$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

4 stars
610 Diamond St., San Diego, CA 92106
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
206 reviews
Getaway Paradise

Hotel is oceanfront, hospitality was a plus. The rooms are great, all furniture and bedding are... See full review

  • paradise finder
  • Dec 5, 2014
Fantastic Ocean Front Property

Great value for this 4 star property. Rooms are plush and beds are very comfortable. Right on the... See full review

  • O. K.
  • Nov 22, 2014
San Diego resort overlooks Pacific Ocean
As its name suggests, the Pacific Terrace Hotel is situated on bluffs between Mission Bay and La Jolla, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The hotel is decorated with a tropical theme and all of the 73 rooms include patios or balconies, many with an ocean view. The resort also features a heated outdoor pool and in-room massage treatments. Though the property doesn't have an on-site restaurant, it has arranged charge-back privileges with local restaurants where guests can sign their bill to their hotel room.
Highlights
  • Breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean
  • Enjoy convenience of charge-back privileges at many local restaurants
  • In-room massage treatments
  • Direct access to the beach
  • Within walking distance of beachfront shops and restaurants
Rooms

The Pacific Terrace Hotel's 73 rooms, including 30 suites feature Plantation shutters, tapestries and silk fans. Many rooms offer patios or balconies with views of the Pacific Ocean. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, in-room safe and plush robes. Nintendo games, Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are all available.

Features

The Pacific Terrace Hotel has received a four-diamond award from AAA. It is actually situated in the community of Pacific Beach, an area known for its great nightlife and beaches.

All guests receive complimentary access to the heated outdoor pool, as well as access to the on-site fitness center with TotalBody elliptical trainers and SportsArt treadmills. The hotel offers in-room massage treatments (fees apply), as well as treatments out near the pool (fees apply).

Guests can have cooked-to-order breakfast every morning (fees apply). Though the property doesn't have a formal restaurant on-site, it has worked out charge-back privileges with local restaurants where guests can sign bills to their hotel room. The room service menu is comprised of dishes from some of the neighboring eateries (fees apply) as well. Parking is also available for an added fee.

Transportation
  • San Diego International Airport (10 mi/16.1 km)
Attractions
  • Sea World (4 mi/6 km)
  • La Jolla (5 mi/8 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (10 mi/16 km)
  • Gaslamp Quarter (11 mi/18 km)
  • Coronado Island (15 mi/24 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Executive boardroom measures 900 square feet
Policies and fees
  • Starting 15 Nov, the hotel's parking fee will increase to $25 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego Rooms

Non View
Non View - These non view rooms are located on the 1st, 2nd or 3rd floor and most open out to a patio or balcony. Two queen size beds or 1 king.
Partial Ocean View
Partial Ocean View - These rooms are located on the 1st, 2nd or 3rd floor, and either open out onto our pool level or face north or south to the California Coastline. These rooms offer Plasma Flat screen TV, 2 Queen Beds and private balcony or patio.
Ocean View Room
Full Ocean View - These are guaranteed to be on the 2nd and 3rd floor and offer our best views of the Pacific Ocean. Rooms offer Plasma flat screen TV, 2 queen beds and a large balcony overlooking the ocean and surf.
Junior Suite
Partial Ocean View Junior Suite - These rooms feature a private balcony or patio, and open out onto the Ocean View Pool, or face the California Coastline. The interior offers either a king-size bed with a sleeper sofa, or two queen-size beds with a dining table or breakfast bar area.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pacific Beach: 1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3.6 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 6.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 7.4 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 7.4 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 2.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3.6 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Heritage Park: 5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 6.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 7.4 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 7.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 7.5 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 7.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 7.8 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 7.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 7.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 7.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 7.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 7.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 7.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 8 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 8.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 8.5 mi
  • PETCO Park: 8.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 14.3 mi
  • Legoland: 23 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121 mi

Dining

Breakfast
From 7am - 10:30am daily, The Pacific Terrace offers a fresh, cooked to order breakfast. Enjoy everything from a satisfying San Diego breakfast burrito, to a nutritious veggie omelette, to a decadent Belgian waffle served with fresh berries and whipped cream.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (206)

Ratings and reviews for Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Orange County couple
Business
Santa Ana, ca
Sep 4, 2009

Great Hotel

The hotel was great. Easy access to the beach and close to shops and dinning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corona, CA
Sep 3, 2009

nice hotel / clean rooms

Our first night was okay, we were right next to the AC condensor/ Cooler and it was niosy. I called and asked to be moved to a quieter room and they did without any extra charge. And the second night was great nice and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas
Aug 27, 2009

Zero Complaints

Everything was great, actually the plasma tv didn't work, but the funny thing is we didn't even know until we tried to turn it on to do the automated check out. We were having so much fun we never even tried to turn it on before then. Staff were all very friendly, called a cab for us when we wanted to go downtown, but other than that we didn't really need much from them. The decor in the room kinda looks like an ugly hawaiian shirt, but it's a really nice ugly hawaiian shirt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Bare back grill is right around the corner, burgers so good I'm still thinking about them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cedecea
Business
Tucson, Arizona
Aug 26, 2009

Great Stay!

Nice size room with comfortable beds. Great terrace with decent furniture and fantastic views of the beach an Pacific Ocean. Great pool that also had great views of the ocean. Quiet and close to everything. Great staff that look you in the eye and say "Hello".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Schaumburg, IL
Aug 23, 2009

Pacific Terrace Hotel

The location was great, the rooms were large and clean. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Centro, CA.
Jul 22, 2009

Great Summer spot.

This hotel is probably located in one of the best spots possible. The Pacific/Mission Beach boardwalk is located literally right outside the front door. The view of the Crystal Pier and the beach below makes this place a Gem. This is Pacific Beach, food, drinks, shopping and entertainment abound. Actually making your mind up on what to do is the only hard part about staying here. Loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take advantage of the beach 100ft from your front door. It's free!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Danville, CA
Jul 19, 2009

Weekend in San Diego

We were greeted by Ted at the front dest. He was pleasant, helpful and stored our luggage while the room was being cleaned. The room was great! Large, comfortable, clean, well decorated. Our room opened up to a lovely terrace with beautiful palm trees and plants, near the pool, and with a partial ocean view. Kitchen was a nice addition. I definitely plan to return in the near future! I would recommend the hotel for couples with or without children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of little shops for clothing and a number of restaurants and night clubs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach loving family
Business
Ventura, Calif.
Jul 9, 2009

Pacific Beach area, but not a resort

After having read many trip reviews about this smaller hotel, we decided to give it a try. No real surprises; the location is in PB, with 4 small, nice,casual restaurants within easy walking distance,(since the hotel has no kitchen or restaurant other than a tiny area for breakfast.) Our room was med-large,and the furniture heavy,dark wood with a pleasing Carribbean/tropical vibe. We paid for the ocean front view room which came with a microwave,sink,plates,utensils,coffee maker,and small refridgerator. Although the location boasts that it is "on the beach" we lugged our ice chest,boogie boards,towels & sand chairs down(and back up)the 51 (we counted)wooden steps on the "clif" to get from the hotel to the beach. Don't expect to just roll out of bed and onto the sand. The only real negative was that our room's airconditioning unit was so incredibly loud we had to turn it off to sleep, and we baked in the room all night long. (Also, there were several "party animal" college kids staying at the hotel,shouting,blasting the tv,& noisily dragging their patio chairs on the balcony till 3am! Luckily, there is a security guard strolling the property all night long,so we begged him to quiet then down so our family could sleep, and he did so right away. We can't blame the hotel for the noise of their guests, but keep in mind that even at these tall prices, the "Pacific Beach" area just begs for the younger,party crowd to stay here, so be forewarned!)We moved out after just one noisy, hot night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The best rate by far was the one we found on ORBITZ for the "ROH" run-of-house view. We then asked upon check-in how much more for a ocean front view?, and paid $50 to upgrade. We walked to the closest Pizza place (Amore's?)and picked up a yummy thin crust pizza to eat on our balcony... be sure to get the $3 coupon first from the nice crew at the front desk!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Jul 8, 2009

Will definitely stay here again!

The hotel was very accommodating and gave us a balcony room with an excellent ocean view. The front desk attendants were very courteous and gave us detailed info on nearby restaurants and events. Everyone from the valet to the room attendants were very helpful and friendly. Rooms were beautiful, spacious, and clean. Bathroom was very large and nice, as well. We were very pleased and although their pool is small, it is nice and looks right out over the ocean. Really not much need for the pool when the beach is just steps away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kono's breakfast was fantastic, despite the wait. Stay away from the typical tourist traps and enjoy the small local restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel - San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 4, 2009

Unbeatable view of ocean and surfers

This hotel has an amazing view and location, right on the beach and boardwalk. Rooms were large and clean and had a very comfortable bed. The pool is nice and clean and overlooks the ocean. Surfing is great just a couple of blocks down from the hotel. Staff gave us the idea to rent cruiser bikes and go long the boardwalk. This was a great idea and you get to see not only the fantastic view of the ocean but also some funny and freaky people. Watch out for the slow motion skater.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Me my friends went to a Mexican place a short walk from the hotel called "Gringos". Even if the place looked a little tacky we decided to give it chance and were very happy we did. Great food, price and very friendly staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top