$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1047 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mojave Man
Business
Henderson, NV
Jul 4, 2012

Not so special!

I booked this hotel through online bidding and paid $100 per night. Cannot complain much about the price since the room was clean and the location was great and very convenient for us. I would stay at this hotel again for the right price (<$100.00)!!! As far as their regular booking price is concerned, however, I would most certainly not pay $150 or higher to stay at this hotel. First the room was small and the bed and pillows were not comfy. We had a king bed for the family (the three of us) and not a great sleeping experience... Second, internet is an additional charge, except for those who sign up for the hotel's internet deals!!! Sign up online, print it, and hand it to the front desk. You will be asked to use your e-mail address as your password to access the internet. Additionally, they will give you a $10 gift card to be used at the bar. We did not use the bar or other amenities at all, as I didn't find the hotel and its location very family friendly. Especially during the night time!!! The biggest con is the parking fee ($36 + tip per night). But one does not have many alternatives, as dozens of parking garages in the downtown area won't help. They will charge $28 a day! Here is the golden tip: there are numerous parking meters around and parking is free between 6:00 PM and 8:00 AM!!! Just drive around and find an available parking meter. I was lucky to have found one every night effortlessly during our stay. You just need to look around. The Panera Bread (in walking distance<5min) on Broadway and Second (by the NBC Tower) was a life saver. We had our breakfast there every morning. Try their free coffee in the morning! It is really good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Free parking between 6:00 PM and 8:00 AM everyday!!! Just locate an available parking meter and you have free on street parking...

Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 2, 2012

Weekend Getaway

The hotel staff was fantastic and the room was very comfortable. It is located right in the heart of Gaslamp district and walking anywhere is very easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jojok500
Business
LA, CA
May 29, 2012

Nice weekend in SD!

Great hotel in the heart of gaslamp. was expecting a bigger room for SKYLINE view suite. view was AWESOME! Staff was great. valet is $36 per day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Slim921
Business
Annapolis, MD
May 4, 2012

working out kinks

I was at Palomar San Diego for business and expected the basic business accommodations: wifi (yes!), printing (no! really?). The room was missing basics like a pen, a working lamp, a list of hotel amenities, a pad of paper with the address so I could tell colleagues where to pick me up. And the one room phone (which is plenty) was not near the bed - bad for wake up calls. And that call at 10p to see if I liked my room service was a bit much. However, the staff was very friendly, the happy hour was very generous, the pool was wonderful, and I feel like they're on the right track.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

head down the street into the Gas Lamp district for food, especially, but also Petco Stadium for baseball, and some shopping.

Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pushi
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
May 2, 2012

Palomar San Diego

Very comfortable and clean. Staff is okay. Valet parking little too expensive ($ 36 per night). 5 minutes walk to fun bars in downtown San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Red pearl Kitchen

Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tlmjdoit
Business
Alexandria, VA, USA
Apr 28, 2012

Great Location in Gaslamp for Business trip

I go to San Diego every month for business and I've wanted to stay at the Palomar (since I've stayed at their sister hotel Salomar and really liked it). I really liked the location (right beside the House of Blues and near really nice bars and restaurants). I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you love wine try out the wine bar Syrah right up the street!

Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TLEN
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Nice Hotel

Location's great, right at the heart of Gaslamp district. The hotel is very trendy. Room is very comfortable and nicely decorated. Unfortunately, my room was on the third floor , right next to the Spa where I can hear a lot of foot traffic and elevator noise. Overall, it was a nice experience. I would go back again and make sure that I am not on the third floor. Oh...one more thing, overnight parking is $36!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shhayes
Business
Beaumont, CA, USA
Jan 10, 2012

couple retreat

The staff was extremely kind and helpful. We were asked to upgrade to a condo and we accepted. However, we were a bit disappointed that the area rugs had large spots on them and one of the bathrooms were missing drawer handles. The rooms were beautiful and comfortable, but considering the extra price we paid it was a bit of a let down. You couldn't ask for a better location, we absolutely loved the proximity to so many amazing restaurants and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sierra Vista, AZ
Jul 31, 2011

Awesome Rooms!

My family decided to stay here during our vacation in San Diego. We spent two nights. The rooms are incredible. I stayed in a Luxe Suite, my brother was in a DBL room with his family, and my sister was in a condo. The rooms are beautiful. The hotel did have two downsides. 1) The employees on duty were arguing with friends or acquaintances and the dispute got heated. This was very unprofessional and should not have happened in front of us. 2) The place is not kid-friendly. The lobby boasts some expensive items that draw the interest of children. A young lady had her son in the lobby and the child broke a bead strand with a piece of crystal or something. They charged her $150 per piece and the concierge acted disgusted. If you allow children in your hotel then you have to be prepared for the unexpected. 3) The pool closes way to early during the week. Overall, I think the hotel was wonderful. I would recommend staying there if you don't mind dealing with the occasional unprofessionalism the young staff may exhibit. My family and I absolutely loved the hotel and we will be planning another visit soon, without children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a lot of great dining within a few blocks. Everything from 24 hour places to classier restaurants. Starbucks is also a few blocks away.

Review of Palomar San Diego a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Jul 16, 2011

Very chic and quiet

Se Hotel was super stylish and fun to come home to every evening. The higher floors have an amazing view of downtown San Diego, the Gaslamp Quarter, Coronado Island, and the ocean beyond. My 1 BR suite was luxuriously appointed and I had a hard time leaving. It's on Broadway, so it's a little bit of a walk to the convention center with lots of transients around, but it's worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy to catch a bus from Broadway to Coronado Island or Mission Beach!

Back to menu Return to top