$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

4 stars
View map of 1 Market Pl, SAN DIEGO, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
263 reviews
Great vacaction

Perfect place to stay in SD, great hotel impeccable service and location could not be better!! See full review

  • REBECA A.
  • Jan 7, 2015
Awesome Family Trip

Manchester Grand Hyatt was a great hotel that exceeded expectations. From the concern and service... See full review

  • Merrill M.
  • Dec 30, 2014
Elegance along the San Diego waterfront
Formerly known as the Grand Hyatt San Diego, the Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is under new ownership. It boasts a spectacular waterfront location right in the center of town along San Diego Bay. An inviting rooftop pool deck overlooks the city and the on-site Kin Spa provides a great place to unwind. The facility also has tennis courts that are complimentary for guests and bike rentals available for all ages (fees apply). Four on-site eateries offer a number of options for meal time.
Highlights
  • Rent bikes to ride along the waterfront
  • Located right in the heart of downtown San Diego
  • Inviting rooftop pool deck overlooks entire city
Rooms

The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego offers 1,625 rooms, including 95 suites that vary in size and configuration. Each room comes standard with a 46" flat-screen HDTV, Hyatt Grand bed, MP3 docking station and hair dryer. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply), as well as nightly turndown service.

Features

The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego underwent extensive renovations in 2009 with many additions and upgrades. Today the hotel offers a number of Respire by Hyatt hypoallergenic rooms (fees apply).

All hotel guests receive complimentary access to the rooftop pool deck overlooking the city, a 24-hour StayFit fitness center with state-of-the-art Cybex equipment and public areas with high ceilings and exquisite furniture. The hotel also offers bicycle rentals (fees apply) and two tennis courts (fees apply). The Kin Spa boasts a variety of treatments (fees apply).

Dine at five different restaurants on-site: Sally's Seafood on the Water serves lunch, dinner and weekend breakfast along the waterfront, Lael's Restaurant serves decadent breakfast buffets, Ann Marie's Coffee House is a great place for light bites and Redfield's Deli is perfect for on-the-go meals. Redfield's Sports Bar also offers casual dining and a variety of appetizers

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (2 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/4.5 km)
Attractions
  • San Diego Convention Center (3 blocks)
  • Gaslamp Quarter (6 blocks)
  • Petco Park (8 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (2 mi/3 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Sea World (6 mi/10 km)
  • Point Loma (7 mi/11.5 km)
Business
  • 125,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
  • Video conferencing capabilities
Policies and fees
  • The fitness centre is closed until 15 Feb 2014 due to some improvements. The concierge provides off-property options for guests wishing to inquire during this time.
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Rooms

Concierge
Rooms have either (1)King or (2)Doubles. Maximum of (4)Adults per room.
Deluxe
Description not provided
Standard
Rooms have either (1)King or (2)Doubles. Maximum of (4)Adults per room.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.7 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.7 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.3 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.5 mi
  • Legoland: 30.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.8 mi

Dining

Top of the Hyatt
Top of the Hyatt sits high above the San Diego Bay with panoramic views of the city, Coronado Island and beyond. Located on the 40th floor of the Harbor Tower.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (263)

Ratings and reviews for Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 263
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 19, 2010

Very Dissappointing

Wasn't helpful in getting the room that I wanted. Front desk made it seem like it was my fault for checking in late even after I've already made reservation beforehand and after calling to confirm that reservation. Paid $200 for that room. Then they gave me a room was worth $100. Very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the bike service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 14, 2008

Poor customer service

The Manchester Grand Hyatt may sound elegant but has poor customer service. The front desk staff was unwillingly helpful throughout the check-in. The room was not even as luxurious as I imagined. Poor customer service overall...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LOS ANGELES, CA
Aug 30, 2010

NOT A 4 STAR HOTEL

The people has attitude and looks like they have never work in service before. The restaurant Sally sucks. The sushi was awfull and the waitress did not provide when serving sushi any chop stick, or soy sauce, they had no clue. The room service was totally unacceptable. We called at 9PM for dinner in the room and we end up not having dinner at all. The wait was according to them 2 hours wait, what would push us to have dinner at 11PM. One of us was sick, so we could not leave the room. This is totally unacceptable. Will NEVER go back here or any Hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Peoria, IL
May 4, 2009

Fair..prolly try another hotel next time

The lobby and pool area of the hotel are beautiful. The location was good for us...close to the harbor and within walking distance of the Gaslamp District. When we first arrived they put us into a dirty room...then when I called down to the front desk they wanted us to wait on them to come up and clean the room. I've flown all day and am tired, hungry,and dirty the last thing I want to do is wait on them to clean our room at 5pm!! I asked to be moved...which of course they moved us to the other tower. We had to lug all of our luggage back down to the front desk...wait for a new room key and then back up on the opposite tower to our room. No apology! In my opinion for a Grand Hyatt it wasn't that clean. It wasn't filthy but it wasn't that clean either! I know they had not cleaned that toliet! I've stayed at the Westin in San Diego before and that was a much cleaner andnicer hotel. I would stay somewhere else the next time I go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

directly behind the hotel is harbor village....it looks like just some shops from the hotel but there are several really good restaurants back there and its right along the harbor. Also a pick up spot for the seal tour and the trolley tours which were an excellent way to see everything in San Diego on your own time! You hop on or hop off any where you like and explore....a trolley comes by each check point about every 20 minutes so you can pick and choose what you want to do.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike and Michel
Business
phx, az
Jun 5, 2012

Under Construction

We waited 3.5 hours to check in. The room was dusty. There was construction going on above our room, we were moved to another room. That room was dusty and then the water was off for hours! I will say the staff was fantastic and tried to compensate for the sad shape of the hotel. I would return ONLY after being assured of the completion of the construction!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pilot2012
Business
california
Mar 4, 2013

you pay the location and the lobby

Do not expect a wonderful room. You pay for the magnificence of the facility. Good dining options within the hotel. You don’t have to be a guest to attend them. Rooms are a little bit old but clean. I paid for a premium view; I received a “partial” premium view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

don´t have to be a guest to attend the dining options in the hotel, which are great options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tom and Irene
Business
Downey, CA
Feb 21, 2011

Terrible ROOM SERVICE and sandwich shop

The food from room service was cold, overcooked, and generally not tasty. The sandwich shop in the lobby was also terrible. I have never had such a negative experience at a major hotel. After a day working you look forward to dinner in your room. Ruined an otherwise excellent hotel. I will not frequent it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Seaport Village

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 2, 2011

Just okay

Despite having the king, bay view room on one of the higher floors, the room was nothing short of very average. Carpet had stains, pipes in walls made loud noises when showering, tv often lost signal and gave error message, and room was just generally outdated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
marissaleigh
Business
Los Angeles
May 9, 2010

Nice

Nice pool and friendly staff. Beautiful view and great buffet breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jtdabarber
Business
Los Angeles, ca.
May 31, 2010

Lil' gateaway

[...] when I got there my room was not booked!! Worst feeling ever. So the hotel seen I had booked thru [...], just because I showed them my confirmation email, so they gave me a room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

La puerta. Great Mexican food and good drinks for a good price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top