$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

4 stars
1 Market Pl, SAN DIEGO, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
365 reviews
Convenient and classy

From the friendliness of the front desk people to the very comfortable and clean room, we... See full review

  • College friends reunion
  • Jul 1, 2014
Business Trip Perfection

The hotel was as good as it gets. The views are gorgeous, hotel rooms are spotless, the pool and... See full review

  • Michb23
  • Jun 30, 2014
Elegance along the San Diego waterfront
Formerly known as the Grand Hyatt San Diego, the Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is under new ownership. It boasts a spectacular waterfront location right in the center of town along San Diego Bay. An inviting rooftop pool deck overlooks the city and the on-site Kin Spa provides a great place to unwind. The facility also has tennis courts that are complimentary for guests and bike rentals available for all ages (fees apply). Four on-site eateries offer a number of options for meal time.
Highlights
  • Rent bikes to ride along the waterfront
  • Located right in the heart of downtown San Diego
  • Inviting rooftop pool deck overlooks entire city
Rooms

The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego offers 1,625 rooms, including 95 suites that vary in size and configuration. Each room comes standard with a 46" flat-screen HDTV, Hyatt Grand bed, MP3 docking station and hair dryer. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply), as well as nightly turndown service.

Features

The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego underwent extensive renovations in 2009 with many additions and upgrades. Today the hotel offers a number of Respire by Hyatt hypoallergenic rooms (fees apply).

All hotel guests receive complimentary access to the rooftop pool deck overlooking the city, a 24-hour StayFit fitness center with state-of-the-art Cybex equipment and public areas with high ceilings and exquisite furniture. The hotel also offers bicycle rentals (fees apply) and two tennis courts (fees apply). The Kin Spa boasts a variety of treatments (fees apply).

Dine at five different restaurants on-site: Sally's Seafood on the Water serves lunch, dinner and weekend breakfast along the waterfront, Lael's Restaurant serves decadent breakfast buffets, Ann Marie's Coffee House is a great place for light bites and Redfield's Deli is perfect for on-the-go meals. Redfield's Sports Bar also offers casual dining and a variety of appetizers

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (2 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/4.5 km)
Attractions
  • San Diego Convention Center (3 blocks)
  • Gaslamp Quarter (6 blocks)
  • Petco Park (8 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (2 mi/3 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Sea World (6 mi/10 km)
  • Point Loma (7 mi/11.5 km)
Business
  • 125,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
  • Video conferencing capabilities
Policies and fees
  • The fitness centre is closed until 15 Feb 2014 due to some improvements. The concierge provides off-property options for guests wishing to inquire during this time.
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Rooms

Concierge
Rooms have either (1)King or (2)Doubles. Maximum of (4)Adults per room.
Deluxe
Description not provided
Standard
Rooms have either (1)King or (2)Doubles. Maximum of (4)Adults per room.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7109 -117.1683
Nearby airports
San Diego Intl Airport, (SAN), 3.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.7 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.7 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5 mi
  • Sea World: 5.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.3 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.5 mi
  • Legoland: 30.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.8 mi

Dining

Top of the Hyatt
Top of the Hyatt sits high above the San Diego Bay with panoramic views of the city, Coronado Island and beyond. Located on the 40th floor of the Harbor Tower.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (365)

Ratings and reviews for Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
365 out of 365
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chirag W
Los Angeles
Dec 31, 2012

Great place to stay over christmas

We stayed there over christmas of 2012 and the staff was very polite and helpful. The room was very well furnished and very comfortable. We generally tsay at hilton next door but this was much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SAMBOZO
Orange County California
Aug 17, 2010

Great Hospitality & Friendly Service

The Hyatt Regency is probably one of the most convenient hotels in San Diego, relitive to the Habor area and the Gas light District, as well as a selection of excellant Habor area restaurants. The hotel property is spectacular, as far as the Lobby, and common Guest areas are concerned. The room and view was beyond what was expected, fabulous. Only complain I have was I felt like I was being nickelled and dimed because of the assessed parking charges and being ask to pay for bottled water in the room! Other than that, I was a Happy Camper!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is adjacent to Shore Line Village and its just a short walk to the Navy's Midway Aircraft Carrier display. Don't miss having dinner at the Fish Market restaurant (Upper Deck), located a short walk from the hotel!

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Nov 15, 2010

San Diego Grand Hyatt

Hotel stay was short but the room was good and the [...] special deal with the included breakfast was well worth the money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Running on the Boardwalk 4 miles out and back.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 3, 2007

Very friendley staff

Very friendley staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Best bar (40th floor) and best view ever!

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JM Leisure Traveler
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 3, 2007

Fantastic location

The Hyatt is in a Great Location...walking distance to Seaport Village, Petco Park, the Gaslamp District and Horton Plaza. The Hotel had great views and is kept up very well. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Seaport Village is just across the street from this property

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Plotty24
Pittsburgh,PA
May 7, 2014

Ideal hotel in a great location

We recently spent 3 nights at this hotel during our travels thru california and would highly recommend this hotel to any traveler. We used the conceriege service two different times with great advice provided. All bars and restaurants in hotel were sampled with no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Very easy ride on the train to visit Old Town San diego with station right next to hotel.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mimi and Neal
Agoura Hills, CA
Nov 25, 2010

GRAND!

Location and service was the best! though valet parking, internet and fitness room was an extra charge which was high and we did not expect it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel was right on seaport village, fun to walk and shop:)

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ZackKDD
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Aug 25, 2011

Grande sea front hotel

I had a nice stay at the grand hyatt. Hotel staff was nice. I was assigned to a conference room since when I checked-in on Saturday midnight all rooms were taken (though I had the reservation from weeks ago). It turned out that the conference room setup worked nicely for me. Had my own kitchen, dining table (which I didn't use) and a nice living room. The kitchen had a refrigerator and they brought me a microwave. There were no utensils in the kitchen though. The bed wasn't as comfortable since it was a closet-bed type, yet it was OK for one person. The room overlooked the marina, the pool and the Marriott, so it had a very nice view. I am satisfied with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

walk on 5th avenue for night-life stuff walk along the pier for the major landmarks, warships, beautiful yacht, restaurants, etc.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Finicky Traveling Mom
Tucson, AZ
Apr 30, 2011

Queen for a weekend

This was certainly the fanciest hotel I've ever stayed at and I was outside my comfort zone. Despite being outside my social class, I was treated like a dignitary. Kids were welcomed, as well as our dog. Very nice experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Seaport Village is a nice place to get a little of everything--dining, shopping, entertainment. There are even grassy areas by the sea just to enjoy a relaxing leisure moment while the kids and pets play.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Victorville, CA
Jul 28, 2010

Anniversary

Thought that the Grand Hyatt in San Diego was great. From the minute we pulled up to walking into the Lobby and our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fonso
Business
San Juan, PR
May 20, 2014

Great place in San Diego

This hotel has been remodeled. Rooms are extremely comfortable, also technologically upgraded for the business traveler. It was a pleasure to be there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Accessibility to the walking alley of the Marina.

Back to menu Return to top