$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1047 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laguna Beach
Jul 5, 2011

Being stylish comes with a price tag $$

The Hotel was chic and stylish overall. Very nice lobby and restaurants. Beds were comfy but the room was super small. We were excited to tan by the pool, but by 9am all 12 of the lounge chairs were filled. And if you want to lounge on a day bed, it's a $500 minimum. It's just upsetting that hotel doesn't provide enough chairs. Valet is almost $40. Style comes at a price I guess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sammy's Woodfire grill serves tasty pizzas and filling salads. It's a cute little restaurant for couples or families.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Falls Church, VA
Jul 5, 2011

Unbeatable Location

This hotel is perfect for the young traveler, the room was spacious and the bed was so comfortable I wanted to take it home with me. It is perfectly located about a block from the start/end of the Gaslamp district and right next door to the House of blues. Even with it being so close to all the nightlife, when its time to pass out in their bed you wouldn't even realize that the party is still going down below. Only complaint with the place is that the showers are only a half closed with glass and no curtains or anything to block water from making a swimming pool on the bathroom floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego,ca
Jul 4, 2011

Great!

Great trip. Location, location, location. Perfect location, close to everything. Room very clean, a little disappointed in room size (a little smaller than our usual)but everything else made up for it! Would absolutely recommend to family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oceanside CA
Jul 1, 2011

Good location...

We have stayed in this hotel before only last time it was in the fall had a great time and the location is prime so we decided to stay again. Pro's would include location, staff was helpful, the rooms are clean and beds are extremely comfy!! My only complaint for this trip was that we had no hot water the morning of our departure! For me thats a deal breaker...4 star hotels should be able to accommodate everyone with hot water. So if this is NOT a deal breaker for you then you will enjoy your stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Encino,CA
Jul 1, 2011

Unimpressed

Upon arrival the valet personnel was great very helful. Upon entering the hotel the concierge was pleasnt and directed us to the front desk. The front desk clerk had no personality at all. She didnt even greet us when we walked up to her,she just stared at us. once we told her we had a reservation she took our credit card to verify and gave it back to us. Then she gave us our room key without telling us our room number or where the elevator was located. Our room was hard to find because the room number was missing on the door. When we walked in the room we had an incrediblw view of a brick wall/roog with air conditiner ducts. The women staff was mediocre but the men were very helpful, especially being new in sandiego they gave us directions where to find food and late nite fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Movie Theatre

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
midwest
Jun 27, 2011

Se san Diego

Enjoyed our one night stop at Se San Diego. Great designed hotel with a lobby "wine tasting" happy hour! The Concierge [...] was great and made great recommendations!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
OCNino
Business
Irvine, CA
Jun 21, 2011

Mediocre

Hotel was nice but they were understaffed, had to call multiple times for guest service. The TV in the room did not work, they had to send over the technicians to repair it. Had to wait 3 hours for the TV to finally work. No discounts were offered and $39.00 valet was pretty expensive i thought. Still had fun though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Good live latin jazz up the street at Love's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 7, 2011

Se (memorial weekend 2011)

I visited the Se San Diego, CA during the memorial day weekend 2011. The location was extremely convenient and allowed us to walk to and from all of the parties we attended during that weekend. The hotel has a very "zen" feel to it, it's gorgeous and beds were extremely comfortable. Bedrooms are quite compact. The sliding restroom door in our room was adjacent to the foot of the bed. if you're on a date weekend, it is very difficult to be discrete in the restroom. You can hear every sound and any scent coming from the restroom because the doors do not close snuggly within the doorway. Shower had an enormous showerhead that dropped from the ceiling. Made it seem like you're showering in the rain, very relaxing - however,I felt so guilty about the amount of water wasted during a quick shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
RIchmond,Va
Apr 10, 2011

Weekend Getaway

We stayed here two years ago when Se had just opened and came back for another stay. A few changes but still a great stay. we decided to upgrade to a room with a balconey overlooking the pool....great but really noisy on Friday and Saturday nights as it turns into a nightclub. The hotel is beautiful and sleek but service could step it up. The only negative is that the service should be as impeccable as the look of the hotel. Next time we'll stay at the Kimpton...they always spoil you and at a better price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

GReat mexican food at Pokeyz right around the corner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Havanitas
Business
Mission Viejo, CA
Apr 5, 2011

Great Hotel

Hotel is very nice. The staff provides excellent service. We loved the Asian-fusion design. There was a party at the pool that night, but the hotel was very smart in booking us on the other side of the hotel so we could have our quiet, romantic evening. The club was hopping later that evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to La Gran Tapa for dinner. Service is excellent. Food is superb. The owners are very hospitable and gracious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top