$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 6, 2015

Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

4 stars
View map of 1 Market Pl, SAN DIEGO, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
284 out of 284
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
offby3
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 25, 2011

Family Stay

The staff at the Grand Hyatt was exceptional, from check in to check out. Great location being right next to the Seaport Village. It was all pretty kid friendly!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Las Vegas family
Business
San Diego gas lamp district
Apr 24, 2011

Great location and value

I must say this hotel was pretty nice. It's walking distance to gas lamp district. Employees were really nice and helpful. The only thing I would have to complain about is the water pressure in the room. The sink only gave off hot water, for both hot and cold. And it seems like the shower pressure would come on strong then not enough and the water kept getting really hot or really cold. Oh and don't valet it's pretty pricey $36.00 a night for valet or self parking for $26.00. You choose!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ventura
Apr 24, 2011

4 Star? Maybe

The pros for our stay were: Location, views, and hotel staff. Those would qualify this as a 4 star hotel. The hotel is located across the street from the harbor so our view from the 11th floor was amazing. Looking west was the harbor, Coronado Island, and Point Loma. Looking east we could see the Gaslamp District, Petco Park, and the city skyline. Most everything is within walking distance. Harbor cruise, Gaslamp Distrit, Petco Park, and the trolly station where you could catch a trolly to Old Town. The staff was very knowledgeable, professional, and friendly. The cons: The room was not what I would consider a 4 star room. We booked the "Premium View Guest room". It was a business class room at best. Room doors close very hard. Shake the room from across the hall. Parking was atrocious. Most stalls are labeled "Compact" but only a motorcycle or go-cart would fit without the mirrors touching. Because of this a lot of the patrons took 2 spots. It cost $26 dollars a night to park. For that amount I would expect not to get door dings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location to access many attractions but I don't think the 3 star hotel accomodations are worth the 4 star price.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Haha~
Business
Grinnell,IA
Mar 29, 2011

Nice!

The hotel is really nice and is close all the things. The only problem is that the hot water we want always have a coffee smell....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Purni
Business
Columbus, OH
Mar 19, 2011

Very good hotel

I spent 4 nights as part of a business meeting. The hotel is very clean, very friendly staff and has a Starbucks in the lobby...JOY!! If you get a seaview room, as I did, the view is SPECTACULAR. It is also pet friendly, so don't be surprised to see dogs of all sizes and shapes running around. Sally's-the upscale seafood restaurant- has a dog bowl and free dog biscuits for anyone who may want them. Very thoughtful. Don't expect free internet, even in the lobby....In this day and age? Really??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't miss Coronado island. It is a fantastic day trip from the hotel and is a 3 minute ferry ride away. You can spend the whole day browsing the beautiful galleries or lying on the beach

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Mar 6, 2011

Anniversary Getaway

San Diego was awesome, the food was exceptional. The Gaslamp is incrediable so much to do and see. We will go back to San Diego before we go to Las Vegas again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The rooms at the Grand Hyatt are so small for what you pay for. I felt I was staying at a standard motel. The service, cleanliness, friendliness was all good just a horrible room. To bad it is a beautiful hotel. I was unable to upgrade because I booked on [...]

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hannele K
Business
West Michigan
Feb 27, 2011

A Grand View

I was at a conference at the hotel and everything was done right. The view from my room was spectacular. When an issue arose with my presentation, they offered help immediately. As one would expect, there was a cost involved but they were upfront about it. The hotel is near a lot of great San Diego attractions. Although I was too busy to spend any time at them, I hope to return with my wife at some point. I would certainly consider staying at the Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the Trolley to Old Town. Be sure to take time to look at the Santa Fe Depot on the way.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
delta_dc
Business
West Michigan
Feb 27, 2011

A Grand View

I was at a conference at the hotel and everything was done right. The view from my room was spectacular. When an issue arose with my presentation, they offered help immediately. As one would expect, there was a cost involved but they were upfront about it. The hotel is near a lot of great San Diego attractions. Although I was too busy to spend any time at them, I hope to return with my wife at some point. I would certainly consider staying at the Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the Trolley to Old Town. Be sure to take time to look at the Santa Fe Depot on the way.

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tom and Irene
Business
Downey, CA
Feb 21, 2011

Terrible ROOM SERVICE and sandwich shop

The food from room service was cold, overcooked, and generally not tasty. The sandwich shop in the lobby was also terrible. I have never had such a negative experience at a major hotel. After a day working you look forward to dinner in your room. Ruined an otherwise excellent hotel. I will not frequent it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Seaport Village

Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Princeton, NJ
Feb 13, 2011

our winter getaway

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We enjoyed the seafood at Anthony"s

Back to menu Return to top