on. It's almost as if they hired an interior designer who had never actually *stayed* in a hotel. The space was simply not functional. For a weekend trip, it was fine, but had I been there for business, I would have been seriously put out. Finally, although Se claims to be a 5-star hotel, they do not offer 5-star service. The staff is adequate and addresses customers' requests, but they do not go out of their way to make things special nor anticipate the needs of VIP guests. It simply isn't 5-star quality and, thus, is really not worth what it's charging per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top