$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1047 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sacramento, ca
Jul 7, 2009

Amazing Hotel

July 4th weekend. The pool area and lounge is a scene to been scene, scene. Beautiful people all over including the staff. I don't normally stay at $400 a night hotels, but after staying here for several nights might start considering (especially when on sale). Everything fits into place and you really feel as if you are on vacation with no worries. Luxury defined at the Se. I am already planning another trip there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mwhlee
Business
San Jose, CA
Jul 2, 2009

SE San Diego

It was great. Really professional staff made it a very enjoyable stay. The rooms were a tad smaller than expected, but the beautiful decor made up for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to San Diego zoo while you are there. It's a must. Spent the whole day there because during summer they are open from 9am - 9pm. check the website, but had a great day out with my girlfriend

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kwhit
Business
ames, ia
Jun 30, 2009

Ultra chic hotel

We really enjoyed staying at the Se. The design is gorgeous, the location can't be beat for Gaslamp, and the staff were helpful and friendly. They have all kinds of amenities including a full service spa, restaurant, and two lounges (the uber lounge by the pool was our favorite).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The nightlife involved with the Se is especially amazing if you're 20-30 and interested in going out/dancing/drinks (try the spicy mojito!). If you want a quiet room, may we suggest one of the upper floors. Between the lower and uber lounges (on the ground and 4th floors) on the weekends it is a little noisy. Although a room on the 3rd floor is also right next to the spa.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sunnyvale, ca
Jun 24, 2009

Se San Diego - not bad

The Se is a hip and trendy hotel, like the Hard Rock down the street- but not quit there yet. The rooms are very small (like in Europre) but clean and poshly decked out. The service was either really good, or only OK- the room service people were great (got my food as soon as I hung up the phone). The front desk and housekeeping staff were less knowledgeable and seemed to need more training (ie. asked for extra conditioner, was brought shower gel,then brought shampoo, then finally conditioner). My biggest complaint is the noise- OMG, the noise. I did not have a restful night's sleep during my 3 night stay b/c i could hear every thing from the hallway and my neighbor's rooms- I think this is b/c the hotel is so small that all rooms are crammed together and the hallway is only about 2 feet wide. The only reason i ave this place 4 stars is b/c it is a nice looking hotel, in a good location, and meets what the Gaslamp is known for - hip party spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Waskaly Wallaby Wallace
Business
Austin, TX
Jun 8, 2009

Se San Diego

Stayed for one night. Dinner and strolled around the Gaslamp District. Overall hotel was phenomenal. The lack of free Wi-Fi sort of bothered me, but it's something I had come to expect from higher-end hotels like the Se. Fortunately, I had a phone that supports tethering.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ordinary Average Guy
Business
Reno, NV
Jun 3, 2009

A Little to Fancy for Me

Very nice hotel in a great location. I was a little out of sorts. It was way nicer than what I'm used to. Some staff seemed to stick their noses up at me when I was wearing blue jeans and a polo. Otherwise, the staff was very courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out Balboa Park and the Zoo about a mile or so northeast of the hotel. Absolutely stunning

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 3, 2009

Amazing!

We pulled up to the hotel and were immediately greeted by a valet. ($38/night, in and out as many times as you'd like). Not bad at all, considering the public parking garage across the street is $2 per hour and you pay each time you leave. Upon entering the hotel, the door was opened for us, we were asked to have a seat, and we were brought two complimentary drinks. The hotel is in a perfect location for the annual Rock n Roll Marathon. Room service was A+ and concierge was very helpful with any and all questions. Most comfortable beds around! 4th floor outdoor pool/bar is amazing with good drink and food variety, and live entertainment. Simply Amazing. Best hotel Ever. Highly recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Moving to San Diego soon
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jun 1, 2009

Se is wonderful!

Se is a one of a kind hotel with immaculate rooms in the gaslamp quarter. I felt like royalty as all of the staff were very professional and friendly. Parking downtown can be hectic but for a fee, valet will park your car and retrieve it for you as many times as you need it throughout the day. The beds were comfortable and the showers were amazing! Will definitely stay there again. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego, ca
May 26, 2009

great staycation

We went to a local venue and had a great time at the hotel. The staff were superb and very friendly. I even got a complimentary upgrade without asking. I definitely recommend this hotel and am planning another "staycation" there soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City
May 8, 2009

Se San Diego

Beautiful hotel, but too formal. and they didn't take care of an all-night party/noise problem next door to us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top