$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

4 stars
View map of 1 Market Pl, SAN DIEGO, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
256 out of 256
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Diego, CA
May 8, 2009

Great location, but lousy service

We were disappointed with the customer service. The other Hyatt Hotels that we've stayed at have been superb when it comes to customer service. But, this one didn't hit the mark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We picked this hotel because of the location- very close to the Gaslamp Quarter with tons of restaurants to choose from.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
blah time
Couples
san diego CA
May 13, 2009

blah

The room was a lot smaller than I expected. There was a concert going on outside until like 1:00 am. The AC covered the noise, but still.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
LA, CA
Apr 25, 2011

San Diego Overnight (Padre Game)

Checked in and hotel did not have my reservation on file [...]. It wasn't a huge deal, but we were in a hurry to meet family and it didn't help anything. Hotel lobby very nice, nice lobby sports bar, bell men very nice and helpful & valet quick, BUT... our Non-smoking room smelled like smoke, the bathroom floors were dirty, one of the walls in the room looked dirty & there were random things on the room floor like a huge rubberband, which made me think all the floors were not clean. When you showered, the shower head was so strong, it soaked the bathroom floor. Rooms look outdated. Looks like they just put new Samsumg LCD TV's in there to try spice up the oldness. I would have requested to switch rooms, but like I said, I was in a hurry to meet family and didn't have time. Hotel appearance is great, hotel lobby is very nice, hotel gym is one of the best I've ever used, BUT my room was iffy at best...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Seaport Village is right there. Many restaurants in walking distance. Gaslamp & Petco Park are 10min+ walk. Easy to get around.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
El Centro
Jun 2, 2011

Great view ,average room

We spent time doing things around the bay. We thoroughly enjoyed the view but the room was disappointingly average given the price we paid. When we pay that much for a room we expect better than average. The room was dated and needed upgrades. The shower faucet was difficult to control the temp, and come on your going to charge for wi fi? That is just cheap. Hyatt, you can do better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Ventura
Apr 24, 2011

4 Star? Maybe

The pros for our stay were: Location, views, and hotel staff. Those would qualify this as a 4 star hotel. The hotel is located across the street from the harbor so our view from the 11th floor was amazing. Looking west was the harbor, Coronado Island, and Point Loma. Looking east we could see the Gaslamp District, Petco Park, and the city skyline. Most everything is within walking distance. Harbor cruise, Gaslamp Distrit, Petco Park, and the trolly station where you could catch a trolly to Old Town. The staff was very knowledgeable, professional, and friendly. The cons: The room was not what I would consider a 4 star room. We booked the "Premium View Guest room". It was a business class room at best. Room doors close very hard. Shake the room from across the hall. Parking was atrocious. Most stalls are labeled "Compact" but only a motorcycle or go-cart would fit without the mirrors touching. Because of this a lot of the patrons took 2 spots. It cost $26 dollars a night to park. For that amount I would expect not to get door dings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location to access many attractions but I don't think the 3 star hotel accomodations are worth the 4 star price.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 17, 2010

Good location for convention center

As expected for a Hyatt, it's a nice hotel. The rooms seem a little dated and not quite up to the level in other Hyatt Hotels I've stayed in, especially at the prices charged during this large convention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bagel and coffee in the small shop between the hotel and seawall was good for quick outdoor breakfast

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Cincinnati
Nov 10, 2010

Great location

The location was perfect! The rooms were okay, not what you'd expect for the price (especially the price quote from their website!) There is a new tower and would recommend asking to be in new tower (Manchester). The tower we were in was outdated!! Walls were thin and very noisy, could hear everything out in hall and above and below us (ex. people taking showers, opening curtains, flushing toilets). Saw several other hotels in the same area around the same price and wished we would have chosen another one. The pool area was nice. The best part of staying at this hotel was the location so close to everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles,
Nov 14, 2010

business trip

lobby was incredible, rooms were ok no bevarages in firdge, room service menu for late night terrible, service from employees great... view great, tv sound terrible tooo low.... could not fix... prefer Andaz San Diego trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Family Travel Agent
Family
San Dimas, CA
Nov 26, 2010

Hyatt isn't so Grand....

We brought a lot of family to the Hyatt for my son's graduation from boot camp. The room was very small and the beds were for tiny people. The lobby was grand and impressive, but it stopped there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Midway was an impressive visit, especially with our military focused trip.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Porterville CA
Dec 1, 2010

Thankgiving trip

I very much enjoyed the location of this hotel but was very disappointed at the kids that were running up and down the halls at 3 in the morning! In addition to this, the management did not compensate for all this discomfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at Busters is very good food.

Back to menu Return to top