$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

4 stars
1 Market Pl, SAN DIEGO, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
260 reviews
Family of 4 vaca

From the moment we walked in my husband and both agreed we should of booked another night or 2. We... See full review

  • mckenziefamof4
  • Aug 17, 2014
Amazing!

We love this hotel. The lobby is beautiful, the rooms are nice and the views are spectacular!!!! See full review

  • SharI H.
  • Aug 10, 2014
Elegance along the San Diego waterfront
Formerly known as the Grand Hyatt San Diego, the Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is under new ownership. It boasts a spectacular waterfront location right in the center of town along San Diego Bay. An inviting rooftop pool deck overlooks the city and the on-site Kin Spa provides a great place to unwind. The facility also has tennis courts that are complimentary for guests and bike rentals available for all ages (fees apply). Four on-site eateries offer a number of options for meal time.
Highlights
  • Rent bikes to ride along the waterfront
  • Located right in the heart of downtown San Diego
  • Inviting rooftop pool deck overlooks entire city
Rooms

The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego offers 1,625 rooms, including 95 suites that vary in size and configuration. Each room comes standard with a 46" flat-screen HDTV, Hyatt Grand bed, MP3 docking station and hair dryer. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply), as well as nightly turndown service.

Features

The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego underwent extensive renovations in 2009 with many additions and upgrades. Today the hotel offers a number of Respire by Hyatt hypoallergenic rooms (fees apply).

All hotel guests receive complimentary access to the rooftop pool deck overlooking the city, a 24-hour StayFit fitness center with state-of-the-art Cybex equipment and public areas with high ceilings and exquisite furniture. The hotel also offers bicycle rentals (fees apply) and two tennis courts (fees apply). The Kin Spa boasts a variety of treatments (fees apply).

Dine at five different restaurants on-site: Sally's Seafood on the Water serves lunch, dinner and weekend breakfast along the waterfront, Lael's Restaurant serves decadent breakfast buffets, Ann Marie's Coffee House is a great place for light bites and Redfield's Deli is perfect for on-the-go meals. Redfield's Sports Bar also offers casual dining and a variety of appetizers

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (2 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/4.5 km)
Attractions
  • San Diego Convention Center (3 blocks)
  • Gaslamp Quarter (6 blocks)
  • Petco Park (8 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (2 mi/3 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Sea World (6 mi/10 km)
  • Point Loma (7 mi/11.5 km)
Business
  • 125,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
  • Video conferencing capabilities
Policies and fees
  • The fitness centre is closed until 15 Feb 2014 due to some improvements. The concierge provides off-property options for guests wishing to inquire during this time.
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7109 -117.1683
Nearby airports
San Diego Intl Airport, (SAN), 3.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Rooms

Concierge
Rooms have either (1)King or (2)Doubles. Maximum of (4)Adults per room.
Deluxe
Description not provided
Standard
Rooms have either (1)King or (2)Doubles. Maximum of (4)Adults per room.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.7 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.7 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5 mi
  • Sea World: 5.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.3 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.5 mi
  • Legoland: 30.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.8 mi

Dining

Top of the Hyatt
Top of the Hyatt sits high above the San Diego Bay with panoramic views of the city, Coronado Island and beyond. Located on the 40th floor of the Harbor Tower.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (260)

Ratings and reviews for Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
260 out of 260
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lazmason
29 Palms
Nov 26, 2012

Pricey but elegant

Pros- Beautiful Hotel Great location (Gas Lamp) Fridge Cons- 26$ Parking Fee 20$-for a Microwave Not allowed to use luggage carts, only Bell-Hops can 12$ for wifi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rickyeed
San Diego, California
Dec 24, 2012

Great service!

Our stay at the Grand Hyatt was excellent with service great service. The only down which is small need better pillows way to soft. Check in check out very short waits and valet fast. Will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Little Italy great restaurants to choose from.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mermaid on the shore
Tucson
Jan 12, 2013

Weekend in style and comfort

This hotel is very clean and nice, the only draw back is that getting a simple cup of coffee was not easy. Without stepping into a restaurant, I would have like to have been able to go up to a coffee bar or stand where I could get a regular cup of coffee. Yes, I know their is a Starbucks in the hotel, but if you don't care for their coffee taste, your out of luck. Just regular cup of coffee would be nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very well located to Downtown area, and great walking. Sightseeing easiy out the steps.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nessy
Business
Houston, TX, USA
May 27, 2013

great place

The front desk staff were awesome! Great location for conference center access

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FurKiller
San Diego
Jun 17, 2013

Clean

Very nice hotel with a pretty good staff. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very good different types of restaurants with in surrounding area.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nessy
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Jul 20, 2013

Conference hotel by the ocean

Very convenient for the conference center and steps away from reataurants and shops. Quiet with upgraded room for ocean view Staff very pleasant and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bottled water from local store

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DCFJ
Chicago, IL
Sep 16, 2013

Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego - Good Place!

My husband and I stay at the MGH of San Diego for 4 nights in September 2013. It was a very nice stay. We upgraded to a corner room overlooking the bay. Originally, they had us slotted for a corner room on the 31st floor, however, we checked in early and took a corner room on the ninth floor (because it was available). This was our mistake...there is construction across the street from the hotel's bayside and the construction dust covers the windows. It was hard to see/enjoy the view due to the amount of dust on the windows. For the next 9-12 months (during construction), I'd recommend a room not located on the bay side. MGH does charge for parking and internet access. It is kind of easy to hear your neighbors through the walls and doors (not horrible). This is my reason for giving them only 4 stars instead of 5. The restaurants and gift shops in the hotel are very nice but expensive. However, the hotel is located right in front of Seaport Village which has several shops and restaurants. It is also within a 1 mile walk to the Gaslamp District! The Gaslamp District has great food and entertainment. The location of the hotel is excellent. The amenities of the hotel are very nice. Room are comfortable and clean. The hotel lobby and public areas are beautiful and classy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ellen Hsueh
Thousands oaks, CA
Sep 16, 2013

Great hotel

It's a great experience in the hotel!!! The bed is very comfortable. I have a good sleep the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Seafood

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Makie
1000 Oaks, CA
Oct 15, 2013

Looks are not everything

The Hotel’s Interior was very impressive and glamorous in the lobby...BUT the room left much to desire...for the carpet was not even properly cleaned. One had to ask for everything that is usually provided in most Hotels...like a common thing as a shower-cap and non-allergic pillows. We were three guests...but every day there was only provided for two people...and that included towels...and drinking glasses. Even the paper cups for the morning coffee was only for two. The Coffee maker was ancient and had old coffee residue inside...and there was a piece of paper places underneath one corner...because the one rubber was missing. We will stay there again...but were very disappointed to find such shortcomings in a 4 start hotel such as the Hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler from the OC
South Orange County
Nov 12, 2013

One day getaway

I would say that the value isn't necessarily great, the room was relatively expensive. The staff was nice and courteous. The location was very good. The restaurant there, Lael's, we had a horrible experience at. We gave our name and waited. Apparently, someone else took our reservation. Literally 10 minutes passed and I had to ask them again. That's when they said someone took our reservation. If I hadn't asked, they wouldn't have done anything. We are literally standing right in front of them, how could they not notice? When I asked them about it, they literally blamed the other guest. They did a horrible job and then blamed someone else for their mistake. Absolutely unacceptable. The manager of this restaurant should do something about this. If I was the owner, I would be embarrased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search