$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 21, 2014 Check-out: Oct 23, 2014

Ocean Park Inn

3 stars
710 Grand Ave., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
43 reviews
Great Location - no rental car needed

The staff gets an A+, very helpful and good information on the area. Arrived early and the room was... See full review

  • Limonator
  • May 19, 2014
Great location, fantastic value, staying here again

The hotel is right in the middle of pretty much everything in Pacific beach. Not too expensive,... See full review

  • Traveling Steve Johnson
  • May 14, 2013
The Ocean Park Inn is located on the beach overlooking the Pacific Ocean in Pacific Beach. It is within walking distance of shopping, dining, lively nightlife and Belmont Park for entertainment. A continental breakfast is included. The hotel is situated eight miles from San Diego International Airport, three miles from Sea World, and just seven miles from the World Famous San Diego Zoo. The exciting Gaslamp District is a comfortable 10 miles away. Other area attractions convenient to the hotel include Legoland California, the US/Mexican Border, Maritime Museum and the Wild Animal Park. The Ocean Park Inn's convenient location will appeal to the business and leisure traveler. Each of the hotel's guest rooms has either a patio or balcony where guests can enjoy magnificent sunset views. Children under 12 stay free. Parking is $10.00 per night, limited to one vehicle per reservation. This property is 100% Non Smoking. **Between Nov. 3 and Dec. 26 2014, our elevator will be undergoing modernization and will not be available for use. Extra staff members will be on property to assist with luggage between 9:00am and 9:00pm**

Hotel Map

32.7949 -117.2559
Area served
San Diego, Pacific Beach, La Jolla, Del Mar, Mission Beach, Downtown, Little Italy, Gaslamp
Nearby airports
(SAN)San Diego International
Area description
This aptly located hotel is seven miles from the World Famous San Diego Zoo as well as the Balboa Park Museums. The exciting Gaslamp District is a comfortable 10 miles away. Other area attractions convenient to the hotel include Legoland of California, the US/Mexican Border, Maritime Museum and the Wild Animal Park. The Ocean Park Inn's convenient location will appeal to the business and leisure traveler.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Park Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Ocean Park Inn Rooms

Oceanfront Room
Oceanfront room with king or queen bed (bedding is not guaranteed, on a request basis only) with a twin sleeper sofa if available. Direct Ocean View, this room is equipped with modern conveniences such as in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, refrigerator, iron and ironing board. Free WiFi available in all rooms. Maximum occupancy of three guests.
Standard Two Queens
Standard Two Queens is equipped with modern conveniences such as in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, refrigerator, iron and ironing board. Free WiFi available in all rooms. Maximum occupancy of four guests. **Between Nov. 3 and Dec. 26 2014, our elevator will be undergoing modernization and will not be available for use. Extra staff members will be on property to assist with luggage between 9:00am and 9:00pm**
Standard King
Standard King is equipped with modern conveniences such as in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, refrigerator, iron and ironing board. Free WiFi available in all rooms. Maximum occupancy of three guests. **Between Nov. 3 and Dec. 26 2014, our elevator will be undergoing modernization and will not be available for use. Extra staff members will be on property to assist with luggage between 9:00am and 9:00pm**

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pacific Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.4 mi
  • Sea World: 2.6 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.4 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 4.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 4.8 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 7.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.4 mi
  • Sea World: 2.6 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.4 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 4.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 4.8 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.9 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 7.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 7.2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 7.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 7.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 7.5 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 7.6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 7.6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 7.6 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 7.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 7.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 7.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 7.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 7.8 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 7.9 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 8.1 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 8.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 8.4 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 14 mi
  • Legoland: 23.3 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.4 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Park Inn

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Holland
Dec 29, 2008

If you love being outdoors...

Convenient, comfortable, moderate in amenities. As what you want in a hotel--if you want to be on the beach, and don't need expensive fruu-fruu toiletries or wall coverings, then this is a fine choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dubuque
Nov 14, 2008

Amazing Hotel!

This hotel was absolutely amazing! We stayed here for 6 nights and every one of them was great. The view from the room is the best part and leaving the balcony door open to hear the ocean waves at night was even better. It was so convenient to be able to just walk out of our hotel and be right on the beach. It was also nice to be able to sit outside on our balcony. Although the balcony and room was small, the view definitely made up for it. We didn't need anything more than what we had. Our room had a nice size bathroom and a refrigerator and microwave. The breakfast was great every morning and the hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The area is definitely geared towards the younger crowd and has some great restaurants and bars. There are numerous places to eat and drink steps away from the hotel so you shouldn't have any problem finding a place to go! Also, there is a grocery store right across the street. Pacific Beach is a good location if you are planning on visiting Sea World, The Zoo, La Jolla, and many other places because each is only a short drive away. The area also seemed to be fairly safe and the rooms even safer. The only complaint we had was that the hotel did not have a computer with a printer if you wanted to print off tickets or directions. If you're going to stay in San Diego, this is the place to be!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The PB Alehouse was not so good. There are tons of dining options right next to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 9, 2008

Very Friendly

I simply enjoyed my stay to the max in every area & aspect - it was all & more I had hoped for. I look forward to my next stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Round Rock
May 26, 2008

AWESOME location!!!

The Ocean Park Inn was a wonderful combination of the perfect location and friendly staff. They went out of their way to make it the best stay for my wife and I on our 1st Anniversary. The location is unbeatable. Right in the middle of restaurants, coffee stops, pubs, and right on the beach, the area is unbeatable. Having the boardwalk run right below your balconey is quite entertaining. You see all types from beautiful women on skates to surfers with dreads. We would recommend this hotel to anyone that is visiting San Diego!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Garnet Street is one block away and provides the best shopping experience at affordable prices. Well worth the short walk to keep the wife happy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, *
May 12, 2008

Great Location

The room was a bit old and could use some remodeling, but overall everything was very clean and it was a great stay. The hotel staff was super helpful, and the breakfast free in the morning was always a plus! Nice pool area and jacuzzi. Our room had a great beach front view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, OH
May 4, 2008

Hotel on the beach

This hotel was good if you want to be on the beach. Right on the boardwalk which was very loud and busy. You will see all kinds of people. We had some homeless people outside on the boardwalk. Very close to restarants and 7-eleven.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like seafood and pasta you should try Nick's which is about 2 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 13, 2008

Location, location, location

What a great location... right on the boardwalk...a stones throw from the water....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great atmosphere... a great choice of seafood, or steak ...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jan 9, 2008

My review of Ocean Park Inn

Great breakfast. Excellent location. Large, comfortable rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great seafood resturants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lubbock, TX
Oct 7, 2007

Great hotel on the beach

The Ocean Park Inn in San Diego was a great Place to stay in. We wanted to be near the ocean. The ocean Park Inn was just across the Walk way from the beach. The room size was standard a was the bath. Each room has a patio or balcony, most with an ocean view. The complimentery breakfast was out standing with fruit, waffels, boiled eggs, various pastries and cereal. The breakfast area was very clean and inviting. The staff was most helpful and friendly. We really appreciated the gated underground parking garage. We also enjoyed the choices of restaurants within walking distance to the inn. The location was central to where we wanted to go. We were near sea world, the zoo, old town and the airport. All of these locations were within 8 miles. If we return to San Diego we will stay at Ocean Park Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the choices range from fast foods to seated dining, from Mexican food to sea food, all within walking distance to the inn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakland, CA
Sep 23, 2007

Excellent Location

Best location, right on the beach and close to dining & night life. Room was more than satisfactory. The Room did face one of the local bars...didn't bother us as if you want to be close to action, there may be some noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is right there for you...restaurants, nightclubs, sportsbars, Ocean, sand, Surf. Take your bikes or rent them at one of the local shops...lots of riding available. Parking is extra but worth it as all public spaces fill up

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top