$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2014 Check-out: Aug 16, 2014

Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

4 stars
1 Market Pl, SAN DIEGO, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
366 reviews
Padre Game Getaway

Great Hotel and room. Beautiful views of San Diego bay. Will definitely stay there again. Room rate... See full review

  • gsf200842
  • Jul 9, 2014
Convenient and classy

From the friendliness of the front desk people to the very comfortable and clean room, we... See full review

  • College friends reunion
  • Jul 1, 2014
Elegance along the San Diego waterfront
Formerly known as the Grand Hyatt San Diego, the Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is under new ownership. It boasts a spectacular waterfront location right in the center of town along San Diego Bay. An inviting rooftop pool deck overlooks the city and the on-site Kin Spa provides a great place to unwind. The facility also has tennis courts that are complimentary for guests and bike rentals available for all ages (fees apply). Four on-site eateries offer a number of options for meal time.
Highlights
  • Rent bikes to ride along the waterfront
  • Located right in the heart of downtown San Diego
  • Inviting rooftop pool deck overlooks entire city
Rooms

The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego offers 1,625 rooms, including 95 suites that vary in size and configuration. Each room comes standard with a 46" flat-screen HDTV, Hyatt Grand bed, MP3 docking station and hair dryer. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply), as well as nightly turndown service.

Features

The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego underwent extensive renovations in 2009 with many additions and upgrades. Today the hotel offers a number of Respire by Hyatt hypoallergenic rooms (fees apply).

All hotel guests receive complimentary access to the rooftop pool deck overlooking the city, a 24-hour StayFit fitness center with state-of-the-art Cybex equipment and public areas with high ceilings and exquisite furniture. The hotel also offers bicycle rentals (fees apply) and two tennis courts (fees apply). The Kin Spa boasts a variety of treatments (fees apply).

Dine at five different restaurants on-site: Sally's Seafood on the Water serves lunch, dinner and weekend breakfast along the waterfront, Lael's Restaurant serves decadent breakfast buffets, Ann Marie's Coffee House is a great place for light bites and Redfield's Deli is perfect for on-the-go meals. Redfield's Sports Bar also offers casual dining and a variety of appetizers

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (2 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/4.5 km)
Attractions
  • San Diego Convention Center (3 blocks)
  • Gaslamp Quarter (6 blocks)
  • Petco Park (8 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (2 mi/3 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Sea World (6 mi/10 km)
  • Point Loma (7 mi/11.5 km)
Business
  • 125,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
  • Video conferencing capabilities
Policies and fees
  • The fitness centre is closed until 15 Feb 2014 due to some improvements. The concierge provides off-property options for guests wishing to inquire during this time.
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7109 -117.1683
Nearby airports
San Diego Intl Airport, (SAN), 3.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Rooms

Concierge
Rooms have either (1)King or (2)Doubles. Maximum of (4)Adults per room.
Deluxe
Description not provided
Standard
Rooms have either (1)King or (2)Doubles. Maximum of (4)Adults per room.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.7 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.7 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5 mi
  • Sea World: 5.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.3 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.5 mi
  • Legoland: 30.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.8 mi

Dining

Top of the Hyatt
Top of the Hyatt sits high above the San Diego Bay with panoramic views of the city, Coronado Island and beyond. Located on the 40th floor of the Harbor Tower.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (366)

Ratings and reviews for Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
366 out of 366
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr. Lawrence
Business
New Haven, CT
May 27, 2013

Ideal location, beautiful views, perfect rooms.

You can't go wrong with the location. It is in walking distance of the gas lamp district, the convention center and historic attractions. The walk along the water is beautiful. I've been at the Top of the Hyatt twice now. It's the perfect place to have a cold beer and watch the sun set and the night lights come on. The rooms are modern, clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to the "Top of the Hyatt" half an hour before sunset, as it gets crowded with people vying for the best views of the sunset and the night skyline

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fredogg V
San Berghettto, CA
Aug 5, 2012

Great room, excellent view, awsome staff, but....

A great hotel with an amazing location to Seaport Village, it's literally it's back yard to the hotel! Beautiful view! (We had the corner king bay/city view room! WOW!) Staff was very nice and helpful.....However, the only thing that really sucked was the RED LINE! The train bells are the only thing that really was disappointing to us. It was as if they were ringing all nite! So if your a deep sleeper, no problem, but if you want to have absolute quiet, keep looking my friend. Other than that, the hotel is amazing! And actually not to blame for the RED LINE, the city should have some noise ordinance for that loud thing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If your looking to really romance someone and for an excellent meal that is unique, you have to go to Bertrand's at Mister A's! Truly an amazing restaurant! Highly recommended! Especially the Lobster strudel and the Mac and Cheese!! This is NO joke! But be prepared..$$$. But unforgettable!!

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
comicconmom
Massachusetts
Jul 16, 2012

great stay

Arrived from another time zone - room not ready but we were given a key to the fitness center that had a ladies locker room - perfect for freshening up. ( Showers, with yummy smelling products from the spa, very clean, load of fresh towels. The bell staff held our bags while we explored the conference and we were sent a text when our room was ready (earlier than check in time). The day we checked out our flight didn't leave until 10pm. We enjoyed our last conference day, then were able to spend the afternoon by the hotel pool and use the same amenities - before we headed off to the airport. We stored our bags in the fitness locker rooms and were able to enjoy our visit until the last minute. Oh and the adult pool and spa were a perfect way to spend a sunny afternoon. Beautiful vistas, good food and drinks served poolside with a friendly staff. The location was great as welI - did not need to rent a car - convention center a short walk away as was the gaslamp district and the ball park. I NEVER write reviews - but this was a great place to stay. I would definitely recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Minuteman
LOs Angeles
Jul 16, 2012

Not a 'Con-job'

I stayed here last minute so as to attend the San Diego Comic con 2012. The location was absolutely perfect being but no more than a two blocks from the convention center. The room I was allocated was either brand new or refurbished (the latter I think) and was very very nicely appointed. Certainly one of the better rooms I've stayed in. Views were fantastic from the 27th floor with San Diego city and the convention center all on display below and gorgeous at night. The view also incorporated the harbor to the south east. Fantastic! The hotel has a great gym which I utilized and the buffet breakfast was Vegas comparable. Staff were very friendly and helpful.I happen to have stayed here before in fact and so felt happy to get this last minute deal. I love this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Awsome Dad
San Diego
Jul 12, 2012

Very nice location

Hotel is in a great location. The rooms are ordinary. The internet price is kinda high and the meal and beverage prices were very high. Parking in the self parking was an additional $26 per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Choc o lat on fifth st. It has breakfast, lunch and dinner. The deserts are great from home made gelato to various crepes'

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JFoerster
tucson,az
Jul 10, 2012

parking prices

It was overall very nice, the fact you have to pay $26 a day for parking is discouraging

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jimmy Shag
El Paso, TX
Jul 6, 2012

High on Hyatt

The hotel is great. This is a terrific San Diego location. Walk to Seaport Village in one minute. Walk to Gaslamp area for dinner in about 7 minutes. Perfect. We got a corner room that was the best. You can see in multiple directions. The city noises are cut out with the windows closed OR accentuated with them open (keep them open!). Trains and trolleys help you sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Fish Market on the harbor. It's a 10 minute walk for great fresh fish. Remember, you're in San Diego. Nothing is cheap, unless it's cheap.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MAWA
San Diego, California
Jul 6, 2012

Vacation

Hotel needs some updating - they are working on a gift shop but no where to get some sundries while they gift shop is under construction. The carpet in the room, walls and elevator needs to be updated. The bar down stairs has the best waitress - Kelly - excellent associate - made us free at home. After our first visit we game back two additional nights. The staff is very helpful and focused on your needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alec F
Cerritos, CA
Jul 3, 2012

Best Deal!!!!

We booked our hotel and they gave us a king corner room, one of the best rooms of the hotel. We had an amazing view of both the city and the bay. It surpassed our expectations by far. The staff was very friendly, the hotel amenities were very nice, and the location was amazing. There is a 21 and over pool or a pool located outside on the fourth deck, in between the two towers. There are a lot of activites available at the hotel, tennis, basketball, swimming, fire pit, foosball, ping pong, fitness center, the list is endless. It is located right next to Seaport Village, a walking distance from the Gaslamp Quarter and Petco Park. The area surrounding the hotel was very nice, clean, and up-scale. We even got the hotel room for 1/3 of the regular price!!! I would return to this hotel again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat out at Seaport Village, they have very good dining locations at a cheap price. Also, the hotel has a fridge, so we walked to ralphs to get groceries for breakfast and lunch in order to save money.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
808Essentials
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Jun 28, 2012

Biz Trip in San Diego

Was in San Diego to attend a conference at SDCC. Nice room with an incredible view of the harbor and downtown. Was welcomed by warm and friendly staff. Bell service was excellent. Front desk was very helpful in making my stay in San Diego an enjoyable one. About a 5-7 minute jaunt from hotel to SDCC. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doug travelor
Orange, CA
Jun 25, 2012

great place to get away to

Excellent location, clean, new and has everything you could want in a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great bars and various types of place to eat in Gas Lamp, 5 - 10 min walk. Also, don't miss Little Italy, a little farther but worth the walk.

Back to menu Return to top