$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 29, 2015

Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1047 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 2, 2012

Weekend Getaway

The hotel staff was fantastic and the room was very comfortable. It is located right in the heart of Gaslamp district and walking anywhere is very easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakewood
Nov 22, 2009

My first time

I love the atmosphere and the neatness of this hotel. The Zen and relaxation connection were interesting. Only difficulty, my room was close to the swimming pool; it was too noisy but the staff was very comprehensive and found me another quiet room. I do recommend this hotel (maybe pricy for most of us) if you want to experience something new.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

spanish restaurants ( and others) close by are excellent

Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Malibu Ca
Nov 18, 2009

Cramped Upscale Hotel

Not what I would call a comfortable hotel- noisy party going types generally while we were there- a modern look was achieved at the expense of adequate space-the single sink was very tiny and wouldn't our things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati Ohio
Nov 17, 2009

Five star apperance 3 star service....

This hotel is built w/ class and style but that is not always tied together w/ practicality and service. The showers are built for short people, I am 6'3 and everything felt short form the location of the shower head to the beds... I also had a bad experience w/ a dry clean service I requested for next day delivery and it made me get late to my meeting. Reason why was because the where over 30 min late to deliver for the expected time and the time notified on the service sheet. I was also ask way to much whenever I stepped in if I wanted to check in, when i already had a room, not to mention i was escorted to the floor level by the hotel manager almost like if i didn't belong there... All in all place is beautiful but lacks customer service and functionality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
colorado
Oct 19, 2009

amazing hotel

Incredible interior and exterior desiging. Rooms were really clean and spacious

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LI Biz Traveler
Business
Long Island, NY
Oct 6, 2009

Se San Diego

Great hotel. Friendly people and service. Great bathroom and amenities. Room kind of small but everything else was terrific!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara CA
Sep 23, 2009

Young and hip "in Crowd'

beautiful - clean - and chic surroundings with excellent service and fun welcome beverage in the lounge. Rooms were nice but very small and tiny draweres and closet- barely enough room for 1 person's belongings. Seemed a perfect spot for couples under 40 without children. Party atmosphere at the pool bar - quite a hip crowd and fun to watch but not for swimming. Pool was an extension of the bar. we did not take advantage of the spa services but a disappointment that the spa did not include a jacuzzi or steam room. the location was perfect for walking to restaurants in the gaslamp district, shopping, the convention center, the ball game, the bay area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It was fun to be close to the restuarants and club opportunities - easy walking distance.

Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Real Viking
Business
Central Wisconsin
Sep 14, 2009

Hotel Se

Good location for downtown, superb friendly and helpful staff. Rooms attractive, but quite small. Noise from club loud on weekends. Suite and Tender restaraunt excellent as well as room service. Parking and drinks very spendy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Landlu
Business
Oceanside, CA
Sep 6, 2009

Stay at the Se

We stayed one night at the Se for our anniversary. It was a beautiful building, and had a very competent and courteous staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Landlu
Business
Oceanside, CA
Sep 6, 2009

Stay at the Se

We stayed one night at the Se for our anniversary. It was a beautiful building, and had a very competent and courteous staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lepsik
Business
Mountain View, CA
Aug 4, 2009

Fancy looking hotel. Can be loud

Nice hotel, great design, great location, good service. At about 5-6pm the pool becomes a night club, so you can't swim at night. Also, in the morning most beds around the pool have "reserved" signs. This is stupid, since no one's using them. Vallet parking is expensive. You can park across the street or couple blocks away twice cheaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top