$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1047 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati Ohio
Nov 17, 2009

Five star apperance 3 star service....

This hotel is built w/ class and style but that is not always tied together w/ practicality and service. The showers are built for short people, I am 6'3 and everything felt short form the location of the shower head to the beds... I also had a bad experience w/ a dry clean service I requested for next day delivery and it made me get late to my meeting. Reason why was because the where over 30 min late to deliver for the expected time and the time notified on the service sheet. I was also ask way to much whenever I stepped in if I wanted to check in, when i already had a room, not to mention i was escorted to the floor level by the hotel manager almost like if i didn't belong there... All in all place is beautiful but lacks customer service and functionality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
colorado
Oct 19, 2009

amazing hotel

Incredible interior and exterior desiging. Rooms were really clean and spacious

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LI Biz Traveler
Business
Long Island, NY
Oct 6, 2009

Se San Diego

Great hotel. Friendly people and service. Great bathroom and amenities. Room kind of small but everything else was terrific!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara CA
Sep 23, 2009

Young and hip "in Crowd'

beautiful - clean - and chic surroundings with excellent service and fun welcome beverage in the lounge. Rooms were nice but very small and tiny draweres and closet- barely enough room for 1 person's belongings. Seemed a perfect spot for couples under 40 without children. Party atmosphere at the pool bar - quite a hip crowd and fun to watch but not for swimming. Pool was an extension of the bar. we did not take advantage of the spa services but a disappointment that the spa did not include a jacuzzi or steam room. the location was perfect for walking to restaurants in the gaslamp district, shopping, the convention center, the ball game, the bay area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It was fun to be close to the restuarants and club opportunities - easy walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Real Viking
Business
Central Wisconsin
Sep 14, 2009

Hotel Se

Good location for downtown, superb friendly and helpful staff. Rooms attractive, but quite small. Noise from club loud on weekends. Suite and Tender restaraunt excellent as well as room service. Parking and drinks very spendy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Landlu
Business
Oceanside, CA
Sep 6, 2009

Stay at the Se

We stayed one night at the Se for our anniversary. It was a beautiful building, and had a very competent and courteous staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lepsik
Business
Mountain View, CA
Aug 4, 2009

Fancy looking hotel. Can be loud

Nice hotel, great design, great location, good service. At about 5-6pm the pool becomes a night club, so you can't swim at night. Also, in the morning most beds around the pool have "reserved" signs. This is stupid, since no one's using them. Vallet parking is expensive. You can park across the street or couple blocks away twice cheaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Van Nuys, CA
Jul 27, 2009

Beauty Is Only Skin Deep

This new hotel is beautiful and chic, without a doubt...but it's missing the essential elements that really make a place comfortable. Our room did not have a dresser, any drawers in the bedside table, nor luggage racks. That means everything that couldn't be hung had to stay in our suitcases--on the floor! There were other basics missing from our room, as well, such as: * A bathtub (shower only) * Hooks on the bathroom walls for towels and robes * Grips, treads, and/or a handle bar to avoid slip and falls in the shower * A dry cleaning service or laundry bags * Hotel magazine or area guide book * And so on. It's almost as if they hired an interior designer who had never actually *stayed* in a hotel. The space was simply not functional. For a weekend trip, it was fine, but had I been there for business, I would have been seriously put out. Finally, although Se claims to be a 5-star hotel, they do not offer 5-star service. The staff is adequate and addresses customers' requests, but they do not go out of their way to make things special nor anticipate the needs of VIP guests. It simply isn't 5-star quality and, thus, is really not worth what it's charging per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JFG
Business
Silver Spring, MD
Jul 18, 2009

Advocate for Se San Diego

This is the place to stay while in San Diego. Everything is within walking distance such as the mall and train station. The staff was very friendly and professional. I will always stay at Se San Diego when I am visiting. I hated to leave but I will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Valencia CA
Jul 17, 2009

HORRIBLE experience here...

SWITCHED ROOMS 2 TIMES. THEY ENDED UP PUTTING US, A FAMILY OF 5 NEXT TO THE DISCO THAT KEPT US UP ALL NIGHT BECAUSE THEY NEEDED OUR ROOM FOR A "VIP"... Then they said they would comp the movie my kids watched and still tried to charge me for it...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top