$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2014 Check-out: Aug 16, 2014

Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

4 stars
1 Market Pl, SAN DIEGO, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
367 reviews
Great place to stay, great value

The staff were wonderful and very accommodating to all requests. The room was comfortable and clean... See full review

  • KathyEB
  • Jul 23, 2014
Padre Game Getaway

Great Hotel and room. Beautiful views of San Diego bay. Will definitely stay there again. Room rate... See full review

  • gsf200842
  • Jul 9, 2014
Elegance along the San Diego waterfront
Formerly known as the Grand Hyatt San Diego, the Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is under new ownership. It boasts a spectacular waterfront location right in the center of town along San Diego Bay. An inviting rooftop pool deck overlooks the city and the on-site Kin Spa provides a great place to unwind. The facility also has tennis courts that are complimentary for guests and bike rentals available for all ages (fees apply). Four on-site eateries offer a number of options for meal time.
Highlights
  • Rent bikes to ride along the waterfront
  • Located right in the heart of downtown San Diego
  • Inviting rooftop pool deck overlooks entire city
Rooms

The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego offers 1,625 rooms, including 95 suites that vary in size and configuration. Each room comes standard with a 46" flat-screen HDTV, Hyatt Grand bed, MP3 docking station and hair dryer. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply), as well as nightly turndown service.

Features

The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego underwent extensive renovations in 2009 with many additions and upgrades. Today the hotel offers a number of Respire by Hyatt hypoallergenic rooms (fees apply).

All hotel guests receive complimentary access to the rooftop pool deck overlooking the city, a 24-hour StayFit fitness center with state-of-the-art Cybex equipment and public areas with high ceilings and exquisite furniture. The hotel also offers bicycle rentals (fees apply) and two tennis courts (fees apply). The Kin Spa boasts a variety of treatments (fees apply).

Dine at five different restaurants on-site: Sally's Seafood on the Water serves lunch, dinner and weekend breakfast along the waterfront, Lael's Restaurant serves decadent breakfast buffets, Ann Marie's Coffee House is a great place for light bites and Redfield's Deli is perfect for on-the-go meals. Redfield's Sports Bar also offers casual dining and a variety of appetizers

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (2 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/4.5 km)
Attractions
  • San Diego Convention Center (3 blocks)
  • Gaslamp Quarter (6 blocks)
  • Petco Park (8 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (2 mi/3 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Sea World (6 mi/10 km)
  • Point Loma (7 mi/11.5 km)
Business
  • 125,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
  • Video conferencing capabilities
Policies and fees
  • The fitness centre is closed until 15 Feb 2014 due to some improvements. The concierge provides off-property options for guests wishing to inquire during this time.
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Rooms

Concierge
Rooms have either (1)King or (2)Doubles. Maximum of (4)Adults per room.
Deluxe
Description not provided
Standard
Rooms have either (1)King or (2)Doubles. Maximum of (4)Adults per room.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7109 -117.1683
Nearby airports
San Diego Intl Airport, (SAN), 3.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.7 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.7 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5 mi
  • Sea World: 5.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.3 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.5 mi
  • Legoland: 30.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.8 mi

Dining

Top of the Hyatt
Top of the Hyatt sits high above the San Diego Bay with panoramic views of the city, Coronado Island and beyond. Located on the 40th floor of the Harbor Tower.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (367)

Ratings and reviews for Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
367 out of 367
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chirag W
Los Angeles
Dec 31, 2012

Great place to stay over christmas

We stayed there over christmas of 2012 and the staff was very polite and helpful. The room was very well furnished and very comfortable. We generally tsay at hilton next door but this was much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tom and Irene
Downey, CA
Feb 21, 2011

Terrible ROOM SERVICE and sandwich shop

The food from room service was cold, overcooked, and generally not tasty. The sandwich shop in the lobby was also terrible. I have never had such a negative experience at a major hotel. After a day working you look forward to dinner in your room. Ruined an otherwise excellent hotel. I will not frequent it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Seaport Village

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Draper, UT
Oct 10, 2010

Great Location, but too many fees!

The hotel had a great location downtown. We got a rental car and had to pay $24 dollars a day to park it at the hotel. We ended up leaving it parked at the hotel because it was difficult to park anywhere downtown without also having to pay. Luckily we were within walking distance to downtown activities. The hotel also charged for internet, the fitness room and breakfast, which was a bit annoying since we payed $225/night. The up sides were that it had a grocery store close and a really nice t.v. Another downside, they used a flat sheet tucked in instead of a fitted sheet and it never reached the bottom of the bed so our feet were on the mattress pad all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Peoria, IL
May 4, 2009

Fair..prolly try another hotel next time

The lobby and pool area of the hotel are beautiful. The location was good for us...close to the harbor and within walking distance of the Gaslamp District. When we first arrived they put us into a dirty room...then when I called down to the front desk they wanted us to wait on them to come up and clean the room. I've flown all day and am tired, hungry,and dirty the last thing I want to do is wait on them to clean our room at 5pm!! I asked to be moved...which of course they moved us to the other tower. We had to lug all of our luggage back down to the front desk...wait for a new room key and then back up on the opposite tower to our room. No apology! In my opinion for a Grand Hyatt it wasn't that clean. It wasn't filthy but it wasn't that clean either! I know they had not cleaned that toliet! I've stayed at the Westin in San Diego before and that was a much cleaner andnicer hotel. I would stay somewhere else the next time I go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

directly behind the hotel is harbor village....it looks like just some shops from the hotel but there are several really good restaurants back there and its right along the harbor. Also a pick up spot for the seal tour and the trolley tours which were an excellent way to see everything in San Diego on your own time! You hop on or hop off any where you like and explore....a trolley comes by each check point about every 20 minutes so you can pick and choose what you want to do.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
El Centro
Jun 2, 2011

Great view ,average room

We spent time doing things around the bay. We thoroughly enjoyed the view but the room was disappointingly average given the price we paid. When we pay that much for a room we expect better than average. The room was dated and needed upgrades. The shower faucet was difficult to control the temp, and come on your going to charge for wi fi? That is just cheap. Hyatt, you can do better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 2, 2011

Just okay

Despite having the king, bay view room on one of the higher floors, the room was nothing short of very average. Carpet had stains, pipes in walls made loud noises when showering, tv often lost signal and gave error message, and room was just generally outdated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Porterville CA
Dec 1, 2010

Thankgiving trip

I very much enjoyed the location of this hotel but was very disappointed at the kids that were running up and down the halls at 3 in the morning! In addition to this, the management did not compensate for all this discomfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at Busters is very good food.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Aug 8, 2009

Good location and good size room.

Everything was fine. This is a solid hotel. Rooms are clean and adequate but could use a little updating. The staff was very nice and helpful. Also very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
npoler
Business
Venezuela
Oct 21, 2009

Typical convention hotel, great view

Seems understaff, rooms need updating (i.e;old tvs, old bathrooms), food is good but room service limited, no bathrobe, good gym but no bathrobe for sauna

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good restaurants on 5th

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DCFJ
Chicago, IL
Sep 16, 2013

Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego - Good Place!

My husband and I stay at the MGH of San Diego for 4 nights in September 2013. It was a very nice stay. We upgraded to a corner room overlooking the bay. Originally, they had us slotted for a corner room on the 31st floor, however, we checked in early and took a corner room on the ninth floor (because it was available). This was our mistake...there is construction across the street from the hotel's bayside and the construction dust covers the windows. It was hard to see/enjoy the view due to the amount of dust on the windows. For the next 9-12 months (during construction), I'd recommend a room not located on the bay side. MGH does charge for parking and internet access. It is kind of easy to hear your neighbors through the walls and doors (not horrible). This is my reason for giving them only 4 stars instead of 5. The restaurants and gift shops in the hotel are very nice but expensive. However, the hotel is located right in front of Seaport Village which has several shops and restaurants. It is also within a 1 mile walk to the Gaslamp District! The Gaslamp District has great food and entertainment. The location of the hotel is excellent. The amenities of the hotel are very nice. Room are comfortable and clean. The hotel lobby and public areas are beautiful and classy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wadeline
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Sweet deal on San Diego harbor

Comfortable but not exceptional rooms--except for the view and location! Public spaces are not comfortable with too much open space and all hard surface flooring--that said, sunset from the top floor lounge is a must see for any San Diego visitor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great sushi and view from The Fish Market sushi bar. (do not eat in the restaurant)

Back to menu Return to top