$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

4 stars
View map of 610 Diamond St., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
225 out of 225
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janeeacton
Business
Indianapolis
Apr 13, 2014

A Gem on Pacific Beach

I was amazed at this hotel. Very impressed with the hotel, staff, amenities. You cannot find a nicer place in PB.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Texas Ags
Business
Texas
Mar 14, 2014

Fun family spring break getaway

Hotel was very nice and was in a perfect location close to all attractions in the San Diego area. The air conditioning in our room did not work well, but we were not in our room much and at night we left the screen door open since it was cool we could listen to the waves. Parking was $25 per day, but you can park on the street for free if you can find a spot. Also there is a $14 per day resort fee that we were not aware of. So take advantage of using the facilities - complimentary use of bikes, chairs & umbrellas for the beach, family picture, wine upon arrival, cookies in afternoon...etc The views from the room were fantastic! Reminded me of Maui. Definitely worth the extra money to get the full ocean view room and on be on floors 2 or 3. Overall a great property and lots of fun. Great memories! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JG631
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Feb 4, 2014

A great stay!

We had a wonderful stay. The staff was great and very friendly, always asking about our days activities. We loved being right next to the beach and took advantage of walking along the boardwalk many times. We even took advantage of the bicycles the hotel provided and rode along the boardwalk too. The room was lovely and the beds were very comfortable. And although we didn't take advantage of the pool, we did go sit by one of the natural gas fires out in the courtyard, enjoying the evening. It really was a wonderful experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast, Kono Island is the best! A very wonderful meal for a reasonable price and they have outside seating overlooking the ocean so you can watch the surfers while you eat. It was a fun way to start the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicolette Chicago
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Feb 4, 2014

Great Place! Will stay here again!

This hotel has a great location. I love Pacific Beach and you are close enough to San Diego, Carlsbad, etc to get around pretty easily (granted, we rented a car). The hotel rooms were larger than I expected and I loved that the hotel was smaller and had a more intimate feel. I will definitely be staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at World Famous just South of Pacific Beach. It's a few blocks down, just walk along the beach til you get there. Get their fish tacos, but you can only order them at the bar. We went there 3 times for them! I am very critical of food and absolutely loved these!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
W Ray
Business
Indy
Dec 23, 2013

A keeper!

The hotel location is next to none in terms of beach access and views of the ocean. Always something engaging within short walking distances. The room was immaculate and maintained in pristine condition. The staff was very congenial, and to the person, always had a warm greeting with a sense of willingness to assist. The beds are in the ultra comfort category and make a restful night easy. Security was good and maintained a presence while being out of view. In room keurig machine and lobby coffeepot got morning started. Would not change anything about this hotel. Only situation where less than ideal conditions existed was the sound from adjoining rooms both next door and coming thru the ceiling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

all 3 meals can be accomplished via shops and vendors close by

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Business man to the stars
Business
Phoenix , AZ
Dec 7, 2013

Business

Great location , I have family and the location was perfect forlorn me. Will stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cabby
Business
KY
Nov 24, 2013

Nice Hotel

Average hotel. A little dated. Friendly cleaning staff. Good location. Over priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
golfbeat
Business
Switzerland
Nov 5, 2013

Great location and nice hotel size ( 2 levels only). Rooms and furniture are well designed

We booked for one night and decided to stay one addiitonal night after having experienced the first night. A bar would be very welcomed to have drinks on the pool side in the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Welch
Business
OKC
Oct 27, 2013

Right on the beach

The hotel is right on the beach which is great. The staff was also very good. Willing to help us by printing out directions and with dinner recommendations. The cookies at the front desk each evening was a great touch. The water, tea, lemonade they offered another nice touch. Location was great with many places to walk to and right by a bus stop. The bus was not bad other than having to wait but it saved us a ton of money over renting a car and then paying for gas and valet parking. We had the best available partial ocean view suite on the north side of the hotel 3rd floor. It is a ways back due to special suites and other room classes with closer views. My wife was unhappy because she could see the street but the view of the ocean was great. So if you can handle looking at a street and ocean behind it then it is a good deal) We were there 6 days so the suite offered the kitchen and fridge which came in handy to allow us the extra space as well as storage of food/drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Moondoggies. Pretty good specials for Saturday college football. The front desk had a coupon for a free appetizer with 20 dollar purchase.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss Popponesset
Business
Morris Plains, NJ
Oct 17, 2013

Weekend Getaway

Hopped into town from the east coast for a San Diego immersion weekend...was looking for a La Jolla retreat but chose the Pacific Terrace based on all the great reviews on line and the fact that it was on the beach (apparently there is cliffside but no beachside resort in LaJolla). You can believe everything you read about staff friendliness - they really do go out of their way for you. The grounds (pool area) was clean and comfortable ( smaller than I anticipated from the photos but large enough so that it never felt crowded). Quality lounge chairs and outdoor seating for morning breakfasts (which we did not indulge in but plenty of others were). We rented a king junior suite, partial view on the ground floor - ...Plenty big for the two of us and having our own private patio space with access to walk right out to the pool and boardwalk was a plus. (The downside was our neighbors were hosting some type of party in their outdoor area so we had to shut the door to block the sound - this would have been avoided had we chosen the 3rd floor unit). The partial view was truly full view (with the exception of the patio furniture and greenery being in front of us) andl better than I had hoped for. It was great to hear the ocean with the doors open. My nitpick on the room was that the decor was 'heavy' and 'dark' -but as seen in the photos - while the management clearly took pains to invest in quality furniture, fits and finishes I felt I was in Plantation mode more than light and breezy beach scene. If you can get past that you'll appreciate all the little extras provided. Access to the beach and boardwalk was a definate WOW, but if you've not been to Pacific Beach before be prepared to be underwhelmed by the surrounding neighborhood - more surfer dude / college vibe than upscale LaJolla and that's ok as long as you go in with eyes open. Still, it's close enough that you can hop over to Lajolla's fab restaurants, trendy shops and beautiful cliffscapes in less than 10 minutes. I'd definately recommend the Terrace, but due to the neighborhood can't give it the 5 stars it probably deserves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top