$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

4 stars
View map of 1 Market Pl, SAN DIEGO, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Judy from NoDak
Business
Lincoln, NE
Dec 28, 2013

Family Christmas Vacation

This is the 2nd Christmas we have spent at the Manchester Grand Hyatt, and we love both the hotel and the location! We brought our family this year, and they were all impressed with the class and character of the Grand Hyatt. We visited Coronado, La Jolla, Belmont Park, and Sea World during our stay. Our only concern was that we were unaware of the cost for parking, and we had rented 2 vehicles for our family members, so our parking cost $224 which was an unexpected expense for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GeoffH
Business
New York, NY
Apr 21, 2014

Great hotel if you want to stay in Gaslamp

We enjoyed our stay at the Hyatt. It's a big hotel with plenty of rooms. Pools were nice as well, room was clean and comfortable. If you want to stay in Gaslamp then I recommend this hotel as it's within walking distance. Personally, after having gone on this trip I'd prefer to stay in La Jolla and be closer to the beaches, but that's just me. To each and their own!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
midwesterners
Business
minneapolis
Jun 6, 2009

great location close to convention ctr

via cheap tix able to negotiate free breakfast (value $25 per person) a great treat for a week stay. We're able to attned meeting PLUS drive to LA and La Jolla --fabulous places to visit. Great restaurants around and the weather in may was superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jun 30, 2009

Excellent Location

Excellent location, beautiful view, fabulous hotel. Seaport Village right out back was a wonderful shopping area. Hotel is only 10 minutes (by car) from Little Italy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SRNA Gordon
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Aug 14, 2009

Meets Expectations and Beyond

I have stayed at the Hyatt in Minneapolis, so I know quality comes with this hotel chain. The beds were very comfortable, but the pillows were hard. They really do 'nickel and dime' the customers, as there is a fee for every service. I recommend you go on the Hyatt website and apply for the 'gold card membership'. It is free, no strings attached, and you can print your membership as soon as you complete the application. Then, bring that with you at check-in, and they will apply it to your account, so the gym is free. Without the membership, the fee is $5.00 / day. Expect to pay at least $10.00/day internet should you want this service. I have heard they have free wifi in the lobby, but I did not haul my laptop down there to figure it out. I even had a small box delivered via UPS, and the hotel charged me $5.00 to pick it up! If you are going to the conference center, know it is a few LONG BLOCKS away. All of my female friends had blisters on their feet due to all of the walking in heels. You can take a cab for about $5.00 if you want to pay for it. The staff is amazing. Very kind. The pool is kind of small, but the pool area is very nice and comfortable. The lobby is huge and beautiful, and the restaurant in the lobby serves wonderful drinks. They have breakfast items a'la cart for sale, and they serve a limited menu at lunch and dinner that tastes good and the cost is reasonable. The concierge could use some work... I was told incorrect info a few times, and I felt like I was bothering them when I asked them questions. Be very specific about what you want from them! I would definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Sea World costs $65.00, and although I love marine life, it was a little too commercial for my taste. It also cost $25.00 each way by taxi to get there from the Hyatt. Best to go with kids unless you absolutely must see a killer whale in your lifetime and this is your only shot.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 20, 2010

Wonderful Overnight Stay

My husband and I wanted a night away and started looking for good last minute rates. [...] We had stayed at the Manchester Grand Hyatt previously and was impressed by the quality of the room and staff. We live in the northern region of San Diego county so we know the downtown area. We decided to take a cab to the Gaslamp district to have dinner. After dinner we walked around for a while then decided to walk back to the hotel. We checked out at about 10 AM as we have 2 small children that we needed to pick up from Grandma's house. Overall we were happy with our evening getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Jul 18, 2010

Great Hotel

Great Hotel, great location, very relaxing pool by the bay. It is expensive, and you get charged for everything, but never the less a good deal if you can afford it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The gas lamp district is only 2 blocks away, and it is unbeatable on a Friday or Saturday night for bar hopping and good resturants.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
conference traveler
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 20, 2010

a fine hotel

This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel. Both stays were related to conferences in San Diego. It has a quite impressive lobby and nice views of the bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dining in and immediately around the hotel is quite expensive

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
redsoxgirl
Business
Loxley, Al
Oct 16, 2010

Grand Hyatt was amazing

This hotel has an amazing location. Seaport village is right behind the hotel which provides a lovely walk and plenty of shops to go through. The restaurants in the hotel are great. I only had two minor issues with my stay: they add 25% fees to anything you purchase or any service you get and I didn't see this published anywhere. The second issue was no shuttle service. I would expect a hotel of this caliber to at least provide a ride to the mall if needed. Other than those two things, my stay was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sally's has very fresh sushi. Don't eat at the small shops in seaport village but the larger restaurants are good. The two story seafood and steak place had great cab cakes. I wish I could remember name of it right now.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrscharlo
Business
Eureka ca
Dec 3, 2010

Family vacation

I loved this place.. We traveled to zoo an sea world do the location was great easy to find

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

San Diego zoo an sea world

Back to menu Return to top