$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Ocean Park Inn

3 stars
View map of 710 Grand Ave., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Park Inn

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shorething
Business
The shore, New Jersey
Oct 13, 2011

Best on the Block

The Ocean Park Inn was a perfect stay....wish we could have stayed more than a day. If you are looking for a clean place, on the beach, with amenities like continental breakfast, microfridge, microwave, at a reasonable rate, this is the place to stay. We would definitely go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tower 23 restaurant has a great happy hour from 4-7 with $4 well drinks and $7 small plates.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Soltera
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jul 14, 2011

Just gets better every time!

Thank you for an wonderful anniversary celebration last weekend! Everything was perfect as usual! The aquarium is amazing and I could have spent hours watching the fish but the beach was calling my name. We really appreciated the surprise champagne and enjoyed it on the balcony, watching the sun go down. [...] did everything they could to make our stay special! Can't wait to come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like to eat late, try the World's Finest...just a short walk down the boardwalk. Really great food and desserts are amazing. Full bar too!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Apr 13, 2011

Great location, friendly staff

The front desk staff asked us if we'd like to upgrade to a room with a better view. We ended up looking at a few rooms and choosing one with a great ocean view. Overall a very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was convenient, nice, quiet pool area, great location. The night club next door was a little intimidating when we first pulled up, but the room was pretty quiet inside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Feb 23, 2011

A Great Time On The Beach

First of all the staff was very nice and friendly. The place is not brand spanking new but it was in good shape and had everything you would expect from a mid priced place. The location right on the beach was very perfect for sitting on the balcony in the mornings or late evenings and just watching the waves roll in. Food entertainment, and shopping are nearby. For a nice stay it was well worth the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very good fish tacos are right across the street. This place is perfect for getting away to the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boulder, CO
Nov 9, 2010

Nice Stay

We had an ocean view room with a king bed and it was very nice, but be prepared that the noise level from the surf is very high. It's not a problem with the hotel, just a part of being on the beach. The air conditioner was also too loud to leave on all night. We tried to negotiate the daily $10 parking fee, but the management would not budge. Also beware that there is a very active weekend bar scene on Pacific Beach so plan accordingly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fish tacos at the Pacific Beach Shore Club (across the street) are outstanding! It's a noisy bar at night!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ENTman
Business
Louisville, KY
Aug 3, 2010

Make sure it's cheap

We set up our reservation a week ahead of time and wanted to be in PB near the shore so followed recs on this and other sites. For comparison purposes this is an $80/night hotel near the shore. The rooms are old and smelly, garage is great for $10/day but has signs posted saying there is risk of birth defects from the hazards located there. The hot tub was nice and pool enclosure area was nice. Wouldn't pay more than $160 to stay here....,,,ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yucaipa, CA
Jun 10, 2010

Room with a View

Very nice hotel right on a nice stretch of beach. Firehouse restaurant right next door with very good food. You can tell this hotel is a work in progress but the updates look great. A little pricey for during the week, but with the beach, and location and the views well worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

San diego zoo less than 15 minutes, animal park 30 min. Sea world and belmont very close. You could ride bikes and there is a bike rental across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Little Rock, AR
Jun 1, 2010

Great people watching spot

This hotel is located right in the middle of the action at Pacific Beach. While this made for interesting people watching, the noisy action continued well into the night on the boardwalk. This factor is probably not as bad on a non-holiday weekend. Our biggest complaint for what was considered one of the best rooms (oceanfront) was the horribly uncomfortable bed. Mattress improvements greatly needed. The room was very clean. The pool area was a disapointment with uncomfortable chairs, and few guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kono's is right down the boardwalk, the best biggest cheapest breakfast around. We go there every morning and don't eat again until dinner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redmond,WA
Apr 25, 2010

Ocean Park Inn

The staff was helpful. They helped us find a really good restaurants. Although we were not aware of the remoulding when arriving. Almost didn't get that ocean front room either. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Couple without children
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Dec 21, 2009

Great location for the price

Wonderful view from the patio, looking directly at the ocean. Rooms were clean and a great value for the price. We stayed during December however, so it was a restful stay and quiet. The hotel staff was very friendly and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top