$191 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

4 stars
1 Market Pl, SAN DIEGO, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
252 reviews
Great weekend

This is a large and beautiful hotel with excellent views of San Diego. The facilities were... See full review

  • Turbomice
  • Sep 2, 2014
Family of 4 vaca

From the moment we walked in my husband and both agreed we should of booked another night or 2. We... See full review

  • mckenziefamof4
  • Aug 17, 2014
Elegance along the San Diego waterfront
Formerly known as the Grand Hyatt San Diego, the Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is under new ownership. It boasts a spectacular waterfront location right in the center of town along San Diego Bay. An inviting rooftop pool deck overlooks the city and the on-site Kin Spa provides a great place to unwind. The facility also has tennis courts that are complimentary for guests and bike rentals available for all ages (fees apply). Four on-site eateries offer a number of options for meal time.
Highlights
  • Rent bikes to ride along the waterfront
  • Located right in the heart of downtown San Diego
  • Inviting rooftop pool deck overlooks entire city
Rooms

The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego offers 1,625 rooms, including 95 suites that vary in size and configuration. Each room comes standard with a 46" flat-screen HDTV, Hyatt Grand bed, MP3 docking station and hair dryer. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply), as well as nightly turndown service.

Features

The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego underwent extensive renovations in 2009 with many additions and upgrades. Today the hotel offers a number of Respire by Hyatt hypoallergenic rooms (fees apply).

All hotel guests receive complimentary access to the rooftop pool deck overlooking the city, a 24-hour StayFit fitness center with state-of-the-art Cybex equipment and public areas with high ceilings and exquisite furniture. The hotel also offers bicycle rentals (fees apply) and two tennis courts (fees apply). The Kin Spa boasts a variety of treatments (fees apply).

Dine at five different restaurants on-site: Sally's Seafood on the Water serves lunch, dinner and weekend breakfast along the waterfront, Lael's Restaurant serves decadent breakfast buffets, Ann Marie's Coffee House is a great place for light bites and Redfield's Deli is perfect for on-the-go meals. Redfield's Sports Bar also offers casual dining and a variety of appetizers

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (2 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/4.5 km)
Attractions
  • San Diego Convention Center (3 blocks)
  • Gaslamp Quarter (6 blocks)
  • Petco Park (8 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (2 mi/3 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Sea World (6 mi/10 km)
  • Point Loma (7 mi/11.5 km)
Business
  • 125,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
  • Video conferencing capabilities
Policies and fees
  • The fitness centre is closed until 15 Feb 2014 due to some improvements. The concierge provides off-property options for guests wishing to inquire during this time.
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7109 -117.1683
Nearby airports
San Diego Intl Airport, (SAN), 3.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Rooms

Concierge
Rooms have either (1)King or (2)Doubles. Maximum of (4)Adults per room.
Deluxe
Description not provided
Standard
Rooms have either (1)King or (2)Doubles. Maximum of (4)Adults per room.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.7 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.6 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.7 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.9 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.2 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5 mi
  • Sea World: 5.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.3 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.5 mi
  • Legoland: 30.1 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.8 mi

Dining

Top of the Hyatt
Top of the Hyatt sits high above the San Diego Bay with panoramic views of the city, Coronado Island and beyond. Located on the 40th floor of the Harbor Tower.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (252)

Ratings and reviews for Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
252 out of 252
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
e90jprad
Anaheim, CA, USA
Sep 5, 2011

Very nice hotel. Overly expensive.

The lobby and building itself are beautiful, reminiscent of a Vegas hotel. The room is perfect for two people, very clean and well-appointed with a 46" flat panel Samsung LCD TV. We had a beautiful view of the bay and part of downtown (29th floor). Staff were courteous and attentive. Location is unbeatable and this is what you pay for - Seaport Village is at its doorstep, the convention center is a stone's throw away, and the Gaslamp district is about a 10 minute walk. Overall, great stay. Would stay again if the price was a little lower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to The Broken Yolk Cafe in the Gaslamp district for breakfast. It's delicious and home of the 12 egg omelet! ... You may have to wait to be seated. But yes, it is *that* good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Not the Mama
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 3, 2011

Good location and experience

Lobby entrance is very swanky and the hotel has very nice furnishings and comforts, including pool with 2 spas and well equipped fitness center. Was surprised (and disappointed) that only breakfast option was coffee and bagel in the sports bar or a buffet ($17-24). Very comfortable room with great view of harbor, aircraft carrier and Seaport Village. Near Gaslamp District and convention center (several blocks away). Attended conference at hotel - every room was under 70 degrees and food was just ok. Nice view from roof-top bar but service and drinks were poor quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ticascorpio
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Aug 29, 2011

everything great but food

all over experience excellent even had an accident at the pool and the staff and manager were excellent. the room service food so so and the restaurautn food Radcliffe was terrible had to order room service in place of food already ordered

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

eat outside of the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ZackKDD
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Aug 25, 2011

Grande sea front hotel

I had a nice stay at the grand hyatt. Hotel staff was nice. I was assigned to a conference room since when I checked-in on Saturday midnight all rooms were taken (though I had the reservation from weeks ago). It turned out that the conference room setup worked nicely for me. Had my own kitchen, dining table (which I didn't use) and a nice living room. The kitchen had a refrigerator and they brought me a microwave. There were no utensils in the kitchen though. The bed wasn't as comfortable since it was a closet-bed type, yet it was OK for one person. The room overlooked the marina, the pool and the Marriott, so it had a very nice view. I am satisfied with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

walk on 5th avenue for night-life stuff walk along the pier for the major landmarks, warships, beautiful yacht, restaurants, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve and Linda
Fort Worth, Texas
Aug 17, 2011

Great San Diego Getaway

Our stay was great.....from the extremely helpful staff to the awesome bay view. We will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ralph's Grocery store is a short walk away for bottled water, fresh fruit and a large wine selecion.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fmpros
Business
San Jose, Ca
Aug 7, 2011

Excellent stay!

Our stay was great, the hotel was clean and everyone very professional and helpful. The only reason for 4 stars is the parking. The parking lot spaces are way too small and people end up taking 2 spaces (yes, this is crummy driving skills on the part of the parkers, but the spacing still way too small). Be sure to visit the "Top of the Hyatt" for a fantastic view of the city at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice and close to many great San Diego attractions (Seaport Village, GasLamp District, Convention Center).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
La Habra, CA.
Jul 14, 2011

4th of July getaway

It's a nice hotel right on the bay, the service was top notch, everyone was friendly even thought they were busy. We check in late because there was no room ready, so they gave us a $75 credit to there seafood resturant right on the bay. The only bad thing was that we got 2 full beds insted of queen but we had a view of the bay from are room so it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the Gaslamp is not very far a 10min walk and there are a lot of resturants there

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CR the Traveler
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 6, 2011

Great Hotel-OK Pool-Expensive Parking

I've been to San Diego quite a few times (I've stayed at the W, Westin, etc). This was my first time staying @ the Hyatt. Pros: Nice hotel, great location (5 min walk to the heart of Gaslamp), friendly staff, great view of the harbor, clean and very quiet rooms considering we went July 4th weekend, pool staff was very friendly. Cons: Self Parking - $26.00/Day. I think that's totally outrageous. Maybe for non-guests but for hotel guests, I think self parking should be more in the $15.00 range. Valet parking @ the Westin was about $20.00 and that is even closer to the heart of the gaslamp. The pool was very small; it was a little crowded, but that was expected as again, it was July 4th weekend. I'm sure it's better on non-holiday weekends. Overall, I would definitely go back to this hotel; next time though, I would find a self parking and just walk a couple of minutes to save the $26.00/day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Find a self parking to save $26.00/day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Highland, CA
Jul 6, 2011

July 4th Big boom Bam!

Hotel is right in the middle of the Gaslamp/Seaport village area. Easy walking distance to the ships, conventions center, restaurants & Petco Park. The hotel has excellent facilities & top of the line service even on a packed weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Opera Cafe - best italian food in a long time! Always check with the concierge- they often have coupons & tips for you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
El Centro
Jun 2, 2011

Great view ,average room

We spent time doing things around the bay. We thoroughly enjoyed the view but the room was disappointingly average given the price we paid. When we pay that much for a room we expect better than average. The room was dated and needed upgrades. The shower faucet was difficult to control the temp, and come on your going to charge for wi fi? That is just cheap. Hyatt, you can do better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search