$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 6, 2015

Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

4 stars
View map of 1 Market Pl, SAN DIEGO, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
282 out of 282
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Mar 6, 2011

Anniversary Getaway

San Diego was awesome, the food was exceptional. The Gaslamp is incrediable so much to do and see. We will go back to San Diego before we go to Las Vegas again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The rooms at the Grand Hyatt are so small for what you pay for. I felt I was staying at a standard motel. The service, cleanliness, friendliness was all good just a horrible room. To bad it is a beautiful hotel. I was unable to upgrade because I booked on [...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Purni
Business
Columbus, OH
Mar 19, 2011

Very good hotel

I spent 4 nights as part of a business meeting. The hotel is very clean, very friendly staff and has a Starbucks in the lobby...JOY!! If you get a seaview room, as I did, the view is SPECTACULAR. It is also pet friendly, so don't be surprised to see dogs of all sizes and shapes running around. Sally's-the upscale seafood restaurant- has a dog bowl and free dog biscuits for anyone who may want them. Very thoughtful. Don't expect free internet, even in the lobby....In this day and age? Really??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't miss Coronado island. It is a fantastic day trip from the hotel and is a 3 minute ferry ride away. You can spend the whole day browsing the beautiful galleries or lying on the beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Princeton, NJ
Feb 13, 2011

our winter getaway

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We enjoyed the seafood at Anthony"s

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sjwmac
Business
CT
Jan 20, 2011

water views

Hotel was clean, in walking distance to everything, and great views of the Bay. The only problem was in checking in they didnt have my reservation they said that [...]didn't send them my information or $$ but they were able to get me a room, not the King size I expected but a room.This also happen to a fellow traveler in the same group as me. Small hassle resolved. Bottom line always bring your printouts from the computer! It saved me!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Martinez, CA
Apr 26, 2011

Great location

Stayed here three years ago for a conference. Great location right on the water. Nice area for jogging on the waterfront. Convenient to Gaslamp District. Great views from the hotel. Concierge had wrong bus information on taking the bus to Coronado.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Gaslamp District, Horton Plaza and water side attractions are all walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LAX
Apr 25, 2011

Great Location

Stayed at this hotel for a wedding in San Diego.[...] Please note parking is $26 for hotel guest and $10 more for valet with in and out access. Parking structure needs some cleaning up. Trash are left between parking spots and SUVs take two compact spots. Rooms are clean and view is great facing the USS Midway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Street parking near the peer. Good for overnight until 8am

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LisandEric
Business
Pasadena, Ca
Apr 26, 2011

Awsome!!

The View was amazing..The staff was awesome always asking if there was anything else they could do for us.The champagane by the pool side was great.Just dont order the room serivce,a Cheeseburger was priced at $16.00 but the bill was $32 by the time I signed for it.The accommodation for the company car instead of a taxi was the cherry on top!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Las Vegas family
Business
San Diego gas lamp district
Apr 24, 2011

Great location and value

I must say this hotel was pretty nice. It's walking distance to gas lamp district. Employees were really nice and helpful. The only thing I would have to complain about is the water pressure in the room. The sink only gave off hot water, for both hot and cold. And it seems like the shower pressure would come on strong then not enough and the water kept getting really hot or really cold. Oh and don't valet it's pretty pricey $36.00 a night for valet or self parking for $26.00. You choose!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
La Habra, CA.
Jul 14, 2011

4th of July getaway

It's a nice hotel right on the bay, the service was top notch, everyone was friendly even thought they were busy. We check in late because there was no room ready, so they gave us a $75 credit to there seafood resturant right on the bay. The only bad thing was that we got 2 full beds insted of queen but we had a view of the bay from are room so it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the Gaslamp is not very far a 10min walk and there are a lot of resturants there

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CR the Traveler
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 6, 2011

Great Hotel-OK Pool-Expensive Parking

I've been to San Diego quite a few times (I've stayed at the W, Westin, etc). This was my first time staying @ the Hyatt. Pros: Nice hotel, great location (5 min walk to the heart of Gaslamp), friendly staff, great view of the harbor, clean and very quiet rooms considering we went July 4th weekend, pool staff was very friendly. Cons: Self Parking - $26.00/Day. I think that's totally outrageous. Maybe for non-guests but for hotel guests, I think self parking should be more in the $15.00 range. Valet parking @ the Westin was about $20.00 and that is even closer to the heart of the gaslamp. The pool was very small; it was a little crowded, but that was expected as again, it was July 4th weekend. I'm sure it's better on non-holiday weekends. Overall, I would definitely go back to this hotel; next time though, I would find a self parking and just walk a couple of minutes to save the $26.00/day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Find a self parking to save $26.00/day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top