$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

4 stars
610 Diamond St., San Diego, CA 92106
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
206 reviews
Fantastic Ocean Front Property

Great value for this 4 star property. Rooms are plush and beds are very comfortable. Right on the... See full review

  • O. K.
  • Nov 22, 2014
My Mom loved it!

I wanted an easy access room for my Mom when she came to town to visit. She loved her room. She had... See full review

  • Jenny U.
  • Nov 22, 2014
San Diego resort overlooks Pacific Ocean
As its name suggests, the Pacific Terrace Hotel is situated on bluffs between Mission Bay and La Jolla, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The hotel is decorated with a tropical theme and all of the 73 rooms include patios or balconies, many with an ocean view. The resort also features a heated outdoor pool and in-room massage treatments. Though the property doesn't have an on-site restaurant, it has arranged charge-back privileges with local restaurants where guests can sign their bill to their hotel room.
Highlights
  • Breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean
  • Enjoy convenience of charge-back privileges at many local restaurants
  • In-room massage treatments
  • Direct access to the beach
  • Within walking distance of beachfront shops and restaurants
Rooms

The Pacific Terrace Hotel's 73 rooms, including 30 suites feature Plantation shutters, tapestries and silk fans. Many rooms offer patios or balconies with views of the Pacific Ocean. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, in-room safe and plush robes. Nintendo games, Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are all available.

Features

The Pacific Terrace Hotel has received a four-diamond award from AAA. It is actually situated in the community of Pacific Beach, an area known for its great nightlife and beaches.

All guests receive complimentary access to the heated outdoor pool, as well as access to the on-site fitness center with TotalBody elliptical trainers and SportsArt treadmills. The hotel offers in-room massage treatments (fees apply), as well as treatments out near the pool (fees apply).

Guests can have cooked-to-order breakfast every morning (fees apply). Though the property doesn't have a formal restaurant on-site, it has worked out charge-back privileges with local restaurants where guests can sign bills to their hotel room. The room service menu is comprised of dishes from some of the neighboring eateries (fees apply) as well. Parking is also available for an added fee.

Transportation
  • San Diego International Airport (10 mi/16.1 km)
Attractions
  • Sea World (4 mi/6 km)
  • La Jolla (5 mi/8 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (10 mi/16 km)
  • Gaslamp Quarter (11 mi/18 km)
  • Coronado Island (15 mi/24 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Executive boardroom measures 900 square feet
Policies and fees
  • Starting 15 Nov, the hotel's parking fee will increase to $25 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7995 -117.2579
Area served
San Diego
Nearby airports
San Diego Lindbergh Field
Area description
Pacific Beach

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego Rooms

Non View
Non View - These non view rooms are located on the 1st, 2nd or 3rd floor and most open out to a patio or balcony. Two queen size beds or 1 king.
Partial Ocean View
Partial Ocean View - These rooms are located on the 1st, 2nd or 3rd floor, and either open out onto our pool level or face north or south to the California Coastline. These rooms offer Plasma Flat screen TV, 2 Queen Beds and private balcony or patio.
Ocean View Room
Full Ocean View - These are guaranteed to be on the 2nd and 3rd floor and offer our best views of the Pacific Ocean. Rooms offer Plasma flat screen TV, 2 queen beds and a large balcony overlooking the ocean and surf.
Junior Suite
Partial Ocean View Junior Suite - These rooms feature a private balcony or patio, and open out onto the Ocean View Pool, or face the California Coastline. The interior offers either a king-size bed with a sleeper sofa, or two queen-size beds with a dining table or breakfast bar area.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pacific Beach: 1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3.6 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 6.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 7.4 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 7.4 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3.6 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 6.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 7.4 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 7.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 7.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 7.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 7.8 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 7.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 7.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 7.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 7.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 7.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 7.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 8 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 8.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 8.5 mi
  • PETCO Park: 8.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 14.3 mi
  • Legoland: 23 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121 mi

Dining

Breakfast
From 7am - 10:30am daily, The Pacific Terrace offers a fresh, cooked to order breakfast. Enjoy everything from a satisfying San Diego breakfast burrito, to a nutritious veggie omelette, to a decadent Belgian waffle served with fresh berries and whipped cream.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (206)

Ratings and reviews for Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
W Ray
Business
Indy
Dec 23, 2013

A keeper!

The hotel location is next to none in terms of beach access and views of the ocean. Always something engaging within short walking distances. The room was immaculate and maintained in pristine condition. The staff was very congenial, and to the person, always had a warm greeting with a sense of willingness to assist. The beds are in the ultra comfort category and make a restful night easy. Security was good and maintained a presence while being out of view. In room keurig machine and lobby coffeepot got morning started. Would not change anything about this hotel. Only situation where less than ideal conditions existed was the sound from adjoining rooms both next door and coming thru the ceiling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

all 3 meals can be accomplished via shops and vendors close by

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Business man to the stars
Business
Phoenix , AZ
Dec 7, 2013

Business

Great location , I have family and the location was perfect forlorn me. Will stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cabby
Business
KY
Nov 24, 2013

Nice Hotel

Average hotel. A little dated. Friendly cleaning staff. Good location. Over priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
golfbeat
Business
Switzerland
Nov 5, 2013

Great location and nice hotel size ( 2 levels only). Rooms and furniture are well designed

We booked for one night and decided to stay one addiitonal night after having experienced the first night. A bar would be very welcomed to have drinks on the pool side in the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Welch
Business
OKC
Oct 27, 2013

Right on the beach

The hotel is right on the beach which is great. The staff was also very good. Willing to help us by printing out directions and with dinner recommendations. The cookies at the front desk each evening was a great touch. The water, tea, lemonade they offered another nice touch. Location was great with many places to walk to and right by a bus stop. The bus was not bad other than having to wait but it saved us a ton of money over renting a car and then paying for gas and valet parking. We had the best available partial ocean view suite on the north side of the hotel 3rd floor. It is a ways back due to special suites and other room classes with closer views. My wife was unhappy because she could see the street but the view of the ocean was great. So if you can handle looking at a street and ocean behind it then it is a good deal) We were there 6 days so the suite offered the kitchen and fridge which came in handy to allow us the extra space as well as storage of food/drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Moondoggies. Pretty good specials for Saturday college football. The front desk had a coupon for a free appetizer with 20 dollar purchase.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss Popponesset
Business
Morris Plains, NJ
Oct 17, 2013

Weekend Getaway

Hopped into town from the east coast for a San Diego immersion weekend...was looking for a La Jolla retreat but chose the Pacific Terrace based on all the great reviews on line and the fact that it was on the beach (apparently there is cliffside but no beachside resort in LaJolla). You can believe everything you read about staff friendliness - they really do go out of their way for you. The grounds (pool area) was clean and comfortable ( smaller than I anticipated from the photos but large enough so that it never felt crowded). Quality lounge chairs and outdoor seating for morning breakfasts (which we did not indulge in but plenty of others were). We rented a king junior suite, partial view on the ground floor - ...Plenty big for the two of us and having our own private patio space with access to walk right out to the pool and boardwalk was a plus. (The downside was our neighbors were hosting some type of party in their outdoor area so we had to shut the door to block the sound - this would have been avoided had we chosen the 3rd floor unit). The partial view was truly full view (with the exception of the patio furniture and greenery being in front of us) andl better than I had hoped for. It was great to hear the ocean with the doors open. My nitpick on the room was that the decor was 'heavy' and 'dark' -but as seen in the photos - while the management clearly took pains to invest in quality furniture, fits and finishes I felt I was in Plantation mode more than light and breezy beach scene. If you can get past that you'll appreciate all the little extras provided. Access to the beach and boardwalk was a definate WOW, but if you've not been to Pacific Beach before be prepared to be underwhelmed by the surrounding neighborhood - more surfer dude / college vibe than upscale LaJolla and that's ok as long as you go in with eyes open. Still, it's close enough that you can hop over to Lajolla's fab restaurants, trendy shops and beautiful cliffscapes in less than 10 minutes. I'd definately recommend the Terrace, but due to the neighborhood can't give it the 5 stars it probably deserves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tstew
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Oct 14, 2013

Amazing place

This was probably the best hotel at which I have ever stayed. We had high expectations (given the $300+/night pricetag) and they were exceeded. People were lovely, location suberb. The only negative would be the rather mundane (though affordable) breakfast buffet. No matter, much better options were always within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vickilv
Business
Vegas
Aug 29, 2013

Delightful mini vacation

Booked hotel as it was priced right, appeared to be near the ocean, and was near zoo and Del Mar raceway which were on the list for a short trip. This turned out to be an outstanding property and I would have loved to stay longer. Joe at the front desk was super as well as every staff member we encountered~and an amazing thing happened~we arrived to be told the hotel a ccidently overbooked~so rather than the room I reserved~we were given room 306 which was a gorgeous luxury suite with 2 verandahs open to the ocean ,a dining room, sunken tub bathroom, and a giant heavenly bed! Wow! What a treat and great service! Joe directed us to dinner on the ocean just down the way at Jdan~impecable service and food. What a joy to find lovely place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrittanySF
Business
San Francisco, California
Jun 26, 2013

Romantic getaway

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Pacific Terrace for 4 nights in June of 2013. We enjoyed the hotel and the location on Pacific Beach. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and our room was comfortable with a great ocean view. The best feature of the Pacific Terrace is the location! We did not need a car, as we could walk to bars, restaurants, shopping, etc. We enjoyed swimming in the hotel pool, laying out at the beach, and walking down the boardwalk. Pacific Beach has a lot to offer! However, it should be noted that the hotel does not have a restaurant on-site; therefore, you need to eat out for meals. They do offer room-service (until 10pm) from nearby eateries; however, the selection is slightly limited. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a relaxing beach getaway, especially if you are comfortable eating out and exploring the surrounding area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Austin the great
Business
San Diego, California
Jun 21, 2013

Best Hotel of my experience

This hotel was beautiful, clean, best beach access and friendly. We will definitely go back again. I really hope I get to stay at this hotel again in the near future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fat Fish

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top