$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2015 Check-out: Aug 8, 2015

Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

4 stars
View map of 1 Market Pl, SAN DIEGO, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
256 out of 256
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
michigan
Jan 2, 2011

pretty but big and noisy

Room was large and pleasant but shower didn't work properly and tub didn't drain properly. The hotel is huge and lobby very noisy and cavernous. Desk staff and door staff very pleasant and welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sally's restaurant - very noisy but food excellent.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tom and Irene
Business
Downey, CA
Feb 21, 2011

Terrible ROOM SERVICE and sandwich shop

The food from room service was cold, overcooked, and generally not tasty. The sandwich shop in the lobby was also terrible. I have never had such a negative experience at a major hotel. After a day working you look forward to dinner in your room. Ruined an otherwise excellent hotel. I will not frequent it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Seaport Village

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose
Nov 25, 2010

Bad staff

Bad staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 2, 2011

Just okay

Despite having the king, bay view room on one of the higher floors, the room was nothing short of very average. Carpet had stains, pipes in walls made loud noises when showering, tv often lost signal and gave error message, and room was just generally outdated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
npoler
Business
Venezuela
Oct 21, 2009

Typical convention hotel, great view

Seems understaff, rooms need updating (i.e;old tvs, old bathrooms), food is good but room service limited, no bathrobe, good gym but no bathrobe for sauna

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good restaurants on 5th

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
marissaleigh
Business
Los Angeles
May 9, 2010

Nice

Nice pool and friendly staff. Beautiful view and great buffet breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jtdabarber
Business
Los Angeles, ca.
May 31, 2010

Lil' gateaway

[...] when I got there my room was not booked!! Worst feeling ever. So the hotel seen I had booked thru [...], just because I showed them my confirmation email, so they gave me a room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

La puerta. Great Mexican food and good drinks for a good price.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
janetd
Business
Poway, California
Oct 20, 2014

Dining

The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The shower head was generous with water. The view was amazing of the harbor, and I live in San Diego. The room furnishings are standard hotel stock. The only disappointment was breakfast in Lael's resturant. It was a buffet, not plated. The food was cold, the coffee tasted old. I would not eat their again. Other than that it's a nice hotel. I don't think it's a 4 star stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Judy from NoDak
Business
Lincoln, NE
Dec 28, 2013

Family Christmas Vacation

This is the 2nd Christmas we have spent at the Manchester Grand Hyatt, and we love both the hotel and the location! We brought our family this year, and they were all impressed with the class and character of the Grand Hyatt. We visited Coronado, La Jolla, Belmont Park, and Sea World during our stay. Our only concern was that we were unaware of the cost for parking, and we had rented 2 vehicles for our family members, so our parking cost $224 which was an unexpected expense for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GeoffH
Business
New York, NY
Apr 21, 2014

Great hotel if you want to stay in Gaslamp

We enjoyed our stay at the Hyatt. It's a big hotel with plenty of rooms. Pools were nice as well, room was clean and comfortable. If you want to stay in Gaslamp then I recommend this hotel as it's within walking distance. Personally, after having gone on this trip I'd prefer to stay in La Jolla and be closer to the beaches, but that's just me. To each and their own!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top