$203 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

4 stars
View map of 610 Diamond St., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
228 out of 228
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
golfbeat
Business
Switzerland
Nov 5, 2013

Great location and nice hotel size ( 2 levels only). Rooms and furniture are well designed

We booked for one night and decided to stay one addiitonal night after having experienced the first night. A bar would be very welcomed to have drinks on the pool side in the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Welch
Business
OKC
Oct 27, 2013

Right on the beach

The hotel is right on the beach which is great. The staff was also very good. Willing to help us by printing out directions and with dinner recommendations. The cookies at the front desk each evening was a great touch. The water, tea, lemonade they offered another nice touch. Location was great with many places to walk to and right by a bus stop. The bus was not bad other than having to wait but it saved us a ton of money over renting a car and then paying for gas and valet parking. We had the best available partial ocean view suite on the north side of the hotel 3rd floor. It is a ways back due to special suites and other room classes with closer views. My wife was unhappy because she could see the street but the view of the ocean was great. So if you can handle looking at a street and ocean behind it then it is a good deal) We were there 6 days so the suite offered the kitchen and fridge which came in handy to allow us the extra space as well as storage of food/drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Moondoggies. Pretty good specials for Saturday college football. The front desk had a coupon for a free appetizer with 20 dollar purchase.

Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss Popponesset
Business
Morris Plains, NJ
Oct 17, 2013

Weekend Getaway

Hopped into town from the east coast for a San Diego immersion weekend...was looking for a La Jolla retreat but chose the Pacific Terrace based on all the great reviews on line and the fact that it was on the beach (apparently there is cliffside but no beachside resort in LaJolla). You can believe everything you read about staff friendliness - they really do go out of their way for you. The grounds (pool area) was clean and comfortable ( smaller than I anticipated from the photos but large enough so that it never felt crowded). Quality lounge chairs and outdoor seating for morning breakfasts (which we did not indulge in but plenty of others were). We rented a king junior suite, partial view on the ground floor - ...Plenty big for the two of us and having our own private patio space with access to walk right out to the pool and boardwalk was a plus. (The downside was our neighbors were hosting some type of party in their outdoor area so we had to shut the door to block the sound - this would have been avoided had we chosen the 3rd floor unit). The partial view was truly full view (with the exception of the patio furniture and greenery being in front of us) andl better than I had hoped for. It was great to hear the ocean with the doors open. My nitpick on the room was that the decor was 'heavy' and 'dark' -but as seen in the photos - while the management clearly took pains to invest in quality furniture, fits and finishes I felt I was in Plantation mode more than light and breezy beach scene. If you can get past that you'll appreciate all the little extras provided. Access to the beach and boardwalk was a definate WOW, but if you've not been to Pacific Beach before be prepared to be underwhelmed by the surrounding neighborhood - more surfer dude / college vibe than upscale LaJolla and that's ok as long as you go in with eyes open. Still, it's close enough that you can hop over to Lajolla's fab restaurants, trendy shops and beautiful cliffscapes in less than 10 minutes. I'd definately recommend the Terrace, but due to the neighborhood can't give it the 5 stars it probably deserves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tstew
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Oct 14, 2013

Amazing place

This was probably the best hotel at which I have ever stayed. We had high expectations (given the $300+/night pricetag) and they were exceeded. People were lovely, location suberb. The only negative would be the rather mundane (though affordable) breakfast buffet. No matter, much better options were always within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vickilv
Business
Vegas
Aug 29, 2013

Delightful mini vacation

Booked hotel as it was priced right, appeared to be near the ocean, and was near zoo and Del Mar raceway which were on the list for a short trip. This turned out to be an outstanding property and I would have loved to stay longer. Joe at the front desk was super as well as every staff member we encountered~and an amazing thing happened~we arrived to be told the hotel a ccidently overbooked~so rather than the room I reserved~we were given room 306 which was a gorgeous luxury suite with 2 verandahs open to the ocean ,a dining room, sunken tub bathroom, and a giant heavenly bed! Wow! What a treat and great service! Joe directed us to dinner on the ocean just down the way at Jdan~impecable service and food. What a joy to find lovely place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrittanySF
Business
San Francisco, California
Jun 26, 2013

Romantic getaway

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Pacific Terrace for 4 nights in June of 2013. We enjoyed the hotel and the location on Pacific Beach. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and our room was comfortable with a great ocean view. The best feature of the Pacific Terrace is the location! We did not need a car, as we could walk to bars, restaurants, shopping, etc. We enjoyed swimming in the hotel pool, laying out at the beach, and walking down the boardwalk. Pacific Beach has a lot to offer! However, it should be noted that the hotel does not have a restaurant on-site; therefore, you need to eat out for meals. They do offer room-service (until 10pm) from nearby eateries; however, the selection is slightly limited. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a relaxing beach getaway, especially if you are comfortable eating out and exploring the surrounding area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Austin the great
Business
San Diego, California
Jun 21, 2013

Best Hotel of my experience

This hotel was beautiful, clean, best beach access and friendly. We will definitely go back again. I really hope I get to stay at this hotel again in the near future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fat Fish

Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Camper Tres
Business
Palm Springs CA
Jun 14, 2013

Wonderful Stay

This is one of our favorite places to stay. It's always perfect !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Love Joe's Crab Shack

Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ShaB7n7
Business
Saratoga Springs, NY
Jun 10, 2013

Captures the essence of Pacific Beach

The rooms were great, the view was amazing for the price and the location was perfect!! If you love Pacific Beach, CA... you want to stay here. Great restaurants in walking distance and the beach is right outside :)!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BeachLover1001
Business
Colorado
May 2, 2013

fantastic!

Great hotel! I highly recommend to anyone. Right on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top