$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

4 stars
View map of 1 Market Pl, SAN DIEGO, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Went Back Home for Vacay
Business
NC
Jan 29, 2012

Heart of Downtown San Diego With View of the Bay

This hotel was awesome! I still cannot believe the value I recieved from booking this hotel!! It's in the heart of downtown San Diego overlooking the bay (depending on room selection, my advice is to pay the upgrade for bay view) and is in perfect driving distance to all major parks / attractions of San Diego as well as the beaches. You can easily spend a week here and not be any where near seeing all San Diego has in store for you to see and do. The hotel has swimming pools, an extensive health room with a beautiful view, shopping, dining inside and a very friendly, professional staff. The only star I took away is kind of picking, and it's probably more for the hotel than the travelers, but FYI... The bathroom did not have an exhaust fan, and after a hot shower the windows overlooking the bay would fog, like REALLY fog and we would have to wipe them down, crack the window and wipe down again before it would clear up until the room temperature acclimated again. But seriously that was all I could even think of as a negative. The room had an iPod / iPhone radio / alarm dock (which is nice if you have either), Flatscreen TV (which was awesome to hook my camera up to at the end of each day to review pictures of the day with the family). Wi-fi was a little on the pricey side but every traveler may not need so no real complaining there. One thing to keep in mind is the rate for the parking deck usage. There is a daily fee, I would recommend you call the hotel and find out what the current rate is so you can account for it in your budget. If you are only taking taxis everywhere you have no worries, but if you're renting a car or are in your own you might not want to worry about finding parking near the hotel, and making sure the meter is paid for, and probably more importantly, are you okay with your car out in the streets??? I would recommend paying the parking deck fee so you know exactly where your car is, it's quick to get to and it's pretty safe. This hotel is beautiful! My kids both said it was the nicest hotel they've stayed at. I would recommend this hotel to anyone considering staying in San Diego. The nightlife is really hopping, and this hotel is very close to all of it. You can hit major parks / places during the day, come back to the hotel, relax, and then venture back out for the San Diego nightlife. I'm a CA Native, having left for several years I will book this hotel for my next trip to San Diego, hands down!! Hope this review helps you make your decision safe travels...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Many many restaraunts downtown, most at least several blocks away from the hotel, so I listed "long walk" as distance, and also because parking can be difficult to find, or expensive depending on budget. Taxis may be the best form of mobility unless walking is no problem. They will add to your budget but at least you get dropped right where you want, not spending time looking for free parking, or parking lots you have to pay for. See the hotel concierge, they have a great list of recommended restaraunts near the hotel.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Naffe87
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Feb 19, 2012

Beautiful city for romance

very polite and had very good costumer service. Breakfast was pretty impressing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Recommended if you take the the bay view.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brad123
Business
Stevens, PA
Mar 8, 2012

Ideal family vacation

I've stayed at the Manchester Grand Hyatt before so I knew what to expect - exceptional quality and service in an incredible atmosphere. The staff, room, and amenities are just second to none not to mention the location - key to just about everything in the marina and downtown districts. I'll be back....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Grand Hyatt is a short walk to the Horton Plaza for shopping and the Gaslamp District for many fine restraurants and clubs. There's so much variety.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
redhook1
Business
Palm Springs area, Ca.
Apr 7, 2012

Great midweek getaway.

Great value for the money. Teriffic downtown location. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Very enjoyable experience during our stay at the Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jimmy Shag
Business
El Paso, TX
Jul 6, 2012

High on Hyatt

The hotel is great. This is a terrific San Diego location. Walk to Seaport Village in one minute. Walk to Gaslamp area for dinner in about 7 minutes. Perfect. We got a corner room that was the best. You can see in multiple directions. The city noises are cut out with the windows closed OR accentuated with them open (keep them open!). Trains and trolleys help you sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Fish Market on the harbor. It's a 10 minute walk for great fresh fish. Remember, you're in San Diego. Nothing is cheap, unless it's cheap.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alec F
Business
Cerritos, CA
Jul 3, 2012

Best Deal!!!!

We booked our hotel and they gave us a king corner room, one of the best rooms of the hotel. We had an amazing view of both the city and the bay. It surpassed our expectations by far. The staff was very friendly, the hotel amenities were very nice, and the location was amazing. There is a 21 and over pool or a pool located outside on the fourth deck, in between the two towers. There are a lot of activites available at the hotel, tennis, basketball, swimming, fire pit, foosball, ping pong, fitness center, the list is endless. It is located right next to Seaport Village, a walking distance from the Gaslamp Quarter and Petco Park. The area surrounding the hotel was very nice, clean, and up-scale. We even got the hotel room for 1/3 of the regular price!!! I would return to this hotel again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat out at Seaport Village, they have very good dining locations at a cheap price. Also, the hotel has a fridge, so we walked to ralphs to get groceries for breakfast and lunch in order to save money.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
comicconmom
Business
Massachusetts
Jul 16, 2012

great stay

Arrived from another time zone - room not ready but we were given a key to the fitness center that had a ladies locker room - perfect for freshening up. ( Showers, with yummy smelling products from the spa, very clean, load of fresh towels. The bell staff held our bags while we explored the conference and we were sent a text when our room was ready (earlier than check in time). The day we checked out our flight didn't leave until 10pm. We enjoyed our last conference day, then were able to spend the afternoon by the hotel pool and use the same amenities - before we headed off to the airport. We stored our bags in the fitness locker rooms and were able to enjoy our visit until the last minute. Oh and the adult pool and spa were a perfect way to spend a sunny afternoon. Beautiful vistas, good food and drinks served poolside with a friendly staff. The location was great as welI - did not need to rent a car - convention center a short walk away as was the gaslamp district and the ball park. I NEVER write reviews - but this was a great place to stay. I would definitely recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Minuteman
Business
LOs Angeles
Jul 16, 2012

Not a 'Con-job'

I stayed here last minute so as to attend the San Diego Comic con 2012. The location was absolutely perfect being but no more than a two blocks from the convention center. The room I was allocated was either brand new or refurbished (the latter I think) and was very very nicely appointed. Certainly one of the better rooms I've stayed in. Views were fantastic from the 27th floor with San Diego city and the convention center all on display below and gorgeous at night. The view also incorporated the harbor to the south east. Fantastic! The hotel has a great gym which I utilized and the buffet breakfast was Vegas comparable. Staff were very friendly and helpful.I happen to have stayed here before in fact and so felt happy to get this last minute deal. I love this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ptcalifornian
Business
scottsdale, arizona
Aug 13, 2012

hyatt never disappoints

I stay here everytime I come to san Diego. I just enjoy the hospitality of the hotel staff. Anything you want just ask, if you are on a budget I certainly would not recommend this hotel. Parking of course is additional as with most hotels in the area, it is however secure and convenient. Location is about a three dollar cab ride or .5 minute walk from gaslamp district lots of great restaurants. I recommend BiCe restaurant very nice Italian selections sea bass and veal chop were great. Always a nice experience here, I'm sure its not the only hotel that caiters to you but I don't need to find another one. =]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Coronado island is a great place to hang out for the day. Imperial beach and plenty of great food.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fun Travelerz
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 30, 2012

Great!

Perfect location, great view, loved it! Nice walking distance to Gaslamp

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top