$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
1047 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
70 reviews
Great Location

Staff was Excellent! Very upscale, trendy hotel. Perfect location. all restaurants & nightlife, in... See full review

  • Steel City
  • Sep 30, 2013
Relaxing Business Trip

The staff at the Palomar were very friendly and helpful and went above and beyond to make my stay... See full review

  • Trentino Tom
  • Feb 9, 2013
Asian-influenced luxury at downtown hotel

Move into luxury and sophisticated, art-filled style at Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel at the gateway to the Gaslamp District. Rooms are modern and sophisticated. The on-site spa invites you to relax and rejuvenate in remarkable style. The hotel boasts a swanky rooftop pool lounge open to the public and its on-site restaurant, Saltbox Dining & Drinking, offers traditional American bistro fare featuring local seafood. The hotel also sits next to the local House of Blues.

Highlights
  • Swanky rooftop pool lounge open to the public
  • Splurge on a treatment at the on-site spa
  • Nightly wine reception
  • Chauffeur service within a two-mile radius (limited service and times)
Rooms

Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel offers 183 rooms, including 20 one-bedroom suites that feature Brazilian walnut floors and modern furniture. Each room comes standard with a plasma flat-screen TV, an MP3 docking station, animal print robes, luxurious bath amenities, Italian Frette linens, rainforest shower heads, organic honor bars and in-room safe. Floor-to-ceiling windows open so guests can feel the ocean breeze. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available.

Features

Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel was named to the 2009 Hot List by Conde Nast Traveler magazine.

All guests receive complimentary access to the rooftop heated pool and on-site 24-hour fitness center with state-of-the-art equipment. At night, the pool deck transforms into a open-air lounge where guests receive free admission. Stays include complimentary chauffeur service around downtown (within a two-mile radius at limited service and times) and a nightly wine reception. Travelers are also entitled to a complimentary overnight shoe shine.

Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel features a full-service spa that invites you to relax and rejuvenate in remarkable style (fees apply).

Grab a meal at Saltbox Dining & Drinking, an American bistro that serves innovative comfort food.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (8 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (4 mi/7 km)
Attractions
  • Gaslamp District (2 blocks)
  • Petco Park (8 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (2 mi/3 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/5 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (4 mi/7 km)
  • Point Loma (5 mi/9 km)
  • Sea World (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access for Kimpton InTouch loyalty members
  • About 22,000 square feet of meeting space
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Deluxe Guest Room wit
Accessible Deluxe 2 Double and Roll-In 402-420 sq ft-acessible tub- comm features-
City Center Skyline Loft with 1
City Center Skyline Loft with 1 King Bed 834 sq ft, views of San Diego, living area, dining table for 6, full kitchen, frette
Gaslamp Skyline Loft with 1 King
Gaslamp Skyline Loft with 1 King Bed 969 sq ft, views of San Diego, balcony, 1.5 bathrooms, living area, dining table for 6
Deluxe Room with 2 Double Beds
Deluxe Guest Room with 2 Double Beds 402-420 sq ft, lower floor, frette linens rainforest shower, MP3 alarm clock, desk
Skyline View with 1 King Bed
Skyline View Guest Room with 1 King Bed 317-446 sq ft views of San Diego, frette linens glass rainforest shower, MP3 alarm clock,desk
Skyline View Suite 1 King Bed
Skyline View Suite with 1 King Bed 581-920 sq ft, views of San Diego, living room frette linens, glass rainforest shower, MP3
Accessible Deluxe Guest Room wit
Accessible Deluxe 2 Double Roll-In 402-420 sq ft, roll-in shower, communication features,
Luxury Three Bedroom Penthouse
Luxury Three Bedroom Penthouse 2779 sq ft, bi-level,3 kings,view of San Diego 2 private balconies, living area, table for 6
Coronado Skyline Loft with 1 Kin
Coronado Skyline Loft with 1 King Bed 1042 sq ft, views of Coronado, two balconies, living area, dining table for 6, full kitchen
SD Harbor Skyline Loft 1 King
San Diego Harbo Skyline Loft with 1 King Bed 942 sq ft, views of the bay, balcony,
Accessible Deluxe Guest Room wit
Accessible Deluxe 1 King Roll-In 380-550 sq ft-lower floor-frette linens Roll in shower commucation ftrs avail
Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed
Deluxe Guest Room with 1 King Bed 380-550 sq ft-lower floor-frette linens rainforest shower-mp3 alarm clock-desk
Luxury 2 Bedroom Penthouse
Luxury Two Bedroom Penthouse 1843 sq ft, bi-level, 2 king, views of Coronado 2 private balconies, living area, table for 6
Balboa Skyline Loft with 1 King
Balboa Skyline Loft with 1 King Bed 1176 sq ft, views of San Diego, balcony, living area, dining table for 4, full kitchen

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Children's activities
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Grab bars in bathroom
TDD telephone machine
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.4 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28 mi
  • Legoland: 29.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.2 mi

Dining

Saltbox Dining and Drinking
Saltbox raises the bar with its gastro-lounge approach featuring fresh farm-to-table ingredients. Here a deceptively simple menu takes on a spirited focus with skillful food and drink pairings.
SummerSalt Lounge
The lounge is a magnet by day or night where hotel guests and locals alike luxuriate in comfortable casual seating and the open-air pool deck setting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (70)

Ratings and reviews for Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.4

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richboro, PA
Mar 1, 2010

Mr.

Loved the atmosphere and location. The atmosphere was very understated and unique. Really tranquil. The staff was very nice on check-in. Definitely would stay there again and recommend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jacksonville Travelers
Business
Jacksonville, Oregon
Feb 10, 2010

A Good Value

Aside from the fact that upon checking in the reception desk took a good 15 minutes to locate our reserevations, this hotel is a good value. As compensation for keeping us waiting we were upgraded to a better room without having to ask. The location is excellent (within walking distance to most of the downtown San Diego attractions), the staff is friendly and helpful and the room spacious and clean. The only negative is the cost of parking ($36 per day) with few alternatives. I would highly recommend Hotel Se San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Horton Plaza is within easy walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just Your Average Gal
Business
Madison, WI
Feb 9, 2010

Good location, thin walls

We arrived late afternoon after a long day of traveling and wanted to take a quick rest before heading out on the town. Our room was right next to the elevators which made an unnecessary loud ding - almost like an alarm - so it was very hard to rest. We could also hear the people in the room next to us; they weren't being loud, the walls were just very thin. When we gave up on resting and decided to get ready, we discovered that the bathroom outlet did not work (yes, we tried pressing the reset button), which isn't that big of a deal, but there weren't any other outlets by a mirror. We decided to call down to the front desk and try for another room. They were very accommodating and sent a bell hop up promptly. The next room was just fine, but the walls were still very thin. The look of the room was very modern and appealing, but the lack of a dresser or any place to store clothes was a problem. Also, the practically see-through door to the bathroom left little to the imagination for someone else in the room. If you enjoy some privacy in the bathroom, this is not the place for you. The mini-bar was overpriced, no surprise there. We weren't sure if we were able to really use anything in the room - like the coffee pot or the bathrobes without being charged. The spa looked great, but also a bit pricey. The pool area looked wonderful, but the weather was not the best so we did not get to use it. We did enjoy the location of the hotel, the modern appeal, the friendly staff, and the cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Spend a day in Balboa park. Lots to see and do in a beautiful area just north of the gaslamp quarter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas
Jan 25, 2010

Se Sandiego Honeymoon

Quick check-in, wonderfull bell desk and valet service...superb restaurant and lounge!! Great experience...too short!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Granada Hills, CA
Dec 15, 2009

Trendy, new, but ok

The hotel is fairly new and the building architecture and interior design are nice. The hotel staff from car to checkin/out are great, freidnly and treat everyone with top notch service. My only real complaints are: 1. my room was a little dirty (hardwood floors and there was dust accumilation enough that it was visible. If this is more apparent becuase of hardwood floors versus in other hotels with carpets, then its on the staff and also the business to afford more time, cleaning each room. and 2. the bathroom privacy (egads!!) where the "door" to the bathroom is really a semi-transparent glass that sits 2 to 4 inches away from the wall making gaps visible from the side... The bathroom privacy is the single most item which prevents me from recommending it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a club in the hotel, the house of blues next door, CVS across the street and many other businesses or restraunts within a block or two. The tolly is also near by which can extend your travel options significantly

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Rosa Ca
Dec 10, 2009

Should be called SE' Motel 6

i was looking forward to staying at the Se' based on a friend that lives in San Diego my first choice was the W i will start with arrival as you get out of taxi you are greeted by several blocks of homeless people and panhandlers did not feel safe at all then we checked in was pleasantly surprised to get a free upgrade to upper floors then off to our room with a beautiful view of neighboring rooftops with no possible view of any city lights i must say the bed was very nice ok it was late woke up to a lukewarm to cold shower on our way out talked to reception and asked if they could fix problem woke up next morning to a cold shower we had a later flight so i called front desk and asked for a late checkout a very snippy young girl said best we can do is 1pm hard to believe because hotel was empty so we took our bags downstairs and checked them into secure closet came back for our bags of course they mixed up our bags with some one Else's finally got correct bags bell man informed us our taxi was outside [*] overall one of the worst experience i have had in a four star hotel i would also like to say for the record i have traveled all over the world always stay in four star hotels and it is not unusual to have some inconvenience's this hotel needs tremendous improvement my suggestion is stay somewhere else and save your money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakewood
Nov 22, 2009

My first time

I love the atmosphere and the neatness of this hotel. The Zen and relaxation connection were interesting. Only difficulty, my room was close to the swimming pool; it was too noisy but the staff was very comprehensive and found me another quiet room. I do recommend this hotel (maybe pricy for most of us) if you want to experience something new.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

spanish restaurants ( and others) close by are excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Malibu Ca
Nov 18, 2009

Cramped Upscale Hotel

Not what I would call a comfortable hotel- noisy party going types generally while we were there- a modern look was achieved at the expense of adequate space-the single sink was very tiny and wouldn't our things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati Ohio
Nov 17, 2009

Five star apperance 3 star service....

This hotel is built w/ class and style but that is not always tied together w/ practicality and service. The showers are built for short people, I am 6'3 and everything felt short form the location of the shower head to the beds... I also had a bad experience w/ a dry clean service I requested for next day delivery and it made me get late to my meeting. Reason why was because the where over 30 min late to deliver for the expected time and the time notified on the service sheet. I was also ask way to much whenever I stepped in if I wanted to check in, when i already had a room, not to mention i was escorted to the floor level by the hotel manager almost like if i didn't belong there... All in all place is beautiful but lacks customer service and functionality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
colorado
Oct 19, 2009

amazing hotel

Incredible interior and exterior desiging. Rooms were really clean and spacious

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top