$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 14, 2014 Check-out: Dec 16, 2014

Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

4 stars
1 Market Pl, SAN DIEGO, CA 92101
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
255 reviews
BEST HOTEL IN SD!!

This is always our go-to hotel. We stay here as much as possible because the staff are exceptional,... See full review

  • The Counselor
  • Oct 20, 2014
Family vacation

The location is great, next to seaport village with great restaurants and downtown with great bars! See full review

  • great123
  • Oct 2, 2014
Elegance along the San Diego waterfront
Formerly known as the Grand Hyatt San Diego, the Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is under new ownership. It boasts a spectacular waterfront location right in the center of town along San Diego Bay. An inviting rooftop pool deck overlooks the city and the on-site Kin Spa provides a great place to unwind. The facility also has tennis courts that are complimentary for guests and bike rentals available for all ages (fees apply). Four on-site eateries offer a number of options for meal time.
Highlights
  • Rent bikes to ride along the waterfront
  • Located right in the heart of downtown San Diego
  • Inviting rooftop pool deck overlooks entire city
Rooms

The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego offers 1,625 rooms, including 95 suites that vary in size and configuration. Each room comes standard with a 46" flat-screen HDTV, Hyatt Grand bed, MP3 docking station and hair dryer. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply), as well as nightly turndown service.

Features

The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego underwent extensive renovations in 2009 with many additions and upgrades. Today the hotel offers a number of Respire by Hyatt hypoallergenic rooms (fees apply).

All hotel guests receive complimentary access to the rooftop pool deck overlooking the city, a 24-hour StayFit fitness center with state-of-the-art Cybex equipment and public areas with high ceilings and exquisite furniture. The hotel also offers bicycle rentals (fees apply) and two tennis courts (fees apply). The Kin Spa boasts a variety of treatments (fees apply).

Dine at five different restaurants on-site: Sally's Seafood on the Water serves lunch, dinner and weekend breakfast along the waterfront, Lael's Restaurant serves decadent breakfast buffets, Ann Marie's Coffee House is a great place for light bites and Redfield's Deli is perfect for on-the-go meals. Redfield's Sports Bar also offers casual dining and a variety of appetizers

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (2 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/4.5 km)
Attractions
  • San Diego Convention Center (3 blocks)
  • Gaslamp Quarter (6 blocks)
  • Petco Park (8 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (2 mi/3 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Sea World (6 mi/10 km)
  • Point Loma (7 mi/11.5 km)
Business
  • 125,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
  • Video conferencing capabilities
Policies and fees
  • The fitness centre is closed until 15 Feb 2014 due to some improvements. The concierge provides off-property options for guests wishing to inquire during this time.
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7109 -117.1683
Nearby airports
San Diego Intl Airport, (SAN), 3.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Rooms

Concierge
Rooms have either (1)King or (2)Doubles. Maximum of (4)Adults per room.
Deluxe
Description not provided
Standard
Rooms have either (1)King or (2)Doubles. Maximum of (4)Adults per room.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.7 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.7 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.3 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.5 mi
  • Legoland: 30.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.8 mi

Dining

Top of the Hyatt
Top of the Hyatt sits high above the San Diego Bay with panoramic views of the city, Coronado Island and beyond. Located on the 40th floor of the Harbor Tower.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (255)

Ratings and reviews for Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
255 out of 255
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CRZL
Central New York
Nov 12, 2012

Excellent hotel, great location

Perfect location on the waterfront, within walking of USS Midway museum, convention center, shopping, restaurants, Gaslamp district. Excellent staff, fast elevators, great fitness facilities. Club access included with our room with breakfast, snacks, and hors d'oeuvres was outstanding. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 14, 2008

Poor customer service

The Manchester Grand Hyatt may sound elegant but has poor customer service. The front desk staff was unwillingly helpful throughout the check-in. The room was not even as luxurious as I imagined. Poor customer service overall...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 19, 2010

Very Dissappointing

Wasn't helpful in getting the room that I wanted. Front desk made it seem like it was my fault for checking in late even after I've already made reservation beforehand and after calling to confirm that reservation. Paid $200 for that room. Then they gave me a room was worth $100. Very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the bike service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
turkey
Mar 5, 2010

what a room....

worst room under hyatt

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mstottle
Business
Omaha, Ne
Oct 2, 2012

Not worth the money.

This place is not worth the money. The rooms are out of the 1990's, no bar in the room, my room smelled like a locker room. The pool is beautiful but no staff to work it, no bartenders, nada. You and your towel. I showed up at check in time and they said they would call me when my room was ready... 3 hrs later I show up and they tell me my room still is not ready. The "Brunch to end all brunches", not even close, a Buffett of dounuts and cereal with one person to make 40 people eggs. Trust me you can do much better than this place especially for $300-$400 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LOS ANGELES, CA
Aug 30, 2010

NOT A 4 STAR HOTEL

The people has attitude and looks like they have never work in service before. The restaurant Sally sucks. The sushi was awfull and the waitress did not provide when serving sushi any chop stick, or soy sauce, they had no clue. The room service was totally unacceptable. We called at 9PM for dinner in the room and we end up not having dinner at all. The wait was according to them 2 hours wait, what would push us to have dinner at 11PM. One of us was sick, so we could not leave the room. This is totally unacceptable. Will NEVER go back here or any Hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
AZ
Apr 25, 2011

Good and bad...

This hotel is in an excellent location. The rooms were clean but they charged a fee of $26 per night for car parking and $15 for the internet per day. There was no complimentary breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tuni's Mom
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 28, 2010

I expected so much more

We arrived at the hotel after a long day at the San Diego Zoo. The lobby and entry are impressive so I was excited to see our room. Our room was extremely unimpressive. It was on the 5th floor over looking the lobby roof. The room was small, stuffy and not what was pictured on the [...] website. My husband went downstairs and had our room changed. We relocated to the 25th floor. The room looked exactly the same except it had an amazing view. After an hour in the room my baby was woken up by 5 kids screaming and playing in the hallway. It was so disturbing that we had to change rooms again! The third and final room looked the same as the first two rooms, but the view from the 29th floor was spectacular. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the gaslamp district.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SUZY HASH
Business
YUMA, AZ
Apr 29, 2014

PET FRIENDLY HOTEL

TOWELS ARE VERY OLD AND YOU DONT FEEL LIKE YOU WANNA USE THEM THE HOTEL ALLOW PETS IN ROOMS,, PARKING IS VERY EXPENSIVE ALSO ROOM PRICE IS NOT THAT CHEAP

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Peoria, IL
May 4, 2009

Fair..prolly try another hotel next time

The lobby and pool area of the hotel are beautiful. The location was good for us...close to the harbor and within walking distance of the Gaslamp District. When we first arrived they put us into a dirty room...then when I called down to the front desk they wanted us to wait on them to come up and clean the room. I've flown all day and am tired, hungry,and dirty the last thing I want to do is wait on them to clean our room at 5pm!! I asked to be moved...which of course they moved us to the other tower. We had to lug all of our luggage back down to the front desk...wait for a new room key and then back up on the opposite tower to our room. No apology! In my opinion for a Grand Hyatt it wasn't that clean. It wasn't filthy but it wasn't that clean either! I know they had not cleaned that toliet! I've stayed at the Westin in San Diego before and that was a much cleaner andnicer hotel. I would stay somewhere else the next time I go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

directly behind the hotel is harbor village....it looks like just some shops from the hotel but there are several really good restaurants back there and its right along the harbor. Also a pick up spot for the seal tour and the trolley tours which were an excellent way to see everything in San Diego on your own time! You hop on or hop off any where you like and explore....a trolley comes by each check point about every 20 minutes so you can pick and choose what you want to do.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Polar
Business
El Centro
Dec 18, 2011

Horrible

It was absolutely horrible. Motel 6 is better. the walls are super thin and we could hear everything going on in the room next to us. this went on for hours and again the next morning. Terrible, just terrible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top