$197 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2015 Check-out: Jul 14, 2015

Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1047 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Apr 11, 2010

April 7th-April 11

Good get away. Little on the loud side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Your about a block and half from Gas Lamp district. It seems pretty seedy when you are walking around but as long as you stay on 5th, it will get better quick. On friday/Saturday night dont miss the bar on the 4th floor. Good ambiance/entertainment.

Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lindsay N.
Business
Cambridge, MA
Mar 20, 2010

Luxury is about more than appearances!

It is fun to be in the gaslamp quarter, but you have to be careful: one block in the wrong direction and it's seedy. Great restaurants nearby, but if I went back to San Diego, I would definitely stay on one of the beaches (maybe La Jolla Shores or PB). I did not want to spend any time in the hotel room because it was uncomfortable. I kept getting the impression that it would be great for a single guy: someone who doesn't care about details. The furniture didn't seem to fit right. Bare walls. Dusty, dirty floors and surfaces. The bed was comfortable, but all I wanted to do in the room was sleep there. You could barely even find enough surface to open a bottle of wine or put down a glass. super weird decisions made in the bathroom: the door to the bathroom is a sliding frosted glass door that leaves an inch gap so there is really no privacy. There is no door to the shower and only a pane of glass covering half of the shower, so there's no privacy there either if you're sharing the room with someone. The shower head was directly over head so if you wanted a quick shower without getting your hair wet, you had to do some acrobatics (even with the shower cap on). Also, seemed like a very wasteful shower head for a place that should be a little concerned about water consumption. the gym and business center were good. The swimming pool was lovely, but no sun if you want to sunbathe. It's a very sexy place, but not comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Extraordinary Desserts for a meal and dessert!

Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not going back to Se
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 16, 2010

Se NO WAY!

Did not enjoy staying here. The room was not spotless and dusty. There was no shower door making it cold to shower. The menu was not appetizing and overpriced. Not many people staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richboro, PA
Mar 1, 2010

Mr.

Loved the atmosphere and location. The atmosphere was very understated and unique. Really tranquil. The staff was very nice on check-in. Definitely would stay there again and recommend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jacksonville Travelers
Business
Jacksonville, Oregon
Feb 10, 2010

A Good Value

Aside from the fact that upon checking in the reception desk took a good 15 minutes to locate our reserevations, this hotel is a good value. As compensation for keeping us waiting we were upgraded to a better room without having to ask. The location is excellent (within walking distance to most of the downtown San Diego attractions), the staff is friendly and helpful and the room spacious and clean. The only negative is the cost of parking ($36 per day) with few alternatives. I would highly recommend Hotel Se San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Horton Plaza is within easy walking distance.

Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just Your Average Gal
Business
Madison, WI
Feb 9, 2010

Good location, thin walls

We arrived late afternoon after a long day of traveling and wanted to take a quick rest before heading out on the town. Our room was right next to the elevators which made an unnecessary loud ding - almost like an alarm - so it was very hard to rest. We could also hear the people in the room next to us; they weren't being loud, the walls were just very thin. When we gave up on resting and decided to get ready, we discovered that the bathroom outlet did not work (yes, we tried pressing the reset button), which isn't that big of a deal, but there weren't any other outlets by a mirror. We decided to call down to the front desk and try for another room. They were very accommodating and sent a bell hop up promptly. The next room was just fine, but the walls were still very thin. The look of the room was very modern and appealing, but the lack of a dresser or any place to store clothes was a problem. Also, the practically see-through door to the bathroom left little to the imagination for someone else in the room. If you enjoy some privacy in the bathroom, this is not the place for you. The mini-bar was overpriced, no surprise there. We weren't sure if we were able to really use anything in the room - like the coffee pot or the bathrobes without being charged. The spa looked great, but also a bit pricey. The pool area looked wonderful, but the weather was not the best so we did not get to use it. We did enjoy the location of the hotel, the modern appeal, the friendly staff, and the cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Spend a day in Balboa park. Lots to see and do in a beautiful area just north of the gaslamp quarter.

Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just Your Average Gal
Business
Madison, WI
Feb 9, 2010

Good location, thin walls

We arrived late afternoon after a long day of traveling and wanted to take a quick rest before heading out on the town. Our room was right next to the elevators which made an unnecessary loud ding - almost like an alarm - so it was very hard to rest. We could also hear the people in the room next to us; they weren't being loud, the walls were just very thin. When we gave up on resting and decided to get ready, we discovered that the bathroom outlet did not work (yes, we tried pressing the reset button), which isn't that big of a deal, but there weren't any other outlets by a mirror. We decided to call down to the front desk and try for another room. They were very accommodating and sent a bell hop up promptly. The next room was just fine, but the walls were still very thin. The look of the room was very modern and appealing, but the lack of a dresser or any place to store clothes was a problem. Also, the practically see-through door to the bathroom left little to the imagination for someone else in the room. If you enjoy some privacy in the bathroom, this is not the place for you. The mini-bar was overpriced, no surprise there. We weren't sure if we were able to really use anything in the room - like the coffee pot or the bathrobes without being charged. The spa looked great, but also a bit pricey. The pool area looked wonderful, but the weather was not the best so we did not get to use it. We did enjoy the location of the hotel, the modern appeal, the friendly staff, and the cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Spend a day in Balboa park. Lots to see and do in a beautiful area just north of the gaslamp quarter.

Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas
Jan 25, 2010

Se Sandiego Honeymoon

Quick check-in, wonderfull bell desk and valet service...superb restaurant and lounge!! Great experience...too short!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Granada Hills, CA
Dec 15, 2009

Trendy, new, but ok

The hotel is fairly new and the building architecture and interior design are nice. The hotel staff from car to checkin/out are great, freidnly and treat everyone with top notch service. My only real complaints are: 1. my room was a little dirty (hardwood floors and there was dust accumilation enough that it was visible. If this is more apparent becuase of hardwood floors versus in other hotels with carpets, then its on the staff and also the business to afford more time, cleaning each room. and 2. the bathroom privacy (egads!!) where the "door" to the bathroom is really a semi-transparent glass that sits 2 to 4 inches away from the wall making gaps visible from the side... The bathroom privacy is the single most item which prevents me from recommending it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a club in the hotel, the house of blues next door, CVS across the street and many other businesses or restraunts within a block or two. The tolly is also near by which can extend your travel options significantly

Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Rosa Ca
Dec 10, 2009

Should be called SE' Motel 6

i was looking forward to staying at the Se' based on a friend that lives in San Diego my first choice was the W i will start with arrival as you get out of taxi you are greeted by several blocks of homeless people and panhandlers did not feel safe at all then we checked in was pleasantly surprised to get a free upgrade to upper floors then off to our room with a beautiful view of neighboring rooftops with no possible view of any city lights i must say the bed was very nice ok it was late woke up to a lukewarm to cold shower on our way out talked to reception and asked if they could fix problem woke up next morning to a cold shower we had a later flight so i called front desk and asked for a late checkout a very snippy young girl said best we can do is 1pm hard to believe because hotel was empty so we took our bags downstairs and checked them into secure closet came back for our bags of course they mixed up our bags with some one Else's finally got correct bags bell man informed us our taxi was outside [*] overall one of the worst experience i have had in a four star hotel i would also like to say for the record i have traveled all over the world always stay in four star hotels and it is not unusual to have some inconvenience's this hotel needs tremendous improvement my suggestion is stay somewhere else and save your money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top