$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

4 stars
1 Market Pl, SAN DIEGO, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
260 reviews
Family of 4 vaca

From the moment we walked in my husband and both agreed we should of booked another night or 2. We... See full review

  • mckenziefamof4
  • Aug 17, 2014
Amazing!

We love this hotel. The lobby is beautiful, the rooms are nice and the views are spectacular!!!! See full review

  • SharI H.
  • Aug 10, 2014
Elegance along the San Diego waterfront
Formerly known as the Grand Hyatt San Diego, the Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is under new ownership. It boasts a spectacular waterfront location right in the center of town along San Diego Bay. An inviting rooftop pool deck overlooks the city and the on-site Kin Spa provides a great place to unwind. The facility also has tennis courts that are complimentary for guests and bike rentals available for all ages (fees apply). Four on-site eateries offer a number of options for meal time.
Highlights
  • Rent bikes to ride along the waterfront
  • Located right in the heart of downtown San Diego
  • Inviting rooftop pool deck overlooks entire city
Rooms

The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego offers 1,625 rooms, including 95 suites that vary in size and configuration. Each room comes standard with a 46" flat-screen HDTV, Hyatt Grand bed, MP3 docking station and hair dryer. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply), as well as nightly turndown service.

Features

The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego underwent extensive renovations in 2009 with many additions and upgrades. Today the hotel offers a number of Respire by Hyatt hypoallergenic rooms (fees apply).

All hotel guests receive complimentary access to the rooftop pool deck overlooking the city, a 24-hour StayFit fitness center with state-of-the-art Cybex equipment and public areas with high ceilings and exquisite furniture. The hotel also offers bicycle rentals (fees apply) and two tennis courts (fees apply). The Kin Spa boasts a variety of treatments (fees apply).

Dine at five different restaurants on-site: Sally's Seafood on the Water serves lunch, dinner and weekend breakfast along the waterfront, Lael's Restaurant serves decadent breakfast buffets, Ann Marie's Coffee House is a great place for light bites and Redfield's Deli is perfect for on-the-go meals. Redfield's Sports Bar also offers casual dining and a variety of appetizers

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (2 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/4.5 km)
Attractions
  • San Diego Convention Center (3 blocks)
  • Gaslamp Quarter (6 blocks)
  • Petco Park (8 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (2 mi/3 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Sea World (6 mi/10 km)
  • Point Loma (7 mi/11.5 km)
Business
  • 125,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
  • Video conferencing capabilities
Policies and fees
  • The fitness centre is closed until 15 Feb 2014 due to some improvements. The concierge provides off-property options for guests wishing to inquire during this time.
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7109 -117.1683
Nearby airports
San Diego Intl Airport, (SAN), 3.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Rooms

Concierge
Rooms have either (1)King or (2)Doubles. Maximum of (4)Adults per room.
Deluxe
Description not provided
Standard
Rooms have either (1)King or (2)Doubles. Maximum of (4)Adults per room.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.7 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.7 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5 mi
  • Sea World: 5.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.3 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.5 mi
  • Legoland: 30.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.8 mi

Dining

Top of the Hyatt
Top of the Hyatt sits high above the San Diego Bay with panoramic views of the city, Coronado Island and beyond. Located on the 40th floor of the Harbor Tower.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (260)

Ratings and reviews for Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 260
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 14, 2008

Poor customer service

The Manchester Grand Hyatt may sound elegant but has poor customer service. The front desk staff was unwillingly helpful throughout the check-in. The room was not even as luxurious as I imagined. Poor customer service overall...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 19, 2010

Very Dissappointing

Wasn't helpful in getting the room that I wanted. Front desk made it seem like it was my fault for checking in late even after I've already made reservation beforehand and after calling to confirm that reservation. Paid $200 for that room. Then they gave me a room was worth $100. Very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the bike service

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
LOS ANGELES, CA
Aug 30, 2010

NOT A 4 STAR HOTEL

The people has attitude and looks like they have never work in service before. The restaurant Sally sucks. The sushi was awfull and the waitress did not provide when serving sushi any chop stick, or soy sauce, they had no clue. The room service was totally unacceptable. We called at 9PM for dinner in the room and we end up not having dinner at all. The wait was according to them 2 hours wait, what would push us to have dinner at 11PM. One of us was sick, so we could not leave the room. This is totally unacceptable. Will NEVER go back here or any Hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Peoria, IL
May 4, 2009

Fair..prolly try another hotel next time

The lobby and pool area of the hotel are beautiful. The location was good for us...close to the harbor and within walking distance of the Gaslamp District. When we first arrived they put us into a dirty room...then when I called down to the front desk they wanted us to wait on them to come up and clean the room. I've flown all day and am tired, hungry,and dirty the last thing I want to do is wait on them to clean our room at 5pm!! I asked to be moved...which of course they moved us to the other tower. We had to lug all of our luggage back down to the front desk...wait for a new room key and then back up on the opposite tower to our room. No apology! In my opinion for a Grand Hyatt it wasn't that clean. It wasn't filthy but it wasn't that clean either! I know they had not cleaned that toliet! I've stayed at the Westin in San Diego before and that was a much cleaner andnicer hotel. I would stay somewhere else the next time I go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

directly behind the hotel is harbor village....it looks like just some shops from the hotel but there are several really good restaurants back there and its right along the harbor. Also a pick up spot for the seal tour and the trolley tours which were an excellent way to see everything in San Diego on your own time! You hop on or hop off any where you like and explore....a trolley comes by each check point about every 20 minutes so you can pick and choose what you want to do.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike and Michel
phx, az
Jun 5, 2012

Under Construction

We waited 3.5 hours to check in. The room was dusty. There was construction going on above our room, we were moved to another room. That room was dusty and then the water was off for hours! I will say the staff was fantastic and tried to compensate for the sad shape of the hotel. I would return ONLY after being assured of the completion of the construction!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pilot2012
california
Mar 4, 2013

you pay the location and the lobby

Do not expect a wonderful room. You pay for the magnificence of the facility. Good dining options within the hotel. You don’t have to be a guest to attend them. Rooms are a little bit old but clean. I paid for a premium view; I received a “partial” premium view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

don´t have to be a guest to attend the dining options in the hotel, which are great options.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
John & Lizz
Geelong, Vic, AUSTRALIA
Oct 4, 2009

Good location 3 star service

Mini bar empty. Had to ask for remote control for TV. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Gaslamp area for dining and night life is excellent and full of variety.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CC Garm
Alpine, CA
Jun 21, 2009

Stuck on the 26 floor

Views of San Diego were spectacular and great location. However, only two for the six elevators were working and getting to and from the room was crowded and time consuming. The last day of our stay the elevators stopped working and we walked down 26 floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Gas Lamp district and ball park.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
May 8, 2009

Great location, but lousy service

We were disappointed with the customer service. The other Hyatt Hotels that we've stayed at have been superb when it comes to customer service. But, this one didn't hit the mark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We picked this hotel because of the location- very close to the Gaslamp Quarter with tons of restaurants to choose from.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
blah time
san diego CA
May 13, 2009

blah

The room was a lot smaller than I expected. There was a concert going on outside until like 1:00 am. The AC covered the noise, but still.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search